Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 6 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-07-2012, 09:06 PM (This post was last modified: 04-26-2016 11:48 PM by ToastyX.)
Post: #1
Star Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU) allows custom resolutions to be defined for both AMD/ATI and NVIDIA GPUs by creating EDID overrides directly in the registry without dealing with .inf files.

Download: cru-1.2.6.zip

If you find this software useful, donations are welcome.

Requirements:
  • Windows Vista or later (Windows XP does not support EDID overrides)
  • AMD/ATI or NVIDIA GPU (Intel's graphics driver does not support EDID overrides)
  • Laptops with switchable graphics are not supported (resolutions are handled by Intel's graphics driver)
Quick start:
  1. Choose a display from the drop-down list.
    • "(active)" means the display is connected and recognized by the graphics driver.
    • "*" means changes were made and an override was saved.
    • "**" means an extension block override was also saved.
  2. Edit the configuration as desired.
    • Detailed resolutions:
      • Detailed resolutions are the preferred way to add custom resolutions. Up to 6 more detailed resolutions can be added with a custom extension block.
      • The first detailed resolution is considered the preferred or native resolution. All other resolutions can be removed if they are not needed. The graphics driver will automatically add some lower resolutions as scaled resolutions.
      • Use the timing options to help fill in the values:
        • "Manual" allows the timing parameters to be set manually. The dialog will always open in this mode.
        • "Automatic - LCD standard" uses standard timing parameters commonly used with LCD monitors and HDTVs.
        • "Automatic - LCD native" uses standard timing parameters for the native refresh rate. This may help when trying higher refresh rates.
        • "Automatic - LCD reduced" adjusts the timing parameters for some resolutions to reduce the pixel clock. This may help when trying higher refresh rates.
        • "Automatic - CRT standard" uses timing parameters compatible with CRT monitors.
    • Standard resolutions:
      • Standard resolutions are mostly useful for CRT monitors and for adding lower resolutions with LCD monitors. Do not add the native resolution as a standard resolution.
      • AMD/ATI only supports the resolutions in the drop-down list. Other resolutions will be ignored by the driver. These will be listed in gray.
      • NVIDIA does not support more than 8 standard resolutions.
      • Standard resolutions are limited to 60-123 Hz. Use detailed resolutions to add other refresh rates.
    • Extension block:
      • NVIDIA users must choose "Custom extension block" for custom resolutions to work properly.
      • NVIDIA requires at least 2 bytes left for data blocks or the driver may crash or ignore the entire override.
  3. Repeat steps 1-2 for other displays if required.
    • The "Copy" and "Paste" buttons at the top can be used to copy the resolutions, extension block, and range limits if included. It will not copy the name or serial number, but it will copy the inclusion of these items using the display's own information. Import follows the same logic unless "Import complete EDID" is selected.
  4. Click "OK" to save the changes.
  5. Run restart.exe to restart the graphics driver.
    • If the display does not return after 15 seconds, press F8 for recovery mode. This will temporarily unload all the EDID overrides without deleting them. Restart the driver again to reload any changes.
  6. Set the resolution in the Windows display settings. To set the refresh rate:
    • Windows 10: right-click on the desktop -> Display settings -> Advanced display settings -> Display adapter properties -> Monitor tab
    • Windows Vista/7/8/8.1: right-click on the desktop -> Screen resolution -> Advanced settings -> Monitor tab
To reset a display back to the default configuration, use the "Delete" button at the top and reboot. To reset all displays, run reset-all.exe and reboot. This can be done in safe mode if necessary.

Notes:
  • This program adds monitor resolutions, not scaled resolutions. Lower resolutions will be scaled up if GPU scaling is enabled, but higher resolutions won't be scaled down by the GPU. Higher resolutions will only work if the monitor can handle them.
  • Some monitor/GPU combinations can bypass the 165 MHz HDMI limit without patching the driver by importing one of these extension block files:
  • The video card will not reduce clock speeds when idle if the vertical blanking/total is too low. Horizontal values can still be reduced if necessary.
    • AMD/ATI cards require the "LCD standard" vertical blanking/total to reduce the memory clock when idle.
    • NVIDIA cards can handle some lower values depending on the resolution and refresh rate.
  • AMD/ATI cards have a design limitation that causes video acceleration to scramble the screen if the vertical blanking/total is below standard with the video card's memory overclocked or with multiple monitors connected. Skype is known to trigger this problem. Either don't overclock the video card's memory, or use the "LCD standard" vertical blanking/total.
Changes in 1.2.6:
  • Fixed a bug affecting non-PnP displays since 1.2.3 (invalid EDID version with new overrides)
Changes in 1.2.5:
  • Include range limits by default if min/max horizontal values match and certain conditions are met (for FreeSync monitors)
  • restart.exe/restart64.exe: restart Radeon Settings (cnext.exe)
Changes in 1.2.4:
  • Made range limits compatible with FreeSync monitors
Changes in 1.2.3:
  • Added basic support for range limits and serial number descriptors (use the "Edit..." button at the top)
  • Show included descriptors in the detailed resolution list
  • Added "Import complete EDID" option
Changes in 1.2.2:
  • Detailed resolutions: added "LCD reduced" timing parameters for 2560x1440 @ 144 Hz and higher resolutions
  • Extension block: added support for colorimetry and video capability data blocks
  • Redesigned icon to scale better with Windows 10's broken taskbar scaling
  • Fixed how disabled buttons appear with Windows 10
Changes in 1.2.1:
  • Detailed resolutions: added "LCD native" option
  • TV resolutions: added support for 4:2:0 resolutions
  • HDMI support: added support for HDMI resolutions, latency information, and supported content types
  • Fixed access violation in comctl32.dll message with higher DPI settings
  • Fixed layout issues with higher DPI settings and enabled DPI awareness
  • restart.exe/restart64.exe: implemented a better recovery mode
Changes in 1.2:
  • Added custom extension block editing
  • Added support for more than 8 standard resolutions (AMD/ATI only)
  • Added support for other standard resolutions (NVIDIA only)
  • Updated reset-all.exe to reset Windows resolution settings
  • Include new version of restart.exe/restart64.exe
Changes in 1.1.2:
  • Fixed HDMI audio not working with older AMD/ATI GPUs
Changes in 1.1.1:
  • Fixed monitors with invalid signal type information not working with AMD/ATI GPUs
  • Added "LCD standard" timing parameters for 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz and 1366x768 @ 60 Hz (use "LCD reduced" for old values)
  • Automatically enable extension block when importing extension block files
  • Show number of slots left
Changes in 1.1:
  • Import extension block from files (editing coming later)
  • Automatically fill in likely native resolution when adding a detailed resolution
  • Disable controls when deleting a display
Changes in 1.0.1:
  • Fixed INF export
  • Added support for non-PnP displays
  • Changed display list sorting
Older versions:

Using older versions is not recommended. Newer versions fix problems and add features. Please report any issues with newer versions that did not exist with older versions. Make sure to run reset-all.exe when testing different versions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-12-2012, 09:30 AM
Post: #2
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi!

Thank you for making this application, it is very handful!

I used it in win7 without problems, but i just upgraded to win8, and your application doesn't work there. I can add custom resolutions and everything, but in windows 8 they doesn't appear.
What do you suggest?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 04:07 AM
Post: #3
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
It should work. Others are using it with Windows 8. What video card and monitor are you using?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2012, 04:11 PM
Post: #4
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-13-2012 04:07 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  It should work. Others are using it with Windows 8. What video card and monitor are you using?

MSI R6870 Hawk and Asus PA246Q with displayport. It worked fine on windows 7.
In the list, where i have to choose the monitor, there my monitor appears three times. Is it possible, i choosed the wrong one?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-14-2012, 02:02 AM
Post: #5
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
It's possible you're editing the wrong one. Each connection creates a separate entry, and there may be outdated entries that aren't being used anymore. CRU should pick the first active entry it finds, but if you're not sure which is which, delete all of them and reboot. Then the list should only have entries that are currently active.

With AMD/ATI, sometimes the highest refresh rate has to be listed as the first detailed resolution or the video driver will ignore it. You can also try unchecking "Include extension block" if that's checked.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2012, 06:09 PM
Post: #6
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-14-2012 02:02 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  It's possible you're editing the wrong one. Each connection creates a separate entry, and there may be outdated entries that aren't being used anymore. CRU should pick the first active entry it finds, but if you're not sure which is which, delete all of them and reboot. Then the list should only have entries that are currently active.

With AMD/ATI, sometimes the highest refresh rate has to be listed as the first detailed resolution or the video driver will ignore it. You can also try unchecking "Include extension block" if that's checked.

Thanks, i copied the custom resolutions to all three entries, and now works fine. Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-27-2012, 11:11 PM
Post: #7
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have an issue not with this tool but rather with my monitor. A better explanation is available here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=...ost1607421 but basically, even with the Include extension block portion unchecked, I still get invisible HDTV resolutions. Any ideas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2012, 10:19 AM
Post: #8
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Try removing the custom resolution from the NVIDIA control panel, then add it using CRU instead.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-30-2012, 01:11 AM (This post was last modified: 12-30-2012 01:21 AM by Mangix.)
Post: #9
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have no resolutions added from nvidia's control panel. Here's a screenshot: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/102011983/high%...01080p.png

and

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/102011983/high%...nvidia.png

edit: for some reason, the checkbox in the second screenshot never seems to get properly applied. The first resolution under PC is always checked and always matches the current refresh rate. I'm not sure if this is intentional or an oddity. When I used to manually modify the EDID with a .inf file, I always increased the maximum supported resolution as well as set the signal type to HDMI-A(default is set to DVI-D even though the connection is made through HDMI).

edit2: this is also an oddity.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/102011983/high%...nitor1.png

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/102011983/high%...nitor2.png

Happens when I do a .inf mod as well.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-31-2012, 05:37 PM
Post: #10
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I just checked with a 1080p monitor. It's a quirk with the NVIDIA driver. This happens when the refresh rate is set to 59 Hz when only 60 Hz is defined. The HD listing disappears when set to 60 Hz. This stops happening if I change the 60 Hz resolution to something like 59.94 Hz.

The monitor information is correct. Real-time is just the EDID directly from the monitor. The EDID override still takes precedence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 13 Guest(s)