Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-28-2014, 10:43 PM
Post: #641
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-28-2014 08:33 PM)lynx74 Wrote:  Which timings should i test with a Panasonic ST30 in 1920x1080 @47.952 Hz ?

I tried all 3 Automatic options (LCD until CRT) and i got a black screen.
I'm pretty sure my Panasonic Plasma can take 48Hz but it's quite long to search timings because of the necessary reboot.
Have you tried clicking "Add..." and just changing the refresh rate? If that doesn't work, then it might not support 48 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-30-2014, 04:28 PM (Last edited: 01-30-2014, 05:03 PM by aufkrawall)
Post: #642
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-26-2014 04:25 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-25-2014 08:48 PM)aufkrawall Wrote:  But since I have installed Windows 7, I'm having an annoying issue.
I am on a GTX 670 SLI and I used CRU to force the display to 75Hz (unchecked include extension block).
After a restart the display runs with 75Hz, but Windows still offers just 60Hz in the display settings. Nvidia Control Panel reports 75Hz.
Anything I can do about it?

That sounds like the NVIDIA driver bug mentioned in the main post:

(09-07-2012 09:06 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Note for NVIDIA users: GeForce Experience is known to cause issues with EDID overrides such as resolutions being listed in the NVIDIA control panel but not in the Windows screen resolution settings. Either uninstall "NVIDIA GeForce Experience" through the Windows control panel, or install the NVIDIA driver without GeForce Experience by using the custom install option.

Alternatively, if you want to use GeForce Experience, enable the extension block and import this file: https://www.monitortests.com/blank-extension.dat
Odd, now I'm having a similar problem with AMD (r9 290, Catalyst 13.12) on Windows 8.1.
Windows reports 75Hz after a restart but if I click "Ok", it reinitializes the resolution. madVR fails to enter fullscreen exclusive mode unless I did the procedure described above.

Edit: Ah, the display isn't running with 75Hz after a reboot. Just after that "reinitialisation". But it's annoying to do this every time after a restart.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 06:55 PM
Post: #643
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
AMD's driver has a bug with R9 290 cards on Windows 8.1, but I'm not sure exactly what happens because I don't have that setup. Are you saying 75 Hz is listed in the Windows screen resolution settings but it's actually running at 60 Hz until you reapply it? Someone else said they had to click the "Detect" button.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 08:14 PM
Post: #644
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi,

I try to find out if we can "customize" the "name" of a detailed resolution.

Indeed, I try to achieve perfect timing for using madvr renderer in the best condition possible when I look Blu-ray. And as we can have 23.976 fps or 24 fps movies, I try to create two quite near resolutions => 47.952hz and 48hz (my projector do not accept directly 23.976 and 24 hz frequencies).

With the standard AMD profile for HD screen, by default two are defined to manage such cases=> 23hz (for 23.976hz) and 24hz. But when I create with CRU 47.952hz and 48hz frequencies, only one appears in the Catalyst list, the first one in terms of priorities. I think it is because for Catalyst, the both have the same name (48hz).

Do you think that a solution is possible to manage this two very nears frequencies with CRU?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 08:22 PM
Post: #645
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Is it possible to override EDID "Minimum Vertical Frequency" to 30Hz instead of 23Hz in order to prevent Windows to choose 24Hz in a 3D game (actually limited to 24Hz) ? Or, like in Nvidia panel, to create a custom resolution with official frequency 24Hz but physically equal to 30Hz ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 08:24 PM
Post: #646
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-31-2014 08:14 PM)herlock.1978 Wrote:  Do you think that a solution is possible to manage this two very nears frequencies with CRU?
Unfortunately, there's no way to control that with EDID overrides. If the projector can handle 72 Hz, you can use 72 Hz for one and 48 Hz for the other. The other option is to use a slightly different resolution for each one, and make sure GPU scaling is off.

23/24 Hz is a special case that only applies to TV resolutions, and there's no 48 Hz standard.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 08:24 PM (Last edited: 01-31-2014, 08:25 PM by lynx74)
Post: #647
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-28-2014 10:43 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-28-2014 08:33 PM)lynx74 Wrote:  Which timings should i test with a Panasonic ST30 in 1920x1080 @47.952 Hz ?

I tried all 3 Automatic options (LCD until CRT) and i got a black screen.
I'm pretty sure my Panasonic Plasma can take 48Hz but it's quite long to search timings because of the necessary reboot.
Have you tried clicking "Add..." and just changing the refresh rate? If that doesn't work, then it might not support 48 Hz.

I tried and finally it works... i had to adjust "total lines" between a small range (2630 to 2650). Out of this small range, it's a black screen.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 08:39 PM
Post: #648
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-31-2014 08:24 PM)lynx74 Wrote:  I tried and finally it works... i had to adjust "total lines" between a small range (2630 to 2650). Out of this small range, it's a black screen.
That's interesting. That's the total for 50 Hz. Does 2750 work? That would be the total for 24 Hz.

(01-31-2014 08:22 PM)lynx74 Wrote:  Is it possible to override EDID "Minimum Vertical Frequency" to 30Hz instead of 23Hz in order to prevent Windows to choose 24Hz in a 3D game (actually limited to 24Hz) ? Or, like in Nvidia panel, to create a custom resolution with official frequency 24Hz but physically equal to 30Hz ?
I'm not sure if this is possible. I've found that information is usually ignored.

You can try creating an INF file. Here is an example of one: https://www.monitortests.com/catleap.zip

Change 2560,1440 to 1920,1080, and change 24.0 to 30.0. You can change the name to whatever you want.

Then install it using the device manager: right-click on the monitor -> Update Driver Software... -> Browse my computer for driver software -> Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer -> Have Disk... -> Browse for the .inf file -> OK -> Next -> Install this driver software anyway

If you're using Windows 8 or 8.1, you'll have to disable driver signature enforcement first: http://revryl.com/2013/08/06/install-unsigned-drivers/

I'm not sure if the INF file will actually have any effect though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 10:08 PM (Last edited: 01-31-2014, 10:08 PM by lynx74)
Post: #649
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thanks for your quick reply, as usual Smile
I will give you my test results

Thanks a lot for your (very very) great work !
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2014, 10:47 PM
Post: #650
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-31-2014 06:55 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  AMD's driver has a bug with R9 290 cards on Windows 8.1, but I'm not sure exactly what happens because I don't have that setup. Are you saying 75 Hz is listed in the Windows screen resolution settings but it's actually running at 60 Hz until you reapply it? Someone else said they had to click the "Detect" button.
Yes. 60Hz before opening Windows monitor refreshrate settings. Once I simply open it and close it with "Ok", it applies the 75Hz custom resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 36 Guest(s)