Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-25-2017, 11:26 PM
Post: #2781
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2017 09:40 PM)CRUrocks Wrote:  Just in case, I'd like to report that 17.4.1 had fixed the EDID overrides on startup bug for me and my R9 290. I was happy again.

17.4.2 (Creators Update / now WDDM2.2 driver) broke it again... and it's still broken on 17.4.3 WHQL.
I'm not seeing any issues with 17.4.3 and the Creators Update. Some people are seeing a different issue where the resolution can't be changed at all in the display settings and some games won't recognize the GPU, but that seems to be unrelated to the original EDID override issue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2017, 11:27 PM
Post: #2782
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2017 07:46 PM)CRTFTW Wrote:  Any clue why this resolution isn't showing up for my Radeon 380x? It's interlaced, but total pixel count on horizontal axis is under 4,000, and vertical under 2,000, so I thought it should work

http://imgur.com/a/O3EfN
Are you using a CRT? Does your video card have a DAC or are you using an active adapter?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2017, 03:45 AM (Last edited: 04-26-2017, 03:46 AM by CRTFTW)
Post: #2783
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2017 11:27 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Are you using a CRT? Does your video card have a DAC or are you using an active adapter?

Radeon 380x, so it has an on-board RAMDAC. It's weird, I have a couple other resolutions with clocks at 396mHz, like 2880x1800i@105hz, and they show up in display settings. It's also not showing up in QuickRes, which is usually good about showing avaialable resolutions that Windows doesn't (can be found at bottom of this page: https://www.ultimarc.com/download_old.html )

And yeah, this is on a CRT. I'm wondering if AMD drivers have an arbitrary cutoff at 2880 active horizontal pixels for interlaced VGA signals
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2017, 01:48 PM
Post: #2784
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2017 09:40 PM)CRUrocks Wrote:  Just in case, I'd like to report that 17.4.1 had fixed the EDID overrides on startup bug for me and my R9 290. I was happy again.

17.4.2 (Creators Update / now WDDM2.2 driver) broke it again... and it's still broken on 17.4.3 WHQL.


Dammit AMD. Back to 17.4.1 for the time being, and reported it again through their problem reporting link.

Same problem here with a CRT, Win10 Creators Update & 17.4.3. I have to reset the driver on startup with restartonly.exe to use EDID override. Back to 17.4.1 and it works as expected
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2017, 08:17 PM
Post: #2785
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2017 01:48 PM)Rochabian Wrote:  Same problem here with a CRT, Win10 Creators Update & 17.4.3. I have to reset the driver on startup with restartonly.exe to use EDID override. Back to 17.4.1 and it works as expected

You can also toggle on/off GPU scaling real quick to achieve the same result
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2017, 12:31 AM
Post: #2786
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2017 03:45 AM)CRTFTW Wrote:  Radeon 380x, so it has an on-board RAMDAC. It's weird, I have a couple other resolutions with clocks at 396mHz, like 2880x1800i@105hz, and they show up in display settings. It's also not showing up in QuickRes, which is usually good about showing avaialable resolutions that Windows doesn't (can be found at bottom of this page: https://www.ultimarc.com/download_old.html )

And yeah, this is on a CRT. I'm wondering if AMD drivers have an arbitrary cutoff at 2880 active horizontal pixels for interlaced VGA signals
I don't know. Check if there's a 1000 horizontal blanking limit.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2017, 12:32 AM
Post: #2787
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2017 08:17 PM)CRTFTW Wrote:  You can also toggle on/off GPU scaling real quick to achieve the same result
You can run this to automate the process: reload.zip
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2017, 02:31 PM
Post: #2788
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU) swtor
This program worked for me. Thank you! My game Star Wars the Old Republic was having characters that were stretched or (Fat), out of proportion, and some of the words in the preferences screen were overlapping. I used this utility and all is back to normal. I do have a question though. Do I have to use this program again when I update my video drivers from time to time?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2017, 01:35 AM (Last edited: 04-28-2017, 04:05 AM by dodo)
Post: #2789
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Has anyone had issues with flickering during games only after a cold boot?

After I've set my freesync range to 35-75 (default 55-75) and running restart64.exe, I have no issues (except flickering around 35 FPS). Restarting the computer still shows no issues during gaming, but after I shut down the computer and power it on, games starts flickering no matter what the FPS is. Running restart64.exe fixes the issue, but wasn't sure if there was a way to avoid running this every cold boot.

Edit: May have fixed it, my monitor (34UC88) showed up twice on the drop down, but only one was active. When only editing the active monitor, the issue happens (after a cold boot).
Editing both seems to have resolved it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2017, 09:40 PM
Post: #2790
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-28-2017 01:35 AM)dodo Wrote:  Edit: May have fixed it, my monitor (34UC88) showed up twice on the drop down, but only one was active. When only editing the active monitor, the issue happens (after a cold boot).
Editing both seems to have resolved it.
That shouldn't matter. Normally any issue that goes away by restarting the driver is a driver bug. I don't know what's going on with AMD's drivers lately. They've been having a lot of weird issues since ReLive came out.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 33 Guest(s)