Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-06-2015, 10:24 PM
Post: #1541
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-06-2015 02:27 AM)Diego9000 Wrote:  Hello friends!
I would like some help.

This tool really helped me to add some missing resolutions for my screen but it isn't heling me get rid of others...

I have a 16:10 monitor.
It was lacking those two resolutions (which i added now)
1680x1050
1440x900

But it shows 16:9 resolutions like:
1920x1080
1680x900
1280x720

etc...

Any way to remove those?
The graphics driver automatically adds some lower resolutions as scaled resolutions. This shouldn't cause any problems if you're not using them. Are you using AMD or NVIDIA? Some resolutions are hard-coded into the driver and can't be removed, while others may be removed through the registry.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2015, 02:11 AM
Post: #1542
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-06-2015 10:24 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  The graphics driver automatically adds some lower resolutions as scaled resolutions. This shouldn't cause any problems if you're not using them. Are you using AMD or NVIDIA? Some resolutions are hard-coded into the driver and can't be removed, while others may be removed through the registry.

I'm with Nvidia, and it kinda causes problems... Black bars, huge ones since 16:10 is way bigger than 16:9...
Latest drivers for Windows 10
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2015, 04:37 AM
Post: #1543
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-07-2015 02:11 AM)Diego9000 Wrote:  I'm with Nvidia, and it kinda causes problems... Black bars, huge ones since 16:10 is way bigger than 16:9...
Latest drivers for Windows 10
This shouldn't be a problem if you're only using 16:10 resolutions. The other resolutions shouldn't affect 16:10 resolutions.

With NVIDIA, search the registry for NV_Modes and see if you can remove the resolutions that way.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2015, 10:03 AM
Post: #1544
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I've been struggling with this for an hour now, and finally fixed it. Whilst it should be 'easy' to get I think it might be worth a bump. Especially considering the many posts above me having issues.

If you upgraded to Windows 10, use AMD, and have issues, run reset-all.exe, reboot. Fixed all my problems, and everything is just dandy.

Catalyst wouldn't recognise resolutions other than 640*480, even when setting them in CRU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2015, 03:31 PM
Post: #1545
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-07-2015 04:37 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-07-2015 02:11 AM)Diego9000 Wrote:  I'm with Nvidia, and it kinda causes problems... Black bars, huge ones since 16:10 is way bigger than 16:9...
Latest drivers for Windows 10
This shouldn't be a problem if you're only using 16:10 resolutions. The other resolutions shouldn't affect 16:10 resolutions.

With NVIDIA, search the registry for NV_Modes and see if you can remove the resolutions that way.


Sometimes, even the 1280x800, a 16:10 resolution gets stretched as if it was 16:9 ... ._.

But thanks for the tip, i will look into that!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2015, 05:17 AM
Post: #1546
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Cool tool, and works well however the timing resets from automatic LCD standard back to manual everytime, so I cant do higher than 70 hz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2015, 05:46 AM
Post: #1547
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-11-2015 05:17 AM)swagm8 Wrote:  Cool tool, and works well however the timing resets from automatic LCD standard back to manual everytime, so I cant do higher than 70 hz
The dialog always opens in manual mode. The automatic options are simply calculators to help you fill in the values. The values should be saved. Manual mode should show the same values.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2015, 10:19 PM
Post: #1548
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hello, i'm trying to add a custom resolution for ingame but somehow i can't seem to get to show up.
first i just tried to add it as a normal detailed resolution, like this.
http://i.imgur.com/41LOaTu.jpg
then i deleted it again and added it as a detailed res in custom extension block
http://i.imgur.com/BauQh38.jpg

but that doesn't seem to work either. so what am i doing wrong?
also does the vertical total trick stay 1500 aswell for 1440x1080?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2015, 02:31 PM
Post: #1549
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
is there anyway to enable custom resolution in windows 10 ??


it seems doable only with driver 353.38 installed
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2015, 09:48 PM (Last edited: 08-14-2015, 08:23 AM by jdorje)
Post: #1550
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I can't get things working in windows 10, at all. I've tried reset-all, I've tried completely removing my display driver (DDU) and reinstalling it, I've even tried a fresh windows 10 install on a spare ssd.

My monitor: http://www.overclock.net/t/1442986/playi...stom-stuff

My GPU is a 280. CCC is 15.20-150715a-184226E.

In windows 8.1 I could easily toggle between 3840x2160@30 or 1920x1080@96.

What happens in windows 10:

1. The monitor runs fine at 3840x2160@30. It's actually noticeably less input lag than in windows 8.1, so I'm strongly resisting the temptation to downgrade back to 8.1.

2. If I turn off GPU scaling and change my resolution in CCC to 1920x1080@60, then I get a 1920x1080 desktop that is upscaled by the GPU and sent to the monitor as 3840x2160@30. So even before I have a custom resolution, AMD drivers are simply not working the way they're supposed to be. Anyone know how to get fix this? Because without that no custom resolution is going to be at all good. I've tried toggling GPU scaling on and back on again, and tried different scaling options even though scaling is disabled - nothing helps.

3. If I change resolution in CCC to 3840x2160@24, it works (I sometimes use this for videos as it seems marginally better than 30 hz when playing 24 fps content). Desktop remains normal and the monitor is receiving a 24 hz signal.

4. If I enter some games, they automatically put the resolution into either 1080i (which is really annoying) or 1080p. This is 60 hz which is, well, better than 30.

5. If I add a custom resolution via CRU, all hell breaks loose. Even with the screen set at 2160@30, the desktop appears to be downscaled to some ludicriously low setting then upscaled again. I actually need to try this more to see if anything has changed or if I can get a better idea of what's happening, so I'll edit that information in after I finish the post and test it out. Only by doing reset-all can a working desktop be restored.

5a. Edit: if I run CRU now, it says "Error: No displays found in the registry."

5b. Edit 2: If I run CRU on the fresh install, it does work - but I still can't run 1080@96 as it will simply upscale it and send a 2160@30 signal. So it appears the issue is not with CRU at all, but entirely with windows 10 and the AMD drivers/CCC.

6. Unrelated, but the drivers sometimes get confused on the resolution, even with the normal 2160@30 settings. The task bar will migrate a little bit up the screen and the start/windows menu even more.

I know this is a lot of issues I'm reporting and most of them have no relation at all to your CRU utility, but I'm approaching the point of desperation and seriously considering returning to windows 8. Any help would be appreciated.

Edit 3: After revisiting basically every possible fix already tried, I finally hit on the idea of making 1920x1080@96 the native resolution (got this idea from the OP where it says "Lower resolutions will be scaled up if GPU scaling is enabled, but higher resolutions won't be scaled down by the GPU."). This more or less works, in that it enables both 1080 and 2160 as non-scaled resolutions. In CRU I have 1080@96 as the top (default) detailed resolution, while 2160@30 is the second one. Will have to do some more playing around to see if this is sufficient.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 56 Guest(s)