Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
06-29-2013, 06:06 PM (This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 06:07 PM by ToastyX.)
Post: #11
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(06-29-2013 05:18 PM)victor.sic Wrote:  Are the brightness options supposed to have any effect directly to the user's desktop or only in game screen?
Yes, it should work on the desktop. The only reason it wouldn't work is if the strobed status doesn't match the mode the monitor is in.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 06:42 PM
Post: #12
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
is there any chance to get this working on windows xp proffessional ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 07:49 PM
Post: #13
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
The main program might work in XP (haven't tested), but the method the setup program uses to install refresh rates doesn't work in XP. I chose that method because it gives complete control over what refresh rates are available for games, and it works for both AMD/ATI and NVIDIA. It might be possible to install the refresh rates in XP using vendor-specific methods like the NVIDIA control panel does, but getting games to use them might be a problem.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 07:58 PM
Post: #14
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
thanks for the quick reply
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 10:26 PM (This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 10:28 PM by Dubious Squirrel.)
Post: #15
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Tested successfully on Win8 + VG278HE. Much easier than the manual method, thanks for posting Toasty and props to whoever wrote it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 11:26 PM (This post was last modified: 06-29-2013 11:40 PM by MissWatson.)
Post: #16
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
I use windows 8 x64 and vg248qe as my monitor, I have a 7850 GPU.
This is my first experience with lightboost, but I can't seem to get it working, my screen is just kinda tinted brown.

Code:
[2013-06-29 19:18:07.680] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxx.dll") = ERROR 126
[2013-06-29 19:18:07.682] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxy.dll") = SUCCESS
[2013-06-29 19:18:07.689] LOAD(AMD): ADL_Main_Control_Create() = SUCCESS
[2013-06-29 19:18:07.689] LOAD(NVIDIA): NvAPI_Initialize() = ERROR -2
[2013-06-29 19:18:07.902] INIT(AMD, 0, 6): 3D = TRUE
[2013-06-29 19:18:08.119] INIT(AMD, 1, 4): 3D = ERROR

Seems to load, I restarted and everything, but it just looks/feels the same as no lightboost, I tried every single brightness level of lightboost. Also, reinitializing the displays do nothing.

Also, what does the different levels of brightness for lightboost do? Or is it just the brightness?

Thanks in advance, I appreciate this
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-29-2013, 11:33 PM
Post: #17
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Does this work with every AMD card or are there other requirements besides getting enough fps? So, would this work with my old 5770?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-30-2013, 12:36 AM
Post: #18
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(06-29-2013 11:26 PM)MissWatson Wrote:  Seems to load, I restarted and everything, but it just looks/feels the same as no lightboost, I tried every single brightness level of lightboost. Also, reinitializing the displays do nothing.

Also, what does the different levels of brightness for lightboost do? Or is it just the brightness?
The log shows one monitor is already initialized. If the monitor's menu says "3D-Mode" in the corner, then LightBoost is working. If Strobelight's menu says "Brightness (strobed)" and the brightness settings work, then LightBoost is definitely working because it uses a different command that only works when LightBoost is enabled. It controls the strobe length, which affects the brightness. Lower brightness has shorter strobes, which increases motion clarity.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-30-2013, 12:55 AM
Post: #19
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(06-29-2013 11:33 PM)sole Wrote:  Does this work with every AMD card or are there other requirements besides getting enough fps? So, would this work with my old 5770?
It should work with any AMD card, but I can't be sure unless people test it. I just tried it with a 5670 and it works, so the 5770 will probably work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-30-2013, 02:05 AM
Post: #20
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(06-30-2013 12:36 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(06-29-2013 11:26 PM)MissWatson Wrote:  Seems to load, I restarted and everything, but it just looks/feels the same as no lightboost, I tried every single brightness level of lightboost. Also, reinitializing the displays do nothing.

Also, what does the different levels of brightness for lightboost do? Or is it just the brightness?
The log shows one monitor is already initialized. If the monitor's menu says "3D-Mode" in the corner, then LightBoost is working. If Strobelight's menu says "Brightness (strobed)" and the brightness settings work, then LightBoost is definitely working because it uses a different command that only works when LightBoost is enabled. It controls the strobe length, which affects the brightness. Lower brightness has shorter strobes, which increases motion clarity.

So you're saying that my eyes just don't see the difference between lightboost vs non-lightboost?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)