Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-10-2016, 02:20 AM
Post: #1951
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-08-2016 08:29 PM)cratapos Wrote:  I solved it, the right refresh rate was 29 Htz I was not able to see it in windows Display settings It was on a drop down in Nvidia control panel. Question1 how to prevent windows to use 3840 X 2160 @ 30 Htz or to remove it from the list?
That's not right. The correct refresh rate is 30 Hz, and the same refresh rates should be available in both the Windows display settings and the NVIDIA control panel. The driver is doing something weird. 29 Hz is supposed to be an alias of 30 Hz, so they should behave the same. You can't remove 30 Hz because that will remove 29 Hz. Does the NVIDIA control panel list 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz under both HD and PC resolutions? If so, do they behave differently?

You might have to use CRU to override this. I would start by importing the hdmi-audio.dat and removing all the resolutions. Then add 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz as the first detailed resolution and 1920x1080 @ 60 Hz as the second detailed resolution, both using "LCD standard" timing. Then restart and see if that works. If not, delete 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz and edit the custom extension block. Edit the HDMI support data block and add 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz as an HDMI resolution. Then restart and see if that works. If not, then the driver is not handling this correctly with your GPU. The only other way to do this is to add a TV resolutions data block and add 3840x2160 @ 30 Hz in there. If that doesn't work, then I don't see a way to work around this problem.

(01-08-2016 08:29 PM)cratapos Wrote:  Question2 any setting in Nvidia CP to reduce computer's fan speed?
No, you have to use a third-party overclocking tool like MSI Afterburner or EVGA Precision.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2016, 02:22 AM
Post: #1952
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-08-2016 04:12 PM)MEW2K Wrote:  Since crimson I'm unable to downclock my gpu memory, they are running at 100% (1350mhz) at all time. Nothing has been changed besides the software listed below, exact same timings as the ones before the crimson update, and all of em downclocked the memory as intended. I have used DDU and reinstalled everything twice, suggestions?
Try raising the vertical total a little more than standard and see if that helps. For the QNIX/X-Star monitors: http://cdn.overclock.net/b/b6/b6eb5263_1...mings.jpeg
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2016, 02:59 AM
Post: #1953
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2016 07:19 PM)thigger Wrote:  Has anyone managed to use this to make an old AMD card (specifically a 4850) output sound over its DVI port using a normal DVI-HDMI adapter?
I don't know the technical details of how AMD implemented this, so I don't know if there's a way around it. It might be a hardware limitation.

(01-07-2016 07:19 PM)thigger Wrote:  I gather the 'official' adapter has an EDID chip which the card recognises so it will output sound; I don't have the adapter and they're difficult to get hold of (it appears most of the 'ATI' adapters on eBay are just standard DVI-HDMI adapters) - my card has an HDMI output but always claims that the cable is disconnected.
These adapters should work:

Amazon: HIS HHDMI4071 DVI/HDMI Adapter for ATI Radeon HD 3000 and 4000 Series
eBay: Genuine ATi Radeon DVI-D 24 to HDMI with Audio Adapter For 3000 4000 5000 Series

The eBay one is out of stock at the moment but should be available next month according to the listing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2016, 05:16 AM
Post: #1954
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-07-2016 05:53 AM)nei Wrote:  I have understood that to be the graphical doing two jobs ...

1. Running the game
2. Scaling

Some delay will not?
No, scaling and rendering are handled separately.

(01-07-2016 05:53 AM)nei Wrote:  But if the monitor does scaling. the graphical can devote 100% to play.
It's possible for the monitor to add lag when scaling lower resolutions, although most don't.

(01-07-2016 05:53 AM)nei Wrote:  I would like to use, 1920x1080 @ 144hz when making normal use.
And 1024x768 @ 120 @ 128 @ 143 (the hz that can be used to play.)
Use "LCD reduced" for 1920x1080 @ 144 Hz and "LCD standard" for everything else.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2016, 05:20 AM
Post: #1955
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-08-2016 04:11 AM)falkentyne Wrote:  Actually there are a bunch of threads on overclock.net about GPU scaling adding mulitple frames of input lag on Nvidia cards when it's not supposed to, on some drivers. People were trying to force "Display no scaling" on Nvidia to avoid that.
It's nonsense. It's all based on one user's delusional posts (r0ach). Somehow he got it in his head that scaling adds lag, and now he has delusions of lag in places where it doesn't exist and paranoia about NVIDIA constantly messing with the scaling options. He doesn't seem to realize that the "Do not scale" option in the older drivers is actually the same as "GPU" + "No scaling" in the newer drivers, which uses the GPU to center lower resolutions. He was actually enabling GPU centering in the older drivers. He spread this nonsense all over the place and some people actually believe it. You should see this nonsense: http://www.overclock.net/t/1433882/gamin...c-hardware
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2016, 07:35 AM
Post: #1956
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I had my 60 Hz monitor overclocked to 75 Hz just fine over a straight HDMI cable. Today I changed it to be connected via a mini displayport to HDMI adapter, but when I try to add new refresh rates it doesn't work over 71 Hz. As you can see from my screenshot the resolution simply isn't recognised by Windows.

Previously when it was straight HDMI I could add any refresh rate I liked and it would appear on the list whether the monitor would actually support it or not. Am I missing something? I'm using the exact same settings as I was before.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2016, 08:43 PM
Post: #1957
Smile RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-10-2016 05:16 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-07-2016 05:53 AM)nei Wrote:  I have understood that to be the graphical doing two jobs ...

1. Running the game
2. Scaling

Some delay will not?
No, scaling and rendering are handled separately.

(01-07-2016 05:53 AM)nei Wrote:  But if the monitor does scaling. the graphical can devote 100% to play.
It's possible for the monitor to add lag when scaling lower resolutions, although most don't.

(01-07-2016 05:53 AM)nei Wrote:  I would like to use, 1920x1080 @ 144hz when making normal use.
And 1024x768 @ 120 @ 128 @ 143 (the hz that can be used to play.)
Use "LCD reduced" for 1920x1080 @ 144 Hz and "LCD standard" for everything else.

Ok, thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2016, 08:55 PM
Post: #1958
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-10-2016 02:59 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-07-2016 07:19 PM)thigger Wrote:  Has anyone managed to use this to make an old AMD card (specifically a 4850) output sound over its DVI port using a normal DVI-HDMI adapter?
I don't know the technical details of how AMD implemented this, so I don't know if there's a way around it. It might be a hardware limitation.
Thanks; I hoped it might be possible from looking at some references to HDMI audio in older cards in early posts in this thread. As I mentioned I think it uses EDID - but I guess it was a bit much to hope that Windows would be able to fool the card's internals!

I'll have a look for one of those adapters - I think the Chinese one ships to the UK. Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2016, 03:46 PM
Post: #1959
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-11-2016 07:35 AM)Larwood Wrote:  I had my 60 Hz monitor overclocked to 75 Hz just fine over a straight HDMI cable. Today I changed it to be connected via a mini displayport to HDMI adapter, but when I try to add new refresh rates it doesn't work over 71 Hz. As you can see from my screenshot the resolution simply isn't recognised by Windows.

Previously when it was straight HDMI I could add any refresh rate I liked and it would appear on the list whether the monitor would actually support it or not. Am I missing something? I'm using the exact same settings as I was before.
You're running into pixel clock limits. The main post has more information.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2016, 07:52 PM
Post: #1960
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I guess what I don't understand is why it wasn't an issue when I was just using an HDMI cable.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 45 Guest(s)