Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
02-05-2019, 12:12 AM
Post: #1
Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
Hello,
I just bought a second hand hp zr30w (2560*1600 60hz 10bit)
and would like to drive it with my laptop with these specs->
Z710 Lenovo IdeaPad
Vga cards-> Intel 4600/Nvidia 840m

The problem is that the laptop only has HDMI/d-sub output and the monitor only has dvi dual link and display port inputs.

I bought a cheap adapter dvi dual link to hdmi and that works with resolutions up to 1280*800 on my zr30w.

Is there a way to make it work?Do I need to buy something else?

Some more information->
A)I tried the adapter on 2k screens and works ok.
B)I have hooked up 2k monitors with the HDMI output of the z710 and work ok
C)I suspsect that the zr30w only accepts 2560*1600 60hz, anything else (2k resolution/2560*1600 30hz etc will not work)
D)The zr30w works just fine in native resolution with display port.


Thank you in advance!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2019, 05:24 AM
Post: #2
RE: Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
There's no such thing as an HDMI to dual-link DVI adapter. HDMI is always single-link. HDMI 1.4 can handle 2560x1600 @ 60 Hz, but I don't know if the ZR30w would accept a single-link HDMI signal. The only adapter that would work in your case is an active HDMI to DisplayPort converter (not DisplayPort to HDMI), and I don't know if the converter will automatically pick up 2560x1600 without a custom resolution or EDID override.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2019, 12:41 PM (This post was last modified: 02-05-2019 12:56 PM by atopos.)
Post: #3
RE: Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
(02-05-2019 05:24 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  There's no such thing as an HDMI to dual-link DVI adapter. HDMI is always single-link. HDMI 1.4 can handle 2560x1600 @ 60 Hz, but I don't know if the ZR30w would accept a single-link HDMI signal. The only adapter that would work in your case is an active HDMI to DisplayPort converter (not DisplayPort to HDMI), and I don't know if the converter will automatically pick up 2560x1600 without a custom resolution or EDID override.


Is 2560*1440 feasible with single link?
That's why I assumed that it is a dual link because it drove that resolution -when I tested it on a different monitor
I would not mind having the the HP zr30w working at that resolution (2560*1440) with black bars on top/bottom nor if it worked in 30hz but it does not powerup with any different settings other than 1280*800 60hz and 2560*1600 60hz because it doesn't have a scaler built in*.

*Before buying it I thought for sure that it would work at least with lower resolution/hz.
I didn't know that monitors exist without scallers that don't worked with lower resolutions/hz.

If there is a hack/workaround that allowed me to force lower resolution/hz I would be happy to give it a try!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2019, 05:56 PM
Post: #4
RE: Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
2560x1440 @ 60 Hz requires dual-link DVI or HDMI 1.4 as well. Some monitors can accept single-link DVI signals beyond 165 MHz pixel clock, but that's non-standard. 2560x1440 @ 40 Hz and 2560x1600 @ 35 Hz is possible with single-link DVI, and CRU can add HDMI support if the monitor can handle an HDMI signal, but your GPU makes this hard to test because the driver might not support custom resolutions or EDID overrides with the method CRU uses. You can try using CRU, but if it has no effect, you'll have to use the more complicated method described here: https://www.codeground.net/howto/overrid...-registry/

I might be able to help with that method if you export a file using CRU and post it here.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2019, 02:05 AM (This post was last modified: 02-07-2019 02:07 AM by atopos.)
Post: #5
RE: Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
(02-05-2019 05:56 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  2560x1440 @ 60 Hz requires dual-link DVI or HDMI 1.4 as well. Some monitors can accept single-link DVI signals beyond 165 MHz pixel clock, but that's non-standard. 2560x1440 @ 40 Hz and 2560x1600 @ 35 Hz is possible with single-link DVI, and CRU can add HDMI support if the monitor can handle an HDMI signal, but your GPU makes this hard to test because the driver might not support custom resolutions or EDID overrides with the method CRU uses. You can try using CRU, but if it has no effect, you'll have to use the more complicated method described here: https://www.codeground.net/howto/overrid...-registry/

I might be able to help with that method if you export a file using CRU and post it here.


I have established today that my HDMI port(without adapter) does output 2560*1600 60hz(and 3840*2160 at 30hz).
Also with this calculator->
https://k.kramerav.com/support/bwcalculator.asp

My total signal bandwidth should be 7.37Gbps (or 2.46 per channel.)

A)This adapter should theoretically work (it states 10.8Gbps)->

http://www.akasa.com.tw/search.php?seed=AK-CBHD03-BKV2

-To be on the safe side I sent them an email enquiring about the stated bandwidth.

B)I also sent a similar e-mail to "ugreen" that makes this active HDMI to display port adapter->

https://www.amazon.co.uk/UGREEN-Displayp...B00WM6MPGC

So crossed fingers and waiting their responses Rolleyes

P.s Thanks to all of you that posted responses!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2019, 02:28 AM
Post: #6
RE: Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
The first adapter won't work. Single-link DVI by specification only supports up to 165 MHz pixel clock. Anything beyond that is supposed to be dual-link. HDMI 1.4 is capable of going beyond 165 MHz pixel clock, but it's single-link, so you can't convert HDMI to dual-link DVI with a simple passive adapter. Some monitors can accept a single-link DVI signal beyond 165 MHz pixel clock, but that's not standard.

The second adapter might work. If it can do 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz, then it has the bandwidth to do 2560x1600 @ 60 Hz. The only question is whether it will pick up 2560x1600 without a custom resolution or EDID override.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-22-2019, 01:57 PM (This post was last modified: 02-22-2019 03:11 PM by atopos.)
Post: #7
RE: Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
(02-07-2019 02:28 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  The first adapter won't work. Single-link DVI by specification only supports up to 165 MHz pixel clock. Anything beyond that is supposed to be dual-link. HDMI 1.4 is capable of going beyond 165 MHz pixel clock, but it's single-link, so you can't convert HDMI to dual-link DVI with a simple passive adapter. Some monitors can accept a single-link DVI signal beyond 165 MHz pixel clock, but that's not standard.

The second adapter might work. If it can do 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz, then it has the bandwidth to do 2560x1600 @ 60 Hz. The only question is whether it will pick up 2560x1600 without a custom resolution or EDID override.


Today I received the HDMI to displayport adapter that I had ordered some days ago.
Regrettably that doesn't work either at 2560*1600 60hz.

Looking at the specs on the box it states that it has the stdp2600 HDMI 1.4 chip so it should be able to work(?).

Any insights?

P.S Does the attached screenshot help at all?


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-22-2019, 08:40 PM
Post: #8
RE: Can't output native 2560*1600 60hz?
Is that what it shows when connected to the adapter? It needs an extension block with an HDMI data block.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)