Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-15-2023, 09:25 PM (Last edited: 09-15-2023, 10:37 PM by AntiGod)
Post: #7641
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
[EDIT] - I was just able to successfully remove the DCI 4K resolution by first switching my display resolution to 1080p/60Hz before resetting the graphics driver. Probably just switching to 3840p/60Hz would have been sufficient. I don't think I had to do this previously.

I have an LG C1 and was previous connecting my 3080GPU directly to the TV. I had no issues removing 4096 resolutions or doing any other common task with CRU.

Recently I am running my PC through an Denon X3800H 40gbps AVR. Now that CRU recognizes the Denon AVR as my "display" and doesn't directly see the LG C1 EDID at all, I can not seem to do this without losing signal completely until I reset back to default.

I can't figure out what I need to do to successfully remove the 4096 resolutions. I am forced to use Display scaling now rather than GPU scaling, because my Windows Active resolution is stuck at 4096x2160 even when the Display Resolution is set to 3840x2160. This results in 3840 Display res being letterboxed like 4096 should be, and 4096 res fills the screen (obviously not correctly scaled). This is with GPU scaling/No scaling.

Display scaling/No scaling scales properly, but not GPU. It's hard to troubleshoot this because besides the additional variables in the chain, so few people have HDMI 2.1 receivers with PCs attached I can't find any info about is. I need to either force Windows 11 to set the correct Active resolution or remove 4096 as an option altogether but am coming up empty.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2023, 10:49 AM
Post: #7642
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-15-2023 09:25 PM)AntiGod Wrote:  [EDIT] - I was just able to successfully remove the DCI 4K resolution by first switching my display resolution to 1080p/60Hz before resetting the graphics driver. Probably just switching to 3840p/60Hz would have been sufficient. I don't think I had to do this previously.

I have an LG C1 and was previous connecting my 3080GPU directly to the TV. I had no issues removing 4096 resolutions or doing any other common task with CRU.

Recently I am running my PC through an Denon X3800H 40gbps AVR. Now that CRU recognizes the Denon AVR as my "display" and doesn't directly see the LG C1 EDID at all, I can not seem to do this without losing signal completely until I reset back to default.
Did you only lose signal or did the graphics driver crash the system?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2023, 10:49 AM
Post: #7643
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-15-2023 10:42 AM)Espionage724 Wrote:  I have Intel UHD 630 on a laptop (single GPU), and an Acer S271HL monitor connected via HDMI. On Windows 10 21H2 if I create an Automatic resolution of 1080p (native res) at 75Hz, after a while while suspended or seemingly on wake-up the monitor disconnects and comes back at 60Hz.

https://i.imgur.com/Qp7KfHa.png

The only thing I've done in CRU is open it, add an Automatic PC resolution, changed the refresh rate, and set the new 75Hz resolution above the 60Hz one.
This is an Intel graphics driver bug that you should report to them. Running restart.exe manually after waking should get back the correct resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-21-2023, 05:28 PM (Last edited: 09-21-2023, 05:50 PM by sofakng)
Post: #7644
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I've just purchased an HDMI dummy plug and a DisplayPort dummy plug.

However, when I copy the EDID from my monitor (3440x1440@160) both plugs refuse to show that resolution even though it's the exact same EDID.

I think the dummy plugs only contain a simple I2C EEPROM so is there something else that is needed for the GPU to allow these higher resolutions?

I've also attached the EDID if that helps?

EDIT: I've also run restart-all.exe, reset64.exe, rebooted, etc. They all seem to work but these higher resolutions don't show up. I've also tried adding my macOS resolutions (3456x2160@120) but it refuses to show up as well.


Attached File(s)
.bin  dummy.bin (Size: 384 bytes / Downloads: 87)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2023, 05:52 PM
Post: #7645
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-21-2023 05:28 PM)sofakng Wrote:  I've just purchased an HDMI dummy plug and a DisplayPort dummy plug.

However, when I copy the EDID from my monitor (3440x1440@160) both plugs refuse to show that resolution even though it's the exact same EDID.

I think the dummy plugs only contain a simple I2C EEPROM so is there something else that is needed for the GPU to allow these higher resolutions?

I've also attached the EDID if that helps?

EDIT: I've also run restart-all.exe, reset64.exe, rebooted, etc. They all seem to work but these higher resolutions don't show up. I've also tried adding my macOS resolutions (3456x2160@120) but it refuses to show up as well.
Pixel clock limits still apply to dummy plugs. DisplayPort dummy plugs tend to be just passive DisplayPort to single-link DVI adapters internally, so they're limited to 165 MHz. HDMI dummy plugs should support up to 600 MHz pixel clock if you include both the HDMI and HDMI 2.x data blocks, but that's still not enough for 3440x1440 @ 160 Hz. You'd have to use a lower refresh rate.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2023, 04:25 AM
Post: #7646
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, I have noticed I cannot change Peak brightness in Windows 11 with CRU (Max luminance) if I have an ICC advanced color profile activated in Color Management. Is this to be expected?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2023, 03:09 PM (Last edited: 09-23-2023, 03:12 PM by sofakng)
Post: #7647
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-22-2023 05:52 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Pixel clock limits still apply to dummy plugs. DisplayPort dummy plugs tend to be just passive DisplayPort to single-link DVI adapters internally, so they're limited to 165 MHz. HDMI dummy plugs should support up to 600 MHz pixel clock if you include both the HDMI and HDMI 2.x data blocks, but that's still not enough for 3440x1440 @ 160 Hz. You'd have to use a lower refresh rate.
Why does the pixel clock limit apply to a dummy plug? Can't we just define anything and pretend it's an HDMI 2.1 plug with much higher limits?

Why would an HDMI dummy plug have a different limit than an actual HDMI 2.1 display?

Doesn't LG OLEDs define 4K120 resolutions in the EDID?

(thanks so much for helping!!)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2023, 03:31 PM
Post: #7648
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-23-2023 03:09 PM)sofakng Wrote:  Why does the pixel clock limit apply to a dummy plug? Can't we just define anything and pretend it's an HDMI 2.1 plug with much higher limits?

Why would an HDMI dummy plug have a different limit than an actual HDMI 2.1 display?

Doesn't LG OLEDs define 4K120 resolutions in the EDID?

(thanks so much for helping!!)
HDMI 2.1 requires special back and forth communication that a dummy plug might not support. I don't remember if HDMI 2.0 does as well, but there are HDMI 2.0 plugs on the market. If you can only get up to 340 MHz pixel clock, then it doesn't support HDMI 2.0.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2023, 03:33 PM
Post: #7649
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-23-2023 04:25 AM)JasonMT Wrote:  Hi, I have noticed I cannot change Peak brightness in Windows 11 with CRU (Max luminance) if I have an ICC advanced color profile activated in Color Management. Is this to be expected?
I wouldn't know. That sounds like either a Windows limitation, or maybe something needs to be in the color profile. I wouldn't think the color profile should matter though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2023, 06:14 PM (Last edited: 09-23-2023, 06:14 PM by sofakng)
Post: #7650
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-23-2023 03:31 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  HDMI 2.1 requires special back and forth communication that a dummy plug might not support. I don't remember if HDMI 2.0 does as well, but there are HDMI 2.0 plugs on the market. If you can only get up to 340 MHz pixel clock, then it doesn't support HDMI 2.0.
Do you have any suggested resources I can use to research this?

I’d love to be able to build a dongle for people that supports 4K/120 HDR without needing anything else.

I’ve ordered a CAT24C208 EEPROM which supports segment pointers so it should support 512 byte EDID.

However it sounds like I need to figure out to trick the source into allowing higher pixel clocks…
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 99 Guest(s)