Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-23-2020, 10:02 PM
Post: #4701
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-23-2020 09:59 PM)mrpotato Wrote:  Hello, I am trying to get 4:3 stretched resolution on Valorant a game that doesn't support stretch the way cs go does. I have heard there is a way to do it with CRU though. Please let me know how I can do this.

Are you not simply able to go into your GPU control panel and configure it to scale to "full screen" rather than "retain aspect"?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-23-2020, 10:04 PM (Last edited: 04-23-2020, 10:14 PM by mrpotato)
Post: #4702
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
No that doesn't work, or I should say the game developer have made sure that doesn't work. Apparently there is a workaround with CRU though.

(04-23-2020 10:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(04-23-2020 09:59 PM)mrpotato Wrote:  Hello, I am trying to get 4:3 stretched resolution on Valorant a game that doesn't support stretch the way cs go does. I have heard there is a way to do it with CRU though. Please let me know how I can do this.

I saw this comment in a youtube video but don't understand it or know if it is correct:

Set your monitor to the res you want valorant to run on as native, so for example, setting 1440x1080 as native resolution, through a program such as CRU, and then in game changing it to 1920x1080 fill, and it resetting itself back to 1440. This will make it so you have a 4:3 stretched res without black bars
CRU doesn't deal with scaling. That's up to the GPU or monitor.

In gaming communities CRU is often used to make sure scaling is done by the monitor rather than the GPU for benefits in input lag and clarity. Also I don't know why CRU needs to be used for stretched other that the game does not support stretched on its own.

Maybe it has to do with convincing the game that my monitor's native resolution is something other than what it really is thus tricking it into allowing a stretched format.


On reddit I saw this post "As per the title, it is currently possible to get an actual 4:3 stretched resolution (player model stretch as well, not just the UI stretch that I know many of you will try to answer me with) in valorant using the custom resolution utility. I was wondering if there were any plans to ban or stop this. Thanks!"
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-23-2020, 10:34 PM (Last edited: 04-23-2020, 10:51 PM by Nintendo Maniac 64)
Post: #4703
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-23-2020 10:04 PM)mrpotato Wrote:  In gaming communities CRU is often used to make sure scaling is done by the monitor rather than the GPU for benefits in input lag and clarity. Also I don't know why CRU needs to be used for stretched other that the game does not support stretched on its own.

I think I know what's going on.

CRU itself is not the actual cause of the stretching happening. You should be able to get the exact same result of the monitor (rather than the GPU) doing the scaling by going into your GPU control panel and disabling GPU scaling.

The reason CRU may be needed is if the desired resolution, such at 1440x1080 (if on a 1080p display) may not be listed.


So basically, with GPU scaling disabled, I would first test out with a non-widescreen resolution that is already present (such as 1024x768, 1152x864, 1280x960, etc) and see if you get the desired stretched result (albeit at a lower resolution). If the intended behavior occurs, then the next step would be to indeed create a custom 4:3 resolution that has the same height as your monitor (so 1440x1080 for 1080p, 1920x1440 for 1440p, etc).

This doesn't necessarily have to be done with CRU however as your GPU control panel should include the ability to create a custom resolution.



...though now that I realize it, this should all still work even with GPU scaling enabled if the issue really is just a case of higher-res non-widescreen resolutions not being listed. And heck with GPU scaling you should even be able to achieve higher fidelity by virtue of being able to render at resolutions higher than your display's native, such as using a custom resolution has the same width of your display's native resolution rather than the same height (so 1920x1440 for 1080p displays, or 2560x1920 for 1440p displays).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2020, 03:42 PM
Post: #4704
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Ok will try that. BTW does anyone know if PG279Q has a built in scaler. CRU keeps causing black screen, so maybe it doesn't.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2020, 03:50 PM
Post: #4705
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi!

I created a custom resolution in CRU (3840x1080@120Hz) it worked but the resolution is stretched. When I add the same resolution in NCV it doesn't work at all unless it's 60Hz.

As you can see, 3840x1080@120Hz using CRU: https://i.imgur.com/zsNYzYk.jpg Working, HDR also work but the image is stretched.

3840x1080@120Hz using NCP: No Signal

3840x1080@60Hz using NCP: https://i.imgur.com/fqrc3wU.jpg Working, HDR doesn't work but the image is fine.

I have an LG C9.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2020, 04:12 PM
Post: #4706
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-24-2020 03:42 PM)mrpotato Wrote:  Ok will try that. BTW does anyone know if PG279Q has a built in scaler. CRU keeps causing black screen, so maybe it doesn't.
G-SYNC monitors usually only support a limited set of resolutions. You would have to use GPU scaling for other resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2020, 04:13 PM
Post: #4707
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-24-2020 03:50 PM)6UAPSHU9H8 Wrote:  Hi!

I created a custom resolution in CRU (3840x1080@120Hz) it worked but the resolution is stretched. When I add the same resolution in NCV it doesn't work at all unless it's 60Hz.

As you can see, 3840x1080@120Hz using CRU: https://i.imgur.com/zsNYzYk.jpg Working, HDR also work but the image is stretched.

3840x1080@120Hz using NCP: No Signal

3840x1080@60Hz using NCP: https://i.imgur.com/fqrc3wU.jpg Working, HDR doesn't work but the image is fine.

I have an LG C9.
Seems like the TV doesn't support 3840x1080 @ 120 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2020, 08:11 PM
Post: #4708
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-24-2020 03:50 PM)6UAPSHU9H8 Wrote:  I created a custom resolution in CRU (3840x1080@120Hz) it worked but the resolution is stretched.

I have an LG C9.
Being a TV, there should be various scaling and stretching modes, including one that displays the pixels "as is" without any scaling.


Normally the solution would be to use GPU scaling, but the C9 does not support 120Hz at 3840x2160 even with 8bit 4:2:0 from HDMI 2.0 sources.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2020, 10:31 AM
Post: #4709
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I got a new 2020 Huawei Matebook D14 (R5 3500U) and tried to connect it to my Iiyama ProLite XUB3490WQSU-B1.

The Matebook's HDMI output is specified as 2.0b. The Iiyama got HDMI 2.0 and DP 1.2 inputs.

Recently the Iiyama was connected via HDMI to my desktop pc (980ti) which worked fine at 3440x1440@60Hz.
It also works via a DP cable, to which connection I switched for now.

So the problem is, I can only get 3440x1440@30Hz via the Matebook. As the USB-C port of the 2020 version doesn't seem to support DP alternate mode which the 2019 version did, I have to connect it via HDMI.

I am using the same input of the monitor and the same cable which works for my desktop pc, but I only get 30Hz.

So I tried to get it to work using the CRU but wasn't successful.
Is it important for the monitor to get listed as the correct monitor model instead of "PnP-Monitor"?
If I try to set 3440x1440@60Hz via the radeon software (Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.4.2 from 23.04.2020) as custom resolution the software tells me that the resolution wasn't compatible with that monitor.

Do you have any hints for me, how to get the 60Hz out of the Matebook?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2020, 04:16 PM
Post: #4710
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-25-2020 10:31 AM)olco Wrote:  I got a new 2020 Huawei Matebook D14 (R5 3500U) and tried to connect it to my Iiyama ProLite XUB3490WQSU-B1.

The Matebook's HDMI output is specified as 2.0b. The Iiyama got HDMI 2.0 and DP 1.2 inputs.

Recently the Iiyama was connected via HDMI to my desktop pc (980ti) which worked fine at 3440x1440@60Hz.
It also works via a DP cable, to which connection I switched for now.

So the problem is, I can only get 3440x1440@30Hz via the Matebook. As the USB-C port of the 2020 version doesn't seem to support DP alternate mode which the 2019 version did, I have to connect it via HDMI.

I am using the same input of the monitor and the same cable which works for my desktop pc, but I only get 30Hz.

So I tried to get it to work using the CRU but wasn't successful.
Is it important for the monitor to get listed as the correct monitor model instead of "PnP-Monitor"?
If I try to set 3440x1440@60Hz via the radeon software (Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.4.2 from 23.04.2020) as custom resolution the software tells me that the resolution wasn't compatible with that monitor.

Do you have any hints for me, how to get the 60Hz out of the Matebook?
Laptop screens sometimes don't have names, so it will appear as Generic PnP Monitor. External monitors usually have names.

I don't know what you can do because the situation you described should be plug and play.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 66 Guest(s)