Monitor Tests Forum

Full Version: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441
(04-27-2019 07:13 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]
(04-25-2019 06:08 PM)Deceptive Pastry Wrote: [ -> ]Have a TCL S405 4k TV, laptop connected through HDMI, that I often game on. Initially when gaming in 1920x1080 or 1600x900 resolution, the TV or laptop seems to upscale and output to the native res of 4k as displayed when I hit the info button on the TV. The problem is my graphics card can only do up to 30hz at 4k, so as long as it is outputting in 4k I can't get 1080p 60hz even if that is what I have the game set to. I have solved this problem in 95% of games with CRU by deleting or lowering priority of 3840x2160 under detailed resolutions and moving 1080 to the top. This causes the image to be output at 1080p 60hz and the TV properly shows this in the info. Some rare games still give me odd issues, like I can run at 1600x900 60hz but if I set the game to 1080 it will resort to outputting 4k 30hz again. I'm hoping to better understand why this happens.

2nd issue is, sometimes I will lose audio over HDMI. I hit restart.exe, then the HDMI audio device will completely disappear from playback devices and I'm left with only "Speakers". If I unplug/replug HDMI cable to restore default TV settings the HDMI audio device will return. I have tried importing the hdmi-audio.dat extension block but I seem to be missing something there. It seems like if I simply deprioritize 3840x2160 instead of outright deleting it I can get 60hz without losing HDMI audio. But I'm not entirely sure if that is what's solving it.
The audio issue might be a driver bug. To troubleshoot both issues, I would try just the bare minimum configuration that does what you want.

Try importing this file and do NOT check the "Import complete EDID" option:

That includes 1920x1080 @ 60 Hz, 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz, and HDMI audio.

I'm back...had it working for a while. Ended up having to reset the settings, however now no matter what I do I lose HDMI audio. Initially all I did was move priority of 1080 to the top, save settings, restart driver, and was able to retain HDMI audio. Now nothing is working. It seems making ANY changes, saving, and restarting the driver results in lost audio until I re-plug cable or reset settings again.

Tried importing the bin to add the HDMI extension - no luck.

More details regarding my issue. Something very odd is going on.

I do believe it has to do with drivers. Given that it's a laptop it has dual video cards, Intel HD Graphics and a Geforce 950m for gaming. The HDMI/display info and such goes through the Intel. I have found that after restarting the driver and losing HDMI audio, if I go to device manager > Sound, video and game controllers > Intel® Display Audio, and I click Update Driver > Browse my computer > Let me pick from list, install the standard "High Definition Audio Device" instead, the device shows back up in Sound as generic Digital Audio (HDMI) and I get sound again. Ok, cool. Click restart64.exe...still there. Cool. Click restart64.exe again to double check...and it's gone again. Ok, so I go back to Sound, video and game controllers, reinstall the old Intel® Display Audio driver. Audio pops back up as 49S405 (HDMI)...sometimes. Hit restart64.exe, gone again. Reinstall generic "High Definition Audio Device", it comes back until I hit restart64.exe 1-2 more times. It seems to either only work for one restart once changing the Intel Audio drivers, or it is completely random before it disappears again. I have no idea what is going on.
(06-03-2019 08:27 PM)Deceptive Pastry Wrote: [ -> ]I do believe it has to do with drivers. Given that it's a laptop it has dual video cards, Intel HD Graphics and a Geforce 950m for gaming. The HDMI/display info and such goes through the Intel. I have found that after restarting the driver and losing HDMI audio, if I go to device manager > Sound, video and game controllers > Intel® Display Audio, and I click Update Driver > Browse my computer > Let me pick from list, install the standard "High Definition Audio Device" instead, the device shows back up in Sound as generic Digital Audio (HDMI) and I get sound again. Ok, cool. Click restart64.exe...still there. Cool. Click restart64.exe again to double check...and it's gone again. Ok, so I go back to Sound, video and game controllers, reinstall the old Intel® Display Audio driver. Audio pops back up as 49S405 (HDMI)...sometimes. Hit restart64.exe, gone again. Reinstall generic "High Definition Audio Device", it comes back until I hit restart64.exe 1-2 more times. It seems to either only work for one restart once changing the Intel Audio drivers, or it is completely random before it disappears again. I have no idea what is going on.
Running restart64.exe basically does the same thing as disabling and enabling the display adapters in the Device Manager, so if doing that also affects the sound, then I can't really do anything about it. What about if you reboot instead of running restart64.exe?
(06-05-2019 03:50 PM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]Running restart64.exe basically does the same thing as disabling and enabling the display adapters in the Device Manager, so if doing that also affects the sound, then I can't really do anything about it. What about if you reboot instead of running restart64.exe?

Rebooting essentially sets everything back to TV defaults - no EDID overrides. If I start up a game it upscales to 4k 30hz, I get HDMI audio back, etc. Same if I unplug-replug the HDMI cable or turn the TV off then back on. After any of those actions, I need to hit the restart exe to have my CRU settings applied and set the primary detailed resolution to 1080, which is then when HDMI audio disappears. No need to go back into CRU, I just have to hit restart64.exe. Is this abnormal?
(06-06-2019 04:50 AM)Deceptive Pastry Wrote: [ -> ]Rebooting essentially sets everything back to TV defaults - no EDID overrides. If I start up a game it upscales to 4k 30hz, I get HDMI audio back, etc. Same if I unplug-replug the HDMI cable or turn the TV off then back on. After any of those actions, I need to hit the restart exe to have my CRU settings applied and set the primary detailed resolution to 1080, which is then when HDMI audio disappears. No need to go back into CRU, I just have to hit restart64.exe. Is this abnormal?
Yeah, that's not normal. I don't know what you can do since that seems like a driver bug. What laptop model is it, or what model Intel CPU does it have?
(06-10-2019 12:21 AM)ToastyX Wrote: [ -> ]Yeah, that's not normal. I don't know what you can do since that seems like a driver bug. What laptop model is it, or what model Intel CPU does it have?

Aspire VN7-571G. Intel i5-5200U CPU. I'm wondering if updating the Intel GPU driver from the Intel site several months ago instead of sticking with the factory driver is a problem. I'm going to re-install the original driver from Acer's website in the meantime.

Any ideas at least why CRU settings aren't persisting every time my laptop loses signal to the TV? If I could figure out why I have to use the restart exe every time that may solve the issue, because I have found I can cycle the Intel® Audio driver and get it to show back up again. But it disappears the next time I use restart.
I recently got a Pioneer receiver VSX-LX503 and LG 65C9 OLED TV. When I connect the TV through the receiver Win 10 GTX 1050 Ti is reporting it as a DVI connection at 1080 res. If I connect the TV directly to the PC it reports HDMI 3840 res.

Would this CRU utility help in this situation?
(06-12-2019 12:56 PM)gquiring Wrote: [ -> ]I recently got a Pioneer receiver VSX-LX503 and LG 65C9 OLED TV. When I connect the TV through the receiver Win 10 GTX 1050 Ti is reporting it as a DVI connection at 1080 res. If I connect the TV directly to the PC it reports HDMI 3840 res.

Would this CRU utility help in this situation?
It might, but that shouldn't be happening because that means the HDMI data block is missing. You can use CRU to manually add an HDMI data block (and HDMI 2.0 for 4K), which might work around the problem, but the real problem is the receiver is providing the wrong information for some reason.
(06-12-2019 03:10 AM)Deceptive Pastry Wrote: [ -> ]Any ideas at least why CRU settings aren't persisting every time my laptop loses signal to the TV? If I could figure out why I have to use the restart exe every time that may solve the issue, because I have found I can cycle the Intel® Audio driver and get it to show back up again. But it disappears the next time I use restart.
The driver is not handling EDID overrides correctly. Export a file from CRU and post it here. I will see if I can create an alternative method that works with Intel.
ToastyX,

Thank you very much for the CRU application you have provided. I'm so happy it's available to use for the monitor I have.

I don't know if this has been brought up before, but I am curious if you could confirm if this is either a quirk in the Nvidia drivers or the CRU application itself or maybe the monitor itself.

I'm using an LG 27GK750F-B monitor that has an advertised refresh rate of 240hz. GPU is a Nvidia RTX2080ti. However there is a bug in the LG firmware that causes the monitor to stutter with its stock timings set to 239.759Hz. Once it's adjusted to 239.760Hz using CRU, the problem disappears. Here's the settings I'm using in CRU:

[Image: WIeCkuX.png]

[Image: McPXqUx.png]

[Image: dc4dUsF.png]

For whatever reason, sometimes the CRU settings are not enabled when the Nvidia driver is restarted after using the "restart.exe" application CRU provides. It sometimes takes going into "Recovery Mode" for it to take effect, or multiple restarts to finally get the CRU settings applied to the driver.

I can test if the driver is working correctly with the CRU settings if I run a benchmark program like Unigine Heaven. When Heaven benchmark test is ran, if the framerate is capped at 120FPS then the settings in CRU are not working. I see black line artifacts at the bottom of the screen as show in this video I uploaded below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNmefTkyVdg

Once I go through the process of doing the "restart.exe" a couple times and go into "Recovery Mode", then running that same benchmark should have my framerate uncapped and it'll go higher than 120FPS.

Another way to test this is to use a game that has a poorly optimized game engine, I've chosen PUBG. After you click "Play" in Steam under PUBG, if the resolution switches to a much lower setting upon start up then reverts to 1080p in the Menu...once again the settings in CRU are not working. You can tell the lower resolution because the Steam notification and PUBG logo will appear in the top left hand corner in stretched magnified way. Almost looks like it dips down to 256x224 resolution before going back to 1920x1080. Again following the steps above to restart the driver and then when launching the game it will no longer start at a low resolution but stay in 1080p.

Also you will know CRU is not working because it will introduce these kind of black line artifacts in PUBG:

PUBG artifacting RTX2080ti #1
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NLg_wd1mWM

PUBG artifacting RTX2080ti #2
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usw2L6OuFH8

And you will also experience stuttering in game.

There's also weird behavior sometimes when my monitor continually turns off and on after restarting the driver. I have to go in the monitor's on screen display, power off the monitor, leave it off for a minute or two, turn it back on, then restart the drivers again.

So I don't think there is anything wrong with CRU, but I wonder if it has something to do with my monitor and Nvidia driver?

Any help would be appreciated. I'm glad I was able to have a workaround for this issue. I was worried I had to RMA either the card or the monitor.
(06-12-2019 08:07 PM)witega Wrote: [ -> ]I'm using an LG 27GK750F-B monitor that has an advertised refresh rate of 240hz. GPU is a Nvidia RTX2080ti. However there is a bug in the LG firmware that causes the monitor to stutter with its stock timings set to 239.759Hz. Once it's adjusted to 239.760Hz using CRU, the problem disappears.
239.759 vs. 239.760 Hz is not enough to make a meaningful difference. What else was changed?


(06-12-2019 08:07 PM)witega Wrote: [ -> ]For whatever reason, sometimes the CRU settings are not enabled when the Nvidia driver is restarted after using the "restart.exe" application CRU provides. It sometimes takes going into "Recovery Mode" for it to take effect, or multiple restarts to finally get the CRU settings applied to the driver.
That doesn't make sense. "Recovery Mode" disables the EDID override, so the settings should not take effect that way. It just applies the default settings until the next restart.

What happened to the first detailed resolution? You shouldn't leave that blank. The first detailed resolution is supposed to be the preferred/native resolution, but there's nothing defined. That might be why the settings aren't taking effect.

What was in the extension block originally? It doesn't make sense to have an extension block with only one resolution by itself when it can be the first detailed resolution.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441
Reference URL's