Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
09-07-2012, 09:07 PM (This post was last modified: 12-09-2014 12:59 PM by ToastyX.)
Post: #1
Star AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher modifies the AMD/ATI video driver to allow higher resolutions and refresh rates by removing the 165 MHz pixel clock limit for single-link DVI and HDMI, the 330 MHz limit for dual-link DVI, and the 400 MHz limit for VGA.

http://www.monitortests.com/atikmdag-patcher-1.3.zip

If you find this software useful, donations are welcome.

Requirements:
  • Windows Vista or later
  • 5000-series GPU or newer
  • CrossFire requirements:
    • R9 290/290X cards can handle higher pixel clocks without CrossFire bridges.
    • Older cards require two CrossFire bridges if the pixel clock is greater than 300 MHz. This is only possible with cards that have two connectors. It will not work properly with more than two cards. Dual-GPU cards such as the 7990 will not work properly at higher pixel clocks.
Compatibility:
  • Version 1.3 is compatible with Catalyst 11.9 to 14.12. It can be used with future versions if it finds all the limits.
  • Test mode is not required anymore. Test mode can be disabled using this: testmode.zip
Getting started:
  1. Run atikmdag-patcher.exe.
  2. If all limits are found, click "Yes" to patch and sign. If a limit is not found or if multiple matches are found, the patcher needs to be updated.
  3. Reboot.
You can then add higher refresh rates using Custom Resolution Utility (CRU).

To restore the unpatched driver, run the patcher again and click "Yes" to restore from backup.

Known issues:
  • The patch breaks HDCP support and video acceleration, but most video playback issues have workarounds.
  • Fixes for most video playback issues:
    1. Disable hardware acceleration in the Flash Player settings (right-click on any Flash video and click "Settings...").
    2. Install the K-Lite Codec Pack.
      • Basic is enough, or download Standard if you want MPC-HC.
      • If you prefer to install codecs using a different method, download the Codec Tweak Tool separately.
    3. Use the Codec Tweak Tool to disable the Microsoft DTV-DVD video decoders under "MS Codec Tweaks" (in the bottom-right corner).
    4. To fix WMV playback, do one of the following:
      • Use the Codec Tweak Tool to disable DXVA hardware acceleration under "Various tweaks" (in the "Miscellaneous" section).
      • Disable DirectX Video Acceleration for WMV files in the Windows Media Player options (in the "Performance" section).
  • AMD/ATI cards require the "LCD standard" vertical blanking/total to reduce the memory clock when idle. Horizontal values can still be reduced if necessary.
  • GPU scaling does not work on 5000-series cards if the pixel clock is greater than 363.63 MHz.
Recent changes:
  • 1.3: Removed blue screen workaround for 14.9. Fall back to self-signing if signing fails.
  • 1.2.7: Attempt to work around some antivirus false positives. Repatching is not necessary.
  • 1.2.6: Fixed AMD APP encoding for 14.6.
  • 1.2.5: Updated for 14.6. Fixed TMDS and VGA limits. Implemented workaround for SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION blue screens.
  • 1.2.4: Updated for 14.4. Fixed SL limit on DL-DVI.
  • 1.2.3: Updated for 13.30 and upcoming 14.x releases.
  • 1.2.2: New HDMI limit found for 12.9+.
  • 1.2.1: Added VGA limit (untested).
  • 1.2: Test mode no longer required.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-12-2012, 11:02 AM (This post was last modified: 12-12-2012 02:15 PM by Black Octagon.)
Post: #2
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
Hi ToastyX, thanks for all the much-appreciated work you do.

I have a question, which I just asked in a post over at the Overlord forums: http://www.overlordforum.com/viewtopic.p...t=65#p2129

My question, in a nutshell, is whether there are any 'tips' to using CRU in manual mode. I.e., is there a user-friendly explanation of what the different timings mean, or should we just enter a bunch of numbers at random until we (hopefully) settle on a combination that gives us 120Hz @ 2560x1440?

My screen has nearly arrived, and I would love to be able to use CRU with at least a vague idea what it is I'm doing.

Cheers

EDIT: Sorry, this should have been posted in the CRU thread!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 04:38 AM
Post: #3
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
It doesn't really matter what the values mean. The goal when dealing with LCD monitors is to reduce the blanking as low as the monitor and video card can handle in order to reduce the horizontal scan rate and the pixel clock. Blanking is the period between each line and each frame that isn't shown on the screen. With the Catleap 2B and Tempest OC monitors, reducing the vertical total to 1450 is the simplest most effective change you can make. It's possible to tweak it down further, but not by much.

For reference:

Front Porch + Sync Width + Back Porch = Blanking
Active + Blanking = Total

Pixel clock is the total number of pixels per second.
Horizontal Total * Vertical Total * Refresh Rate = Pixel Clock
2720 * 1450 * 120 = 473280000 (473.28 MHz)

Horizontal scan rate is the number of lines per second.
Vertical Total * Refresh Rate = Horizontal Scan Rate
1450 * 120 = 174000 (174 KHz)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 06:06 AM
Post: #4
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
moin moin

i test the patcher with the new 12.11 Beta 11 and DX11 is not working for me (no Ungine heaven and 3DMark 11) HD7970 .
with the old 12.11 Beta 6 everything works.
any idea??

greez from germany
reinhardrudi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 06:35 AM
Post: #5
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
What is it doing? Does it work without the patch?

I tried the Unigine Heaven benchmark with Beta 11 patched, and DirectX 11 is working for me with a 7850.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 07:24 AM
Post: #6
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(12-13-2012 04:38 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  It doesn't really matter what the values mean. The goal when dealing with LCD monitors is to reduce the blanking as low as the monitor and video card can handle in order to reduce the horizontal scan rate and the pixel clock. Blanking is the period between each line and each frame that isn't shown on the screen. With the Catleap 2B and Tempest OC monitors, reducing the vertical total to 1450 is the simplest most effective change you can make. It's possible to tweak it down further, but not by much.

For reference:

Front Porch + Sync Width + Back Porch = Blanking
Active + Blanking = Total

Pixel clock is the total number of pixels per second.
Horizontal Total * Vertical Total * Refresh Rate = Pixel Clock
2720 * 1450 * 120 = 473280000 (473.28 MHz)

Horizontal scan rate is the number of lines per second.
Vertical Total * Refresh Rate = Horizontal Scan Rate
1450 * 120 = 174000 (174 KHz)

Thank you for the reply. This helps
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 02:11 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2012 02:12 PM by Randolla.)
Post: #7
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
Toasty,

I have my Tempest in hand and like Black Octagon, I am trying to understand this whole manual timing thing. I can get to 115Hz OK but at 120 I get faint lines.
Horizontal
2560
1
1
143
145
2705
+


Vert
3
3
4
10
1450
-
Interlaced is unchecked.

I have read your explanation but I do not fully understand it. What is the goal to reach with each number? I know we want to end at 120Hz but what about Pixel clock? Should we try for a lower number or a higher one?
How about horizontal scan? You use 174 in your example. Is that what we should shoot for or should it relate to another number in some way?
I guess I am so new to this that I must be missing the obvious.

Thanks for all your help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 02:34 PM
Post: #8
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
Well, ToastyX has posted elsewhere that "120 Hz requires around 468 to 497.76 MH" (at this resolution).

So for the pixel clock you'll likely need at least 470Mhz if not more. However, as I understand it it's best to keep this low and only go up in increments in order to minimise strain on the cable.

Beyond that, the numbers you've posted are confusing (to me) as you appear to have listed more entries than exist in CRU for manual timings?

Perhaps you could do a screen capture like in this post: http://www.overlordforum.com/posting.php...=52&p=2188

Alternatively, point out which numbers are front porch, sync width, etc.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 03:15 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2012 03:22 PM by reinhardrudi.)
Post: #9
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(12-13-2012 06:35 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  What is it doing? Does it work without the patch?

I tried the Unigine Heaven benchmark with Beta 11 patched, and DirectX 11 is working for me with a 7850.

i get the info that i need DX11 hardware .....not more.
with beta 6 it works.
without the patch---i test.

but i have a other patch too,Hybrid PhysX with a 560ti.
http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/22136...olved.html
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 04:21 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2012 06:59 PM by Randolla.)
Post: #10
RE: AMD/ATI Pixel Clock Patcher
(12-13-2012 02:34 PM)Black Octagon Wrote:  Well, ToastyX has posted elsewhere that "120 Hz requires around 468 to 497.76 MH" (at this resolution).

So for the pixel clock you'll likely need at least 470Mhz if not more. However, as I understand it it's best to keep this low and only go up in increments in order to minimise strain on the cable.

Beyond that, the numbers you've posted are confusing (to me) as you appear to have listed more entries than exist in CRU for manual timings?

Perhaps you could do a screen capture like in this post: http://www.overlordforum.com/posting.php...=52&p=2188

Alternatively, point out which numbers are front porch, sync width, etc.

BlackO,

What is confusing you is that I am using the CRU utility that Toasty made that is downlaoded from the some place that he has his patcher. That screen shot is from Nvidia's custom resolution screen and is missing the last set of numbers. I am not at my rig that has all of this now and won't be for a day or two.

http://www.monitortests.com/forum/Thread...tility-CRU Download it here and you will see what I mean.

Somehow we will figure it all out.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)