Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-09-2014, 11:27 AM
Post: #561
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi Toasty,

Can u please send me the new patch for AMD which includes 120HZ refresh rate?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2014, 02:21 PM (This post was last modified: 01-09-2014 02:33 PM by sickgamesentertainment.)
Post: #562
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
odd but good news, all three projectors worked in eyefinity in 3D, however at 60hz... permanently loosing sync with glasses but thats a good sign right?

Strangly enough, it did that after i reset all and applied either standard settings deleting all 60hz and leaving only 120hz resolutiobmbs in CRU and it also worked the same way using the file where titled 60hz.

i also noticed now that the glasses actually sync with one projector constantly but interfer and loose connections with the other two. So i guesd the DLP link is confused of having 3 screens... will wesa link help? I will need three emitters... omg.

I think that the club3D adapters are limitef bandwith, if i could get my hands on the certified dongles then i should be able to get 120hz 3D in eyefinity....

I know why the dlp loose connection, because the beamers overlap across eachother and eventhough the software hides that with blending for the human eyes, the dlp glasses still see triple the refreshrate on the center screen because left and right the picture is overlaping! For shizzle!!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2014, 11:07 PM
Post: #563
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-07-2013 09:27 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-07-2013 07:12 PM)JonnyRedHed Wrote:  So with this, I started out with adding in a new detailed 1080p@75hz entry into Custom Resolution Utility (CRU). Using the LCD reduced timing option.
Leaving the 'include extension block ticked', and then rebooted.

No entry in NV control panel for 75hz in the refresh drop down.
NVIDIA users must either uncheck "Include extension block" or import a custom extension block for custom resolutions to work.

(12-07-2013 07:12 PM)JonnyRedHed Wrote:  So following the last few forum pages I imported the hdmi.dat file, which then added two '**' next to the LG TV's entry. And rebooted, this time I had 75hz and it worked just fine... BUT, I had lost the LG TV's entry in the audio panel 'Playback devices' and therfore in Reclock also. I found this out hours later when sitting down to watch a movie. I assumed it was because of the 75hz entry messing with the EDID.
Audio support is defined in the extension block. You can include basic audio support by importing this extension block: https://www.monitortests.com/hdmi-audio.dat

(12-07-2013 07:12 PM)JonnyRedHed Wrote:  I did try deleting the 75hz entry from Custom Resolution Utility (CRU), and rebooted, but that didnt work, so I then ran the reset-all.exe which still did not work. So I stripped off the NV driver and then the HD audio and rebooted and re-installed. This did work.
Running reset-all.exe and rebooting should have restored audio. I don't know why it wouldn't.

(12-07-2013 07:12 PM)JonnyRedHed Wrote:  So not wanting this to happen again, I tried something - I tried just creating a NV custom resolution of 1080p@75z and testing it, it tested fine, and then I tested up to my limit which is 79hz. But settled for creating a custom 75hz resolution. 1080p @ 75hz - Pixel clock=185.625Mhz.

I did even try to copy over from the CRU the LCD reduced timing settings, but the NV control custom resolution section does not have all the setting fields the CRU has, so I could only for my test get the pixel clock to 179.00 using manual. I opted for the automatic, 1080p @ 75hz.
The NVIDIA control basically has the same settings. It just uses total pixels instead of back porch or blanking. I put radio buttons in the detailed resolution dialog to show that only one field is needed to calculate the other two.

At some point, NVIDIA fixed HDMI support so you can add custom resolutions beyond 165 MHz in the control panel without the patch, but if you use the NVIDIA control panel instead of CRU, some games won't use the higher refresh rate.

With CRU and NVIDIA GPUs, if you're using HDMI and you import that extension block, you don't have to worry about the 165 MHz limit, so you shouldn't need the patch or the "LCD reduced" timing option. The TV won't get damaged from running at a higher pixel clock.



Hi Toasty,


After testing my setup, LG TV - HDMI, added two new rez in 1080p @ 75 and 1440p @ 75 - imported hdmi-audio.dat and left custom block ticked. Both 1080p@75 and 1440p@75 shows up in the games, tested with AC4: Black Flag.

that when switching refresh rates either manually or from MadVR automatic refresh rate changer, when changing back to native 1080p @ 60hz the NV control panels change resolution pane often switches the bit depth to 16bit colours and I have to change it back to 32bit sometimes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2014, 07:43 PM
Post: #564
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-10-2014 11:07 PM)JonnyRedHed Wrote:  that when switching refresh rates either manually or from MadVR automatic refresh rate changer, when changing back to native 1080p @ 60hz the NV control panels change resolution pane often switches the bit depth to 16bit colours and I have to change it back to 32bit sometimes.
If you're using CRU, make sure you don't have any custom resolutions defined in the NVIDIA control panel. NVIDIA's custom resolutions are listed separately with 32-bit under custom and 16-bit under native. CRU will make them both available as native.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2014, 07:48 PM
Post: #565
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-08-2014 02:53 PM)Ang3l0fact1on Wrote:  Hey ToastyX. Im using amd and sony lcd tv. im able to downsample at 1440p and 1536p using amd 12.11 with gui tool in windows 8.1. But when i updated to 13.12 driver i cant downsample neither with gui or this tool. Any recommendation? Thanks in Advance.
CRU is not intended for downsampling. Newer drivers restrict adding higher resolutions, so the downsampling tool won't work.

There's a complicated workaround here: http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/...count=6448

More discussion here: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?...44&page=20
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2014, 07:51 PM
Post: #566
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-08-2014 01:11 AM)taemex Wrote:  Okay. Looks like my TV most likely does not handle 120hz properly as I just tried those settings you gave me at 1280x720 and it still does not work. Out of curiosity before I give up, could you please tell me what the ideal settings should be at for 1920x1080? And regarding "timing parameters", forgive me, but I have no idea what that means?
The timing parameters are the values in the detailed resolution window.

This is the standard for 1920x1080 @ 60/120 Hz:

H: 1920 88 44 148 280 2200 +
V: 1080 4 5 36 45 1125 +
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2014, 09:45 PM (This post was last modified: 01-12-2014 09:50 PM by JonnyRedHed.)
Post: #567
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-12-2014 07:43 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-10-2014 11:07 PM)JonnyRedHed Wrote:  that when switching refresh rates either manually or from MadVR automatic refresh rate changer, when changing back to native 1080p @ 60hz the NV control panels change resolution pane often switches the bit depth to 16bit colours and I have to change it back to 32bit sometimes.
If you're using CRU, make sure you don't have any custom resolutions defined in the NVIDIA control panel. NVIDIA's custom resolutions are listed separately with 32-bit under custom and 16-bit under native. CRU will make them both available as native.


Yes I deleted the NV control panel custom resolutions 1080@75 and 1440p@75 before I used CRU, rebooted, then ran CRU and entered them in, imported the audio-hdmi.dat file, rebooted, tested.

Everything works ok with the CRU entries 1080p@75Hz and 1440p@75Hz wirth these higher pixel clocks, you we correct it appears to all work well with NV and HDMI with higher pixel clocks, and the max audio format is now 24bit 48Khz, where as before the NV card HD audio would go a little higher, but my setting before was the max my tv can handle which is 24bit/48Khz so that's ok.

But still I get the odd time when switching back to native 1080p@60 resolution where the color bit depth is 16bit.

Should I run the reset.exe, and strip everything off, reboot a couple of times and re-attemp it all again?

Is the audio-hdmi.dat is anyway in error? or in need of a check or updating.

NV drivers: 331.82
GPU: MSI GTX 670 PE/OC 2GB
LG 50inch Plasma: LG-50PA650T
HDMI1.4x cable
Win7/64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2014, 02:48 PM
Post: #568
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Okay I figured how to make it work.

I have to click on "detect monitor" every time I boot the computer.

Is there something I'm missing, or is everyone supposed to do this?

And if, is there a way to make monitor detection automatic at start up?

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2014, 01:56 AM
Post: #569
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, I can get successfully get the resolution utility to work on my HD 6450, R 250 with my Dell U3011 monitor, however, HDMI audio no longer works when I set the resolution from 1920x1200 to 2560x1600 via HDMI. Anyone else experience this? The HD audio via HDMI works when I reset the CRU utility.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2014, 02:01 AM (This post was last modified: 01-14-2014 02:15 AM by Leopard2lx.)
Post: #570
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
So I have a Panasonic Plasma 3D P42ST30 and after running CRU and setting the refresh rate to 1920x1080 @ 120Hz under "Deatailed Resolutions", uncheck "Include Extension Block" and Reboot, but I get to Windows I have NO SIGNAL.

What can I do?

Video card is Nvidia GTX 780
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 47 Guest(s)