Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-14-2016, 09:36 AM
Post: #2231
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-13-2016 07:34 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-12-2016 05:00 PM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  Done Blush
The extension block has a vendor-specific data block with AMD's vendor ID. Since it's not publicly documented, I don't know what all the bytes mean, but it seems to have the FreeSync range in there. CRU doesn't have a way to edit the data block directly, but it can import hex data from text files.

I formatted the .txt file to group the data blocks and resolutions:

Look for this line:
68 1a 00 00 01 01 28 4b 00

Hex 28 = 40
Hex 4b = 75

Try changing those numbers (30-75 Hz would be 1e 4b). Then import the text file using CRU.

Is there anny Chance that CRU will support it in a future build ?

I dont know to hex edit. Can you upload two files for me, ohne with 30 - 75 and one with 35 - 75 ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2016, 10:02 AM
Post: #2232
Information another CRU use case
Hi,
I found out yesterday another useful use case for CRU utility:
I have a TFT monitor which is certainly over 6 years old (LG Flatron L227WT). During the recent weeks of use the CCFL inverter began to develop heavy high frequent noises when showing strong contrasts and white background images. Like almost all older TFTs this one has default only a 60 Hz refresh rate. I wanted to try out if the noise is dependant on the refresh rate, I assumed something like that. So I lowered the refresh rate with CRU to 50 Hz. The buzzing sound went even louder but changed its frequency, so there was an effect. Then I tried 75 Hz (I thought my monitor would NOT work with this setting and give me an OSD "out of range blabla" message) BUT - no, no problem, it works perfectly with 75 Hz. And the most important thing: all noise has gone. Of course it is possible that this "solution" is a kind of temporary thing because some electronic / electric parts of the monitor are getting too old or are slowly dying, but in the meantime I´m happy to use my good old monitor some time more.
There´s a lot to read in the internet about buzzing sounds of monitors - so give it a try to change the refresh rate, maybe it calms down then...
Hannes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2016, 04:39 PM
Post: #2233
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-14-2016 09:36 AM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  I dont know to hex edit. Can you upload two files for me, ohne with 30 - 75 and one with 35 - 75 ?
You don't need a hex editor. It's a text file. Just use Notepad. I showed you what you needed to do. Use a hex calculator to fill in whatever values you want.

30-75 Hz would be 1e 4b
35-75 Hz would be 23 4b

(08-14-2016 09:36 AM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  Is there anny Chance that CRU will support it in a future build ?
I would like to know what the bytes mean first, but the data block is vendor-specific and not publicly documented. If I add support for undocumented data blocks, it would just be a hex editor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2016, 04:39 PM
Post: #2234
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-14-2016 05:03 AM)alexp Wrote:  Problem is that now I have no sound coming out my TV! In my Nvidia control panel, my connector for resolution is only recognized as DVI - PC display. How do I get it so I can keep my custom 1080p 120hz resolution but get my connector to be recognized as hdmi so I can receive sound again?
This information is in the main post.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2016, 05:08 PM (Last edited: 08-14-2016, 05:08 PM by Cross-Flow)
Post: #2235
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-14-2016 04:39 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-14-2016 09:36 AM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  I dont know to hex edit. Can you upload two files for me, ohne with 30 - 75 and one with 35 - 75 ?
You don't need a hex editor. It's a text file. Just use Notepad. I showed you what you needed to do. Use a hex calculator to fill in whatever values you want.

30-75 Hz would be 1e 4b
35-75 Hz would be 23 4b

(08-14-2016 09:36 AM)Cross-Flow Wrote:  Is there anny Chance that CRU will support it in a future build ?
I would like to know what the bytes mean first, but the data block is vendor-specific and not publicly documented. If I add support for undocumented data blocks, it would just be a hex editor.

Ya okay i'll test it soon Smile

Is there anny changes with Freesync over HDMI? No Freesync HDMI Display supports CRU right now?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2016, 07:27 PM
Post: #2236
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I'f test the file and it works, Crimson tell 35 hz to 75 Hz range.

But in the nvidia g-sync demo the display turn off for 1 second, then turn on for 1 second, then turn off ...

So the Display didn't want anny other settings =(

But thanks for your work, you are awesome Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-14-2016, 08:20 PM
Post: #2237
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I just upgraded to a GTX 1070 and am having issues getting CRU to work. On my first attempt I was using 369.09 drivers and was unable to patch the limits so I installed 368.95 drivers and successfully patched the limits and put in my custom resolution via CRU just like I did with my old 780 but upon reboot all I get is a black screen.

I tried no extension block and custom extension block with no luck. I also just updated to the W10 anniversary update just before installing the card. I am trying to use 1920 x 1080 @ 100HZ over HDMI which is what I've been using for several years with my 780.

Any help anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-15-2016, 02:18 PM
Post: #2238
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-14-2016 08:20 PM)Techie405 Wrote:  I just upgraded to a GTX 1070 and am having issues getting CRU to work. On my first attempt I was using 369.09 drivers and was unable to patch the limits so I installed 368.95 drivers and successfully patched the limits and put in my custom resolution via CRU just like I did with my old 780 but upon reboot all I get is a black screen.

I tried no extension block and custom extension block with no luck. I also just updated to the W10 anniversary update just before installing the card. I am trying to use 1920 x 1080 @ 100HZ over HDMI which is what I've been using for several years with my 780.
What monitor supports 1920x1080 @ 100 Hz over HDMI? If this is a TV, try adding an HDMI support data block in the custom extension block. You shouldn't need the patch if you do that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-15-2016, 04:18 PM (Last edited: 08-15-2016, 04:44 PM by Techie405)
Post: #2239
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-15-2016 02:18 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-14-2016 08:20 PM)Techie405 Wrote:  I just upgraded to a GTX 1070 and am having issues getting CRU to work. On my first attempt I was using 369.09 drivers and was unable to patch the limits so I installed 368.95 drivers and successfully patched the limits and put in my custom resolution via CRU just like I did with my old 780 but upon reboot all I get is a black screen.

I tried no extension block and custom extension block with no luck. I also just updated to the W10 anniversary update just before installing the card. I am trying to use 1920 x 1080 @ 100HZ over HDMI which is what I've been using for several years with my 780.
What monitor supports 1920x1080 @ 100 Hz over HDMI? If this is a TV, try adding an HDMI support data block in the custom extension block. You shouldn't need the patch if you do that.

Adding the HDMI support data block did the trick! I've never had to do this previously, all I did before was selected no extension block and upon reboot it showed my monitor was connected with DVI instead HDMI and just worked. This new way will work just fine so thank you very much for your help!!!

The monitor is an AOC I2757FH IPS. It happily does 100HZ over HDMI with no graphical artifacts or frame skipping.
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-15-2016, 07:52 PM (Last edited: 08-17-2016, 01:03 AM by Decado)
Post: #2240
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a gtx 1070 and 1080p Toshiba 120hz HDTV.

I set a custom resolution to 720p (making it "native") for downsampling in 3D games. Now the 3D mode isn't working properly. Colours are red-tinged like it is trying to use a different form of 3D and my passive glasses do not work. Is it because my PC now thinks I am using a DVI connection instead of HDMI? Suggestions?

Regarding my HDTV, am I correct in my understanding that just because it says 120hz, doesn't mean it is capable of 120 fps, even using this utility?

I've attempted to add a new refresh rate in the Nvidia control panel but I only get a black screen before it comes back. No message. Similar results with CRU.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 63 Guest(s)