Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
02-07-2024, 07:41 PM (Last edited: 02-08-2024, 07:06 AM by rix81)
Post: #7951
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi I'm using DP>HDMI adapter with Intel UHD (intel N100 integrated graphics)
The problem that when using such adapters, Intel driver, for unknown reason, hides color mode settings. It works in RGB mode by default, how can I switch to YCbCr 4:4:4? Very important to me.
I guess that I need to create custom EDID file, where all modes except YCbCr 4:4:4 are deleted. Will CRU help with this? How is it possible to do it?

thanks beforehand
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2024, 06:05 AM (Last edited: 02-08-2024, 06:12 AM by Fallenguard)
Post: #7952
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello everybody! I need help setting up 3-x monitors via nvidia surround in 10320 by 1440 at 100 Hz resolution. The problem is that nvidia surround does not see this resolution, although all three monitors support it.
1 Samsung monitor with C34H89X(100 Hz)
2 Huawei ZQE-CBA monitor (165Hz)
3 MSI MAG34CQPV monitor(100 Hz)

I saw a video where I was able to remove the extra 4k resolutions through CRU so that they would not be detected in nvidia surround. Will this program be able to synchronize all monitors?

[Image: Screenshot-2024-02-08-150228.png]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-02-08-150241.png]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-02-08-150259.png]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-02-08-150313.png]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-02-08-150320.png]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-02-08-150328.png]

[Image: Screenshot-2024-02-08-150333.png]

https://i.postimg.cc/j2LHq3TV/Screenshot...150747.png
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-09-2024, 02:46 AM
Post: #7953
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-08-2024 06:05 AM)Fallenguard Wrote:  Hello everybody! I need help setting up 3-x monitors via nvidia surround in 10320 by 1440 at 100 Hz resolution. The problem is that nvidia surround does not see this resolution, although all three monitors support it.
1 Samsung monitor with C34H89X(100 Hz)
2 Huawei ZQE-CBA monitor (165Hz)
3 MSI MAG34CQPV monitor(100 Hz)

I saw a video where I was able to remove the extra 4k resolutions through CRU so that they would not be detected in nvidia surround. Will this program be able to synchronize all monitors?
You need to edit the detailed resolution for 3440x1440 @ 100 Hz on all three monitors and make sure the timing parameters and frequencies match exactly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-09-2024, 02:46 AM
Post: #7954
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-07-2024 07:41 PM)rix81 Wrote:  Hi I'm using DP>HDMI adapter with Intel UHD (intel N100 integrated graphics)
The problem that when using such adapters, Intel driver, for unknown reason, hides color mode settings. It works in RGB mode by default, how can I switch to YCbCr 4:4:4? Very important to me.
I guess that I need to create custom EDID file, where all modes except YCbCr 4:4:4 are deleted. Will CRU help with this? How is it possible to do it?
RGB is always available and can't be disabled. Is it an active adapter? Export a file and post it here so I can see the EDID.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-09-2024, 02:46 AM
Post: #7955
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-07-2024 05:24 PM)masneb Wrote:  Any idea what would cause a PG248QP to show basically no data?
NVIDIA's driver is full of stupid problems. There is a way to read the extension blocks, but NVIDIA's driver will ignore any changes for monitors with this problem anyway.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2024, 09:00 AM (Last edited: 02-11-2024, 03:18 PM by rix81)
Post: #7956
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-09-2024 02:46 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-07-2024 07:41 PM)rix81 Wrote:  Hi I'm using DP>HDMI adapter with Intel UHD (intel N100 integrated graphics)
The problem that when using such adapters, Intel driver, for unknown reason, hides color mode settings. It works in RGB mode by default, how can I switch to YCbCr 4:4:4? Very important to me.
I guess that I need to create custom EDID file, where all modes except YCbCr 4:4:4 are deleted. Will CRU help with this? How is it possible to do it?
RGB is always available and can't be disabled. Is it an active adapter? Export a file and post it here so I can see the EDID.
Hi ToastyX, here's my edid . Would highly appreciate if you help me, I was messing with this problem so long. Sometimes Intel driver starts to output 4:2:0 and I have no controls to change it, need to find a way to disable all modes except YCbCr4:4:4 , thank you beforehand. Need 4:4:4 at least in 3840×2160@23.9 mode, I don't highly care about the other modes. Also no hdr is necessary.
My DP-HDMI adapter is ugreen 4k@60, don't know, it's warm when it's working, so probably it means it's active, I suppose.


Attached File(s)
.zip  000.zip (Size: 338 bytes / Downloads: 13)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2024, 01:06 PM
Post: #7957
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-09-2024 02:46 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-08-2024 06:05 AM)Fallenguard Wrote:  Hello everybody! I need help setting up 3-x monitors via nvidia surround in 10320 by 1440 at 100 Hz resolution. The problem is that nvidia surround does not see this resolution, although all three monitors support it.
1 Samsung monitor with C34H89X(100 Hz)
2 Huawei ZQE-CBA monitor (165Hz)
3 MSI MAG34CQPV monitor(100 Hz)

I saw a video where I was able to remove the extra 4k resolutions through CRU so that they would not be detected in nvidia surround. Will this program be able to synchronize all monitors?
You need to edit the detailed resolution for 3440x1440 @ 100 Hz on all three monitors and make sure the timing parameters and frequencies match exactly.
It's working! Thank you very much! I just didn't know where to enter the screen resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-12-2024, 01:48 PM
Post: #7958
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-07-2024 12:37 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-06-2024 01:21 PM)SyphonFilter Wrote:  So what exactly do I need to do to make sure I leave out 2 bytes and where exactly? Thanks I am complete new to this stuff.
PS, going from PC directly to C9 works fine and sets the brightness to exactly 790 but going through the AVR does nothing.
Just delete something you don't need such as two TV resolutions.
You rock! my man. Deleting a few random resolutions emptied 4 bytes and that in fact let the AVR receive the CRU info. and set it up nice and neat. Only bummer is Denon AVRs cant do their info. or volume overlay on PC HDMI, which I hate and think it defeats the purpose of it all so I might stick to connecting PC directly to TV. Thanks though, you are wealth of knowledge.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-12-2024, 10:25 PM (Last edited: 02-12-2024, 11:23 PM by speedstyle)
Post: #7959
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a Vega 56 (HDMI 2.0b) and a TV supporting 4k120 (over HDMI 2.1). On older AMD drivers (until late 2020) I could select 4k120 in Windows, and it would switch to 8bpc YCbCr 4:2:0. I think this was a bug, as 2.1 had only recently come out, and it would take the TV's report of 4k120 without realizing it couldn't do it with HDMI 2.0. On more recent driver versions this was 'fixed' and I can only select 4k60.

Is there any way to re-enable 4k120 at 4:2:0? By adding a resolution somewhere (anything over 600MHz gets ignored), by spoofing the supported pixel clock (CRU can only change the 'monitor-reported' max, AMD PCP doesn't seem to handle the 600MHz limit), by saying it supports 5bpc or something? Aren't there TVs that *only* support YUV/YCbCr, where it would be nonsensical to interpret it as requiring timing+resolution*24 Hz by default?

I searched around this thread for similar queries, but the answer is usually that HDMI 2.0 just doesn't support this. So it's frustrating that I *know* it would work, even now if I download an old driver it works fine (other than some applications refusing to run), but I can't tell it to do it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-14-2024, 03:09 AM
Post: #7960
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(02-12-2024 10:25 PM)speedstyle Wrote:  I have a Vega 56 (HDMI 2.0b) and a TV supporting 4k120 (over HDMI 2.1). On older AMD drivers (until late 2020) I could select 4k120 in Windows, and it would switch to 8bpc YCbCr 4:2:0. I think this was a bug, as 2.1 had only recently come out, and it would take the TV's report of 4k120 without realizing it couldn't do it with HDMI 2.0. On more recent driver versions this was 'fixed' and I can only select 4k60.

Is there any way to re-enable 4k120 at 4:2:0? By adding a resolution somewhere (anything over 600MHz gets ignored), by spoofing the supported pixel clock (CRU can only change the 'monitor-reported' max, AMD PCP doesn't seem to handle the 600MHz limit), by saying it supports 5bpc or something? Aren't there TVs that *only* support YUV/YCbCr, where it would be nonsensical to interpret it as requiring timing+resolution*24 Hz by default?

I searched around this thread for similar queries, but the answer is usually that HDMI 2.0 just doesn't support this. So it's frustrating that I *know* it would work, even now if I download an old driver it works fine (other than some applications refusing to run), but I can't tell it to do it.
HDMI 2.0 has enough bandwidth for 3840x2160 @ 120 Hz with YCbCr 4:2:0. Even though this wasn't officially specified until HDMI 2.1, I don't see anything in the HDMI 2.0 specification that forbids this, so I would say this is an AMD driver bug or an intentional limitation for some reason. If you export a file and post it here, I can check if YCbCr 4:2:0 support is defined correctly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 56 Guest(s)