Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-20-2020, 08:47 PM
Post: #4791
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a brand new dell gaming g7 7790 with a 144hz display. I want to know if there is a way to use the CRU on new 9th gen intel chips, because there isn't an edid patched driver. I dont know if you still even have to use those, its been a while since i last used this utility. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I already tried using custom display options and setting custom refresh rates. I dont think it is pixel clock related, because the default resolution already runs at 342 Mhz. This laptop is running optimus, so i dont know if that changes the way that the refresh rates have to be created.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2020, 09:18 PM
Post: #4792
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-20-2020 08:47 PM)macity_mac_shack Wrote:  I have a brand new dell gaming g7 7790 with a 144hz display. I want to know if there is a way to use the CRU on new 9th gen intel chips, because there isn't an edid patched driver. I dont know if you still even have to use those, its been a while since i last used this utility. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I already tried using custom display options and setting custom refresh rates. I dont think it is pixel clock related, because the default resolution already runs at 342 Mhz. This laptop is running optimus, so i dont know if that changes the way that the refresh rates have to be created.
It should work with the latest driver, so if it doesn't, there might be some other limitation in place. You can also try the alternative method.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2020, 11:49 AM
Post: #4793
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a Dell P992 and a Gtx 1070. I can set "standard" resolutions just fine, but my desired res of 1512x1134@90hz won't work unless I set it through the nvidia panel. I have reset the driver, restarted my pc, and ddu'd my drivers to reinstall them.

[Image: unknown.png]

[Image: unknown.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2020, 12:18 PM
Post: #4794
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-21-2020 11:49 AM)Pspboy17 Wrote:  I have a Dell P992 and a Gtx 1070. I can set "standard" resolutions just fine, but my desired res of 1512x1134@90hz won't work unless I set it through the nvidia panel. I have reset the driver, restarted my pc, and ddu'd my drivers to reinstall them.
How are you connecting the monitor? The GTX 1070 shouldn't have VGA, so are you using some sort of adapter? There might be a pixel clock limit with the adapter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2020, 01:21 PM
Post: #4795
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I'm using this adapter. I think you're right. Here's the resolution in nvidia control panel, where it does apply and work properly.

[Image: unknown.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2020, 02:05 PM
Post: #4796
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-21-2020 01:21 PM)Pspboy17 Wrote:  I'm using this adapter. I think you're right. Here's the resolution in nvidia control panel, where it does apply and work properly.
Sometimes the driver applies pixel clock limits to EDID overrides but not the NVIDIA control panel. I can't do anything about that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2020, 02:24 PM
Post: #4797
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Well I'll mess around with the pixel clock patcher later. Thanks for your help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-23-2020, 03:04 PM
Post: #4798
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, I'm setting up the new 3440x1440p 144Hz LG 34GN850-B and I'd like to set the same refresh rate of my secondary 144Hz 1920x1080 monitor with a custom resolution so my GPU will not have high clocks in idle, but when I try to edit the single detailed resolution available (also I don't know why it's 99Hz) I'm not able to set 144Hz. I've already set the right refresh rate in the Nvidia Control Panel and in Windows settings. Am I doing something wrong?
Thanks!

[Image: VoDAZvm.jpg]
[Image: CSrd6et.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-23-2020, 03:53 PM
Post: #4799
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-23-2020 03:04 PM)Chuck Wrote:  Hi, I'm setting up the new 3440x1440p 144Hz LG 34GN850-B and I'd like to set the same refresh rate of my secondary 144Hz 1920x1080 monitor with a custom resolution so my GPU will not have high clocks in idle, but when I try to edit the single detailed resolution available (also I don't know why it's 99Hz) I'm not able to set 144Hz. I've already set the right refresh rate in the Nvidia Control Panel and in Windows settings. Am I doing something wrong?
Pixel clocks beyond 655.35 MHz need to be defined in a DisplayID extension block, which is probably what the "Default extension block" is. For some reason NVIDIA's driver will not read more than one extension block. Secondly, I'm not sure you can avoid high idle clocks with mismatched resolutions because there's no way to synchronize the monitors without making the totals the same, which would be too much for the 1920x1080 monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-23-2020, 04:15 PM
Post: #4800
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-23-2020 03:53 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-23-2020 03:04 PM)Chuck Wrote:  Hi, I'm setting up the new 3440x1440p 144Hz LG 34GN850-B and I'd like to set the same refresh rate of my secondary 144Hz 1920x1080 monitor with a custom resolution so my GPU will not have high clocks in idle, but when I try to edit the single detailed resolution available (also I don't know why it's 99Hz) I'm not able to set 144Hz. I've already set the right refresh rate in the Nvidia Control Panel and in Windows settings. Am I doing something wrong?
Pixel clocks beyond 655.35 MHz need to be defined in a DisplayID extension block, which is probably what the "Default extension block" is. For some reason NVIDIA's driver will not read more than one extension block. Secondly, I'm not sure you can avoid high idle clocks with mismatched resolutions because there's no way to synchronize the monitors without making the totals the same, which would be too much for the 1920x1080 monitor.


I would have imagined that I could not have solved this way. Do you know if there's a way to set my primary monitor to 120Hz even if there are only 60, 100 and 144Hz options in the Nvidia Control Panel? Can I do this with CRU?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 37 Guest(s)