Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-29-2021, 10:53 PM
Post: #6041
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
having trouble doing display scaling after doing every step correctly


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
           
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2021, 02:37 AM
Post: #6042
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-29-2021 10:53 PM)kenhm51 Wrote:  having trouble doing display scaling after doing every step correctly
Display scaling for what resolution? After doing what steps? I have no idea what you're trying to do. You also need to read the part about extension blocks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2021, 02:38 AM
Post: #6043
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-28-2021 01:59 PM)cide Wrote:  Hello
Custom any résolution or refresh rate nothing works

have used cru for long time now and its the first time have this problème like if cru no apply my setting

Have g7 1080ti on display port i don't inderstand why cru don't work
What are you trying to do? Is there a default extension block?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2021, 02:38 AM
Post: #6044
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-28-2021 09:51 AM)senseijus Wrote:  Hello I was messing with CRU and after resetting all settings to default every resolution has option for 144hz except 1920x1080 which highest refresh rate is 120 [Image: VfQyB28.png] [Image: SR08LbV.png]
Is this after running reset-all.exe? Did you add 1920x1080 @ 144 Hz as a custom resolution using the NVIDIA control panel? If so, it would be listed separately under custom resolutions. If not, then there's a driver bug because the only reason 144 Hz exists for the lower resolutions is because it exists at the native resolution, so the driver is recognizing the resolution but not listing it properly. Does it appear in the Windows display settings?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2021, 02:38 AM
Post: #6045
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-29-2021 09:24 AM)heaae Wrote:  Just wanted to add an interesting thing I noticed, that solved my problems with "randomly not applied settings": for unknown reasons my gaming laptop ASUS GL703GS with GTX1070 8GB (and disabled iGPU) creates a NEW screen ID whenever you resume the laptop re-opening lid... In short I needed to apply settings to BOTH screens IDs, and this solved the issue for me.
Weird.... but I hope it could be a useful case study for someone else.

P.S.
I recently added also an external monitor (miniDP -> DP into the monitor) and it does the same there: 2 screens ID for the external monitor too after resume from sleep... Again, applying settings to both these IDs solved the issue.
That's an odd problem because the "UID0" entry is for the Microsoft Basic Display Adapter driver, which shouldn't be used for anything because that driver doesn't support EDID overrides. I wonder if it's because the integrated GPU is disabled.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-03-2021, 02:20 PM
Post: #6046
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2021 02:37 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-29-2021 10:53 PM)kenhm51 Wrote:  having trouble doing display scaling after doing every step correctly
Display scaling for what resolution? After doing what steps? I have no idea what you're trying to do. You also need to read the part about extension blocks.

all the steps works on my g7 but not my asus monitor tried varieties of ways and always come to step one on rinse and repeating. i have gone through multiple videos in the pass and have look at the whole extension block thing. it does not register a resolution
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-03-2021, 04:33 PM
Post: #6047
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-03-2021 02:20 PM)kenhm51 Wrote:  all the steps works on my g7 but not my asus monitor tried varieties of ways and always come to step one on rinse and repeating. i have gone through multiple videos in the pass and have look at the whole extension block thing. it does not register a resolution
That doesn't tell me anything.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2021, 02:13 PM
Post: #6048
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-03-2021 02:20 PM)kenhm51 Wrote:  
(09-01-2021 02:37 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-29-2021 10:53 PM)kenhm51 Wrote:  having trouble doing display scaling after doing every step correctly
Display scaling for what resolution? After doing what steps? I have no idea what you're trying to do. You also need to read the part about extension blocks.

all the steps works on my g7 but not my asus monitor tried varieties of ways and always come to step one on rinse and repeating. i have gone through multiple videos in the pass and have look at the whole extension block thing. it does not register a resolution

I'm trying to play on stretch resolution anything like 1728x1080 1756x1080 1600x1080 1440x 1080 1444x1080.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2021, 03:48 PM
Post: #6049
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,

First, thank you very much for your work.
I don't know if this has been already dealt with, but I didn't find this exact issue while googling. Using CRU on an intel cpu+igpu laptop (UHD 620) to create custom resolution works fine for 48hz for me. However, when I try to create 47.952hz to watch 23.976fps movies, it just shows up as 48p (just like 48hz) in intel graphics center and is in fact really a 48hz setting (can see with mpc hc and madvr). I have tried to disable the 48hz custom resolution, keeping only the 47.952hz one, but it acts the same. I have also tried different timing presets (automatic pc, exact) but none of them helped.
Is it expected, is there any way to troubleshoot the problem?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2021, 09:45 PM
Post: #6050
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-04-2021 03:48 PM)moutarde Wrote:  I don't know if this has been already dealt with, but I didn't find this exact issue while googling. Using CRU on an intel cpu+igpu laptop (UHD 620) to create custom resolution works fine for 48hz for me. However, when I try to create 47.952hz to watch 23.976fps movies, it just shows up as 48p (just like 48hz) in intel graphics center and is in fact really a 48hz setting (can see with mpc hc and madvr). I have tried to disable the 48hz custom resolution, keeping only the 47.952hz one, but it acts the same. I have also tried different timing presets (automatic pc, exact) but none of them helped.
Is it expected, is there any way to troubleshoot the problem?
Windows will list both as 48 Hz, so you can't have both at the same time, but there should be no issues with fractional refresh rates. Try rebooting instead of restarting the driver to make sure it's applying correctly, and try using this with Chrome to check: https://www.displayhz.com/

If it's still not showing the correct refresh rate, then the driver is doing something strange. Try another refresh rate like 55.1 Hz to test.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 55 Guest(s)