Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-22-2013, 07:57 PM
Post: #241
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Just wanted to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU for this post. I've been searching for months on how to get my Hitachi TV (whose EID incorrectly reports 1024x768 despite being 1360x768) to work properly with games.
Even when manually setting the resolution of the native panel via the latest Nvidia drivers (which worked for windows), the games would still default to the native resolution.. but CRU fixed it!

Eternally grateful for your help

Graham
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-23-2013, 09:18 AM
Post: #242
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-22-2013 07:22 PM)mdrejhon Wrote:  
(08-22-2013 11:22 AM)H377F13LD Wrote:  Does this mean that this monitor in reality isn't capable of displaying anything above 60Hz?
Yes, generally that means the monitor is skipping refreshes (known as frameskipping).

A good frameskipping test is http://www.testufo.com/#test=frameskipping ... View this in a reliable browser such as Google Chrome. Follow the instructions at the top.

Thank you! Then I'll give up trying...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-23-2013, 10:21 PM (Last edited: 08-24-2013, 03:10 AM by Sekta)
Post: #243
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I'm trying to get my SA950 from 120hz to 124hz but it can't even get to 121hz stable in games. No matter what the pixel clock is or the total pixels it just blacks out every 30 seconds at 122hz+. LCD Reduced makes the monitor not work at all. The monitor's OSD reports the horizontal at 137kHz and it doesn't go any higher. Reducing the refresh rate to something like 109hz and the monitor just feels like it's frameskipping. I don't think the EDID is being overwritten properly.

EDIT: I uninstalled the driver and made it use the Generic PnP driver, the OSD now reports the horizontal hz correctly. But I can't get 124hz still. How would I go about getting 124hz 1920x1080? Changing total pixels results in corruption and leaving it on auto just turns the monitor off every 30 seconds at 121hz+. Also the default 120hz is at 119.982hz, should I raise that to a perfect 120.00hz??
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 07:54 PM
Post: #244
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
The EDID is working properly. Your monitor can't handle higher refresh rates.

119.928 is just 120 with the pixel clock rounded down to 285.50.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 07:58 PM
Post: #245
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-21-2013 11:28 PM)apav Wrote:  So I updated my drivers, restarted, repatched them, re-enabled test mode, used the "reset all" program found in the CRU folder, and restarted. Now the CRU isn't working for me. I add 120hz, I restart, and as soon as I get to the desktop, I hear the driver uninstalled sound. Go to advanced settings, and I only see 59 and 60hz. If I restart again, then I can see 120hz.
The device disconnect sound means something is disabling or restarting a device. CRU doesn't do that, so I don't know what's causing that.

Try reinstalling the NVIDIA driver without GeForce Experience. Choose the custom install option and uncheck "NVIDIA GeForce Experience" and check "Perform a clean installation." Then patch the driver as usual and add the refresh rates back in CRU if necessary.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 08:06 PM
Post: #246
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi i have a clevo m770cuh and I am trying to use CRU on the integrated laptop monitor. I have tried the steps outlined but cannot get any new refresh rates available in windows resolution or the ati catalyst control panel? The clevo has the ati mobility radeon hd4570. I tried the pixel patch but that didn't help either. What should i do?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 08:47 PM
Post: #247
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Does that laptop have switchable graphics (Intel GPU)? It won't work with that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 09:02 PM
Post: #248
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-20-2013 09:10 AM)bertuslakkis Wrote:  Detailed resolutions do add the new resolutions + refresh rate to the list, so they can be selected in windows / nvidia control panel (using GTX 580 in SLI). But as I stated if there are games where you don't have the option to select a refresh rate it just picks the lowest one (I think, not sure). If I put the same resolution + refresh rate in Standard resolutions it 'forces' the refresh rates in all instances.
Did you try adding the highest refresh rates as detailed resolutions? I don't see why using detailed resolutions would affect other resolutions. There shouldn't be any refresh rates other than the ones you add.

(08-20-2013 09:10 AM)bertuslakkis Wrote:  So for me this would be the preferred method, however there's another thing about Standard resolution that makes this not the 'perfect' solution:
Standard resolutions can't define refresh rates higher then 123Hz ? (124Hz and up becomes red and I can't click OK to add them).
That's an EDID limitation. You have to use detailed resolutions for higher refresh rates.

(08-20-2013 09:10 AM)bertuslakkis Wrote:  Another thing that might be completely unrelated to CRU is this: I've made a custom inf driver for my screens to force all lower resolutions to 100Hz (as a pre-solution until discovering CRU)
That could be interfering with your ability to use detailed resolutions. Uninstall the monitor using the device manager. Then scan for hardware changes. The monitor should be listed as Generic PnP Monitor or Generic Non-PnP Monitor. Then use CRU to add the resolutions again. If the monitor is Non-PnP, download CRU 1.0.1 to edit it.

(08-20-2013 09:10 AM)bertuslakkis Wrote:  when I select resolutions that are not defined in CRU but in this inf, the GPU applies scaling even though this is disabled in NV CP (driver bug? I am in contact with NVIDIA support about this issue, edit: it seems they now 'know' of it and will further it to the driver developers).
Usually GPU scaling will apply to any resolution that's not listed in the EDID regardless of that setting.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 09:49 PM
Post: #249
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX, the laptop does not have switchable graphics just the ati gpu
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 10:01 PM
Post: #250
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-24-2013 09:49 PM)Milardo Wrote:  Hi ToastyX, the laptop does not have switchable graphics just the ati gpu
Does CRU show "(active)" for the display? Does the device manager show Generic PnP Monitor or Generic Non-PnP Monitor?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 67 Guest(s)