Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-19-2022, 09:30 PM
Post: #6611
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2022 01:05 PM)dutch45612 Wrote:  There are many option in that software that i don't really know about and maybe there is something i overlooked that could makes the thing works for me... I would be really grateful if someone could give me a clue, any piece of info would be welcome Smile.

The device is a GPD WIN 3, with an integrated Intel Iris graphic and a "digital flat panel" by the device manager drivers...
Intel's driver does not allow custom resolutions or EDID overrides with some internal displays.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2022, 09:30 PM
Post: #6612
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2022 04:59 PM)ROYER_XIV Wrote:  I recently encountered problems with my AMD card, this story of VRAM frequency too high while idle.
That led me here, and to the discovery of CRU.
However, I have two questions:
- the maximum pixel clock of my monitor is 330. If I choose CVT-RB, I get 346. If I choose CVT-RB2, I get 332.
Is it better to choose CVT-RB2, and block the pixel clock at 330 (and thus go from 144hz to 142hz) or to choose CVT-RB, even though the pixel clock exceeds that of my monitor?

- Can changing all this cause changes in the display? I know that if we switch to CVT-RB via the AMD software, the colors are degraded for example.
You're leaving out a lot of information. What video card? What monitor? What connection: DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort? What resolution? I'm assuming 1920x1080. How are you determining the maximum pixel clock? The timing parameters should not affect the visible image. How are the colors degraded?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2022, 10:36 PM (Last edited: 05-19-2022, 10:39 PM by ROYER_XIV)
Post: #6613
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2022 09:30 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-19-2022 04:59 PM)ROYER_XIV Wrote:  I recently encountered problems with my AMD card, this story of VRAM frequency too high while idle.
That led me here, and to the discovery of CRU.
However, I have two questions:
- the maximum pixel clock of my monitor is 330. If I choose CVT-RB, I get 346. If I choose CVT-RB2, I get 332.
Is it better to choose CVT-RB2, and block the pixel clock at 330 (and thus go from 144hz to 142hz) or to choose CVT-RB, even though the pixel clock exceeds that of my monitor?

- Can changing all this cause changes in the display? I know that if we switch to CVT-RB via the AMD software, the colors are degraded for example.
You're leaving out a lot of information. What video card? What monitor? What connection: DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort? What resolution? I'm assuming 1920x1080. How are you determining the maximum pixel clock? The timing parameters should not affect the visible image. How are the colors degraded?

I have a rx6800, 144hz 1080p monitor ( AOC 24G2U, displayport) and 60hz 1080p monitor (BenQ GW2480, hdmi).
I saw the maximum pixel clock of my monitor in CRU, where you can check the monitors informations.
I tested both cvt-rb and cvt-rb2, and both of them make the VRAM frequency go down to an acceptable level.
My question is: is it better to choose CVT-RB, and exceed the pixel clock of my monitor, or CVT-RB2 which is almost the same pixel clock of my monitor ?

My monitor pixel clock : 330
CVT-RB pixel clock : 346
CVT-RB2 pixel clock : 332

I can cap the hertz to 142, to stay at 330 pixel clock with CVT-RB2.

The colors are degraded with the AMD software, because it's decreasing from 8 bits to 6 bits, I dont know why.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2022, 11:18 PM
Post: #6614
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2022 10:36 PM)ROYER_XIV Wrote:  I have a rx6800, 144hz 1080p monitor ( AOC 24G2U, displayport) and 60hz 1080p monitor (BenQ GW2480, hdmi).
I saw the maximum pixel clock of my monitor in CRU, where you can check the monitors informations.
I tested both cvt-rb and cvt-rb2, and both of them make the VRAM frequency go down to an acceptable level.
My question is: is it better to choose CVT-RB, and exceed the pixel clock of my monitor, or CVT-RB2 which is almost the same pixel clock of my monitor ?
The limit reported by the monitor is not important. The monitor probably uses DisplayPort HBR mode with 4 lanes, which supports up to 360 MHz pixel clock at 8 bpc, so you can use either CVT-RB or CVT-RB2 at 144 Hz without a problem. If CVT-RB2 works fine, use that. If you exceed 360 MHz, the color depth will automatically drop down to 6 bpc, so if that's happening when using CVT-RB with AMD's software even though the pixel clock should be below that point, then it must be a driver bug.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2022, 03:51 AM
Post: #6615
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2022 09:27 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  I don't know the capabilities of that chip. I saw a reply on reddit that says the Synaptics VMM7100 doesn't support VRR. Parade supposedly has a chip that does VRR (PS 196), but I don't know what uses it.

It does appear that this chip isn't able to support VRR. I'll have to look out for an adapter that does use ps196. Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2022, 08:33 AM
Post: #6616
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2022 11:18 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-19-2022 10:36 PM)ROYER_XIV Wrote:  I have a rx6800, 144hz 1080p monitor ( AOC 24G2U, displayport) and 60hz 1080p monitor (BenQ GW2480, hdmi).
I saw the maximum pixel clock of my monitor in CRU, where you can check the monitors informations.
I tested both cvt-rb and cvt-rb2, and both of them make the VRAM frequency go down to an acceptable level.
My question is: is it better to choose CVT-RB, and exceed the pixel clock of my monitor, or CVT-RB2 which is almost the same pixel clock of my monitor ?
The limit reported by the monitor is not important. The monitor probably uses DisplayPort HBR mode with 4 lanes, which supports up to 360 MHz pixel clock at 8 bpc, so you can use either CVT-RB or CVT-RB2 at 144 Hz without a problem. If CVT-RB2 works fine, use that. If you exceed 360 MHz, the color depth will automatically drop down to 6 bpc, so if that's happening when using CVT-RB with AMD's software even though the pixel clock should be below that point, then it must be a driver bug.

Okay, thank you very much for the information
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Today, 11:40 AM
Post: #6617
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi there,

I was hoping to get some help. I have tried a few different tutorials posted online and on forums, but I have been unsuccessful in adding 1440x1080 @ 390hz as a custom resolution. I have the following:
  • Acer AOPEN Fire Legend 25XV2Q 390hz monitor
  • GIGABYTE AORUS GeForce RTX 3080 XTREME
  • KabelDirekt 10ft DisplayPort, DP 1.4, VESA-Certified
  • Windows 10 21H2

Someone posted this video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZEM6Qhw0N0) of them applying this custom resolution to their Acer Nitro 390Hz which is supposedly the same panel.

I don't know if that is even the best way to force display scaling at those resolutions for a refresh rate as high as 390hz. I have been able to create a custom resolution of 1440x1080 in the Nvidia control panel, which I believe creates the resolution and timings at 60hz and then GPU scales (I could definitely be wrong). However, it deletes itself after I restart my PC so it isn't much of an alternative. Maybe that will give some insight as to what is going on with everything. Thanks in advance! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Today, 01:57 PM
Post: #6618
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(Today 11:40 AM)carbs Wrote:  I was hoping to get some help. I have tried a few different tutorials posted online and on forums, but I have been unsuccessful in adding 1440x1080 @ 390hz as a custom resolution.
Unsuccessful how? What happens?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 84 Guest(s)