Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-16-2017, 10:37 PM
Post: #2611
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
For some reason, when I make custom resolutions of 2560 x 1440 60p 12bpc or 2560 x 1440 90p 8bpc via Nvidia Control Panel, the resolutions will hold, but they do not with CRU. The reason I am trying to get it to work with CRU is because for some reason games are not seeing the Nvidia Control Panel custom resolutions. It could be user error, but I have read extensively and have been unable to figure out anything I am doing wrong. Is there any reason you know why this might be happening? I have a GTX 1070 hooked up via HDMI to a TX-NR646 which is hooked up via HDMI to a Epson 5040ub projector. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 07:22 AM
Post: #2612
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-14-2017 02:15 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  This seems to be a driver bug in 17.2.1. The driver is not loading EDID overrides on startup.

I found one workaround: toggling GPU scaling will load the EDID override, but you'll have to do this every reboot.

Setting display scaling to 100% in the Windows Control Panel seems to also work (for Win 10 anyway). It's annoying having everything so small but it's at least persistent across reboots. Having it set any higher than 100% in 17.2.1 is also randomly breaking Freesync for me as well.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 12:13 PM
Post: #2613
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX,\
\q
I have samsung UE40KU6000=UN40KU6300 . I use windows 10 with AMD r9 280. The problem, in TV screen refresh rate did not show 60Hz option, only 30Hz(it works at 30Hz).
So, I used your program CRU 1.3.
I did not add any resolution with refresh rate, the cru 1.3 had already the proper (what I want) 3840*2160 resolusion with 60Hz refresh rate.
Now, windows shows 60Hz in TV screen refresh rate with 3840*2160 resolution.
BUT when I apply 60Hz with 3840*2160 resolution the TV says no signal!!
I also send you my BIN file from CRU 1.3.

I will appreciate any help.

What is best to choose for color depth in AMD drivers (16.12.2)?
8,10,12?
I need enable or disable ITC processing?
I want to play games!.


Attached File(s)
.bin  UE40KU6000.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 155)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 08:23 PM
Post: #2614
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-17-2017 12:13 PM)dimitris56 Wrote:  I have samsung UE40KU6000=UN40KU6300 . I use windows 10 with AMD r9 280. The problem, in TV screen refresh rate did not show 60Hz option, only 30Hz(it works at 30Hz).
So, I used your program CRU 1.3.
I did not add any resolution with refresh rate, the cru 1.3 had already the proper (what I want) 3840*2160 resolusion with 60Hz refresh rate.
Now, windows shows 60Hz in TV screen refresh rate with 3840*2160 resolution.
BUT when I apply 60Hz with 3840*2160 resolution the TV says no signal!!
If you didn't add any resolutions, how did you get 60 Hz to show up? 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz 4:4:4 requires HDMI 2.0, but the R9 280 doesn't have HDMI 2.0. Are you using an HDMI 2.0 adapter?

(02-17-2017 12:13 PM)dimitris56 Wrote:  What is best to choose for color depth in AMD drivers (16.12.2)?
8,10,12?
I need enable or disable ITC processing?
I want to play games!.
3840x2160 @ 60 Hz 4:4:4 requires 8 bpc. ITC processing shouldn't matter with games. It's meant to tell the TV when a full-screen movie is playing. Some TVs can automatically change picture settings and image processing depending on the content type.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 08:26 PM
Post: #2615
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-17-2017 07:22 AM)grum Wrote:  Setting display scaling to 100% in the Windows Control Panel seems to also work (for Win 10 anyway). It's annoying having everything so small but it's at least persistent across reboots. Having it set any higher than 100% in 17.2.1 is also randomly breaking Freesync for me as well.
I already have it set to 100%. I don't see how that would affect EDID overrides.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 08:27 PM
Post: #2616
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-16-2017 10:37 PM)coltslaughter Wrote:  For some reason, when I make custom resolutions of 2560 x 1440 60p 12bpc or 2560 x 1440 90p 8bpc via Nvidia Control Panel, the resolutions will hold, but they do not with CRU.
I don't know what you mean when you say the resolutions do not hold with CRU. Describe what happens.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 09:17 PM
Post: #2617
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-17-2017 08:27 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-16-2017 10:37 PM)coltslaughter Wrote:  For some reason, when I make custom resolutions of 2560 x 1440 60p 12bpc or 2560 x 1440 90p 8bpc via Nvidia Control Panel, the resolutions will hold, but they do not with CRU.
I don't know what you mean when you say the resolutions do not hold with CRU. Describe what happens.


The screen goes black and I have to hit F8 to recover. Thanks for your help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 10:10 PM
Post: #2618
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-17-2017 09:17 PM)coltslaughter Wrote:  The screen goes black and I have to hit F8 to recover. Thanks for your help.
Are you sure the projector can take a 2560x1440 signal? Show me what you did in the NVIDIA control panel and with CRU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2017, 11:40 PM (Last edited: 02-17-2017, 11:45 PM by BLUuuE)
Post: #2619
Updated to 17.2.1, can't add custom resolution
I updated my drivers to 17.2.1 today and added a custom resolution as usual with these timings:
[Image: 8f1766ba67.png]

I then restarted my display driver via restart64.exe but when I went to select my 75Hz refresh rate in Windows, it wasn't there.

Specs:
  • LG E2441V-BN
  • Windows 10 Pro Version 1607
  • R9 380
  • connected via HDMI cable

Any ideas?

edit: I added a custom resolution via AMD settings, but when I test for frame skipping I get:
"SYNC FAILURE:
Imperfect sync. Try closing all apps and browser tabs."
It was working fine on 16.11.5 with CRU, not sure why 17.2.1 broke it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2017, 12:22 AM (Last edited: 02-18-2017, 01:04 AM by grum)
Post: #2620
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-17-2017 08:26 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  I already have it set to 100%. I don't see how that would affect EDID overrides.

It doesn't really make sense to me either. I just know under my current setup using 17.2.1 if display scaling is set to 150% then I always lose my EDID overrides upon reboot (toggling GPU scaling in Crimson does temporarily fix it). If I set scaling back to 100% without changing anything else then my overrides stay persistent. This is a fresh driver install after running DDU btw.

EDIT:
Alright, so upon further testing with another fresh 17.2.1 install it would appear that messing with display scaling is *not* making my EDID overrides persistent. It must have been something else or I just got lucky before. I have discovered however that Freesync is breaking specifically at 150% or higher display scaling but works fine up to 125% (confirmed in the Windmill demo).

I'm sending off a bug report to AMD about the unrelated Freesync issue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 46 Guest(s)