Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
06-28-2013, 09:00 AM (This post was last modified: 12-24-2013 09:07 PM by ToastyX.)
Post: #1
Lightbulb Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Strobelight enables backlight strobing on LightBoost-capable monitors. For more information about LightBoost and backlight strobing, visit BlurBusters.com.

http://www.monitortests.com/strobelight-beta4.zip

If you find this software useful, donations are welcome. Also consider donating to Mark Rejhon for his help with getting more monitors supported.

Requirements:
  • Windows Vista or later
  • AMD/ATI or NVIDIA GPU (laptops with switchable graphics are not supported)
  • Dual-link DVI or DisplayPort (HDMI is not supported)
  • ASUS or BenQ LightBoost-capable monitor
These monitors are known to work: Note for NVIDIA Surround users: 331.40+ ignores installed refresh rates when Surround is enabled. NVIDIA is looking into the problem. For now, install 327.23 or earlier.

Note for NVIDIA 3D Vision users: Stereoscopic 3D may not enable properly unless 120 Hz is non-strobed. Here is a version with the refresh rates swapped: http://www.monitortests.com/strobelight-...wapped.zip

Getting started:
  1. Run strobelight-setup.exe to install the refresh rates required to enable backlight strobing.
  2. Copy strobelight.exe to your startup folder. (Win+R shell:startup)
  3. Reboot.
The program will initialize any monitors if necessary and stay running in the background to handle keyboard shortcuts. The initialization process can take a few minutes, but it only needs to be done once unless the monitors lose power.

Uninstalling:
  1. Run strobelight-setup.exe and reset the display.
  2. Remove strobelight.exe from the startup folder.
  3. Reboot.
Keyboard shortcuts:
  • [Ctrl] [Alt] [0-9] = Brightness (0 = 100%, 1 = 10%, 2 = 20%, etc.)
  • [Ctrl] [Alt] [+] = Strobing on (highest strobed refresh rate)
  • [Ctrl] [Alt] [-] = Strobing off (highest non-strobed refresh rate excluding 60 Hz)
  • [Ctrl] [Alt] [F12] = 120 Hz strobed if available
  • [Ctrl] [Alt] [F11] = 110 Hz strobed if available
  • [Ctrl] [Alt] [F10] = 100 Hz strobed if available
  • [Ctrl] [Alt] [F6] = 60 Hz if available
Note: strobe toggling does not work in full screen games.

Options for strobelight.exe:

The program can be configured by renaming strobelight.exe to any of the following:
  • strobelight-init.exe = Initialize any monitors if necessary and quit. It will not stay running in the background. Keyboard shortcuts will not be available.
  • strobelight-hide.exe = Hide the tray icon. It will stay running in the background to handle keyboard shortcuts. You can use the task manager to end the process.
  • strobelight-off.exe = Start with strobing off. This can be combined with the other options: strobelight-off-init.exe or strobelight-off-hide.exe
Keyboard options:

To change the modifier keys, rename strobelight.exe to include any combination of the following:
  • -ctrl, -lctrl, -rctrl
  • -alt, -lalt, -ralt
  • -shift, -lshift, -rshift
  • -win, -lwin, -rwin
Example: strobelight-ctrl-lalt.exe = [Ctrl] [Left Alt]

Disabling hotkeys:

To disable certain hotkeys, rename strobelight.exe to include -k followed by any combination of the following numbers:
    0 = disable all
    1 = +/-
    2 = 0-9
    3 = numpad +/-
    4 = numpad 0-9 numlock on
    5 = numpad 0-9 numlock off
    6 = function keys
Example: strobelight-k345.exe = disable numpad hotkeys

Options can be combined: strobelight-ctrl-lalt-k345.exe

Changes in Beta 4:
  • Fix refresh rates not being found in some cases when loading on startup
Changes in Beta 3:
  • Work around GeForce Experience problem
  • Added support for more than four refresh rates
  • Added DisplayPort audio support
  • Make sure all displays are strobed on startup
  • Disable keyboard hook and hotkey threads if hotkeys are disabled
  • Double-check if any modifier keys were released before processing hotkeys
Changes in Beta 2:
  • New keyboard handler:
    • Allow Ctrl+Alt to work without affecting AltGr
    • Allow numpad to work without num lock
    • Added options to change the hotkey modifiers
    • Added options to disable certain hotkeys
    • Added Ctrl+Alt+F6 for 60 Hz
  • Retry if monitor fails to respond when starting up
  • Always show strobing options in the menu even if not available
  • Show keyboard shortcuts for strobing options in the menu
  • Retry if tray icon fails to update when system is busy
  • Select 121 Hz in the setup program so strobing can be turned off by default
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-28-2013, 10:25 AM (This post was last modified: 06-28-2013 10:25 AM by Kert.)
Post: #2
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Works for XL2411T here and radeon hd6850. It did take a minute or so to initialize dispay though
Currently testing

Thanks a lot for such an app, guys!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-28-2013, 01:56 PM
Post: #3
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Excellent work! I don't have a LB monitor but had heard that this significantly simplified activation tool was in the works.

ToastyX, this is still NVIDIA-only, right? I read a rumor the other day that you were working on AMD functionality, but was unable to find any form posts by you to that effect
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-28-2013, 03:23 PM (This post was last modified: 10-01-2013 04:10 PM by mdrejhon.)
Post: #4
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
I am inserting screenshots below, to show people what Strobelight looks like:

[Image: strobelight-setup.png] ... [Image: strobelight.png]

I wanted to thank ToastyX for doing such a wonderful job in this LightBoost utility! Also, TestUFO, the Blur Busters Motion Tests is going to launch this weekend -- it is an excellent way of verifying whether LightBoost works or not.

For the record, Blur Busters only did testing of ToastyX Strobelight on nVidia products (I own multiple LightBoost monitors, both ASUS and BENQ). I believe in supporting nVidia because they made LightBoost. If you have not purchased a GPU yet, please consider leaning towards green instead of red. Although LightBoost can now be enabled independently of 3D Vision drivers (a side effect of any third party "easy LightBoost utility") -- Blur Busters does not wish to upset nVidia, while gently pointing out that nVidia needs to un-bundle LightBoost 2D from 3D Vision, and make it make it easier to enable LightBoost (like turning VSYNC ON/OFF). Again, please lean towards the Green Side (aka nVidia products) if you haven't purchased or upgraded your GPU yet.
__

Also, to test whether Strobelight is working use www.testufo.com -- the Blur Busters Motion Tests.
The best web-based motion test for LightBoost is: TestUFO: Moving Photo Test .... Turn on/off LightBoost while viewing this webpage in Google Chrome browser (the only release web browser at this time of writing to support VSYNC 120fps @ 120Hz).

Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Owner of BlurBusters.com and TestUFO.com
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 10:57 AM
Post: #5
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Any chance I can get this to work with my AOC g2460Pqu.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 03:57 PM
Post: #6
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(06-29-2013 10:57 AM)funky Wrote:  Any chance I can get this to work with my AOC g2460Pqu.
Someone will have to test it and report if it works.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 04:26 PM
Post: #7
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(06-29-2013 03:57 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(06-29-2013 10:57 AM)funky Wrote:  Any chance I can get this to work with my AOC g2460Pqu.
Someone will have to test it and report if it works.
I tried to run the version you posted, but I get
Code:
---------------------------
Strobelight Beta by ToastyX
---------------------------
No compatible displays found.
---------------------------
Wiederholen   Abbrechen  
---------------------------
I ran strobelight-setup before, added strobed frequencies and rebooted. What seems weird to me is that the setup forgets which frequencies I selected every time I restart it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 04:38 PM
Post: #8
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Copy strobelight.exe to the desktop and rename it to strobelight-debug.exe, then run it and give me the debug.txt file.

The setup program does not read existing settings.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 05:16 PM
Post: #9
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(06-29-2013 04:38 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Copy strobelight.exe to the desktop and rename it to strobelight-debug.exe, then run it and give me the debug.txt file.

The setup program does not read existing settings.

Code:
[2013-06-29 19:15:10.555] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxx.dll") = ERROR 126
[2013-06-29 19:15:10.556] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxy.dll") = ERROR 126
[2013-06-29 19:15:10.558] LOAD(NVIDIA): NvAPI_Initialize() = SUCCESS
[2013-06-29 19:15:10.769] INIT(NVIDIA, 0, 16): 3D = ERROR
[2013-06-29 19:15:10.980] INIT(NVIDIA, 0, 18): 3D = ERROR
[2013-06-29 19:15:10.980] INIT: No compatible displays found.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 05:18 PM
Post: #10
Question RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Are the brightness options supposed to have any effect directly to the user's desktop or only in game screen?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)