Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-10-2014, 07:40 PM
Post: #831
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-10-2014 08:16 AM)sioux Wrote:  Does the changing of 60Hz to 75Hz affects the colors ?
I opened a threa here : https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...ility--105
After i changed the refresh rate, the colors are a bit washed out, even the settings are untouched in Nvidia Control Panel / monitor setting
It looks a bit more different, more white, i don't know how to explain.
Could someone explain how to have the 75Hz but to keep the nice colors like with 60Hz ?
That's a monitor-specific issue. The colors are not supposed to change with the refresh rate. The monitor might only do that with certain timing parameters.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2014, 07:41 PM
Post: #832
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-09-2014 08:52 PM)La9000 Wrote:  Can someone help me overclocking my Dell P2414H to 75Hz or higher with some safe values? I'm using DisplayPort as a connection for my HD7950 GPU.
Have you tried adding a detailed resolution and just changing the refresh rate?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2014, 07:45 PM
Post: #833
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-09-2014 12:35 PM)x7007 Wrote:  Is it possible to add 3D resolution + hz ?

I need 1080p30 instead 1080p24.

I only have 1920x1080 60Hz (148.50) 1920x1080 50Hz (148.50) on the Detailed resolutions.

I have ATI 7970 and Philips 7007 series (PHL0000 Philips FTV) using HDMI cable.

I want to be able to use HD3D ATI 1.4 with 30 Hz instead of 24 Hz/
It's possible, but it's a bit complicated because adding HDMI 3D resolutions requires a custom extension block. Before going through that trouble, have you tried just adding 1920x1080 @ 30 Hz as a detailed resolution?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2014, 08:33 PM
Post: #834
Information RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-10-2014 07:41 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(04-09-2014 08:52 PM)La9000 Wrote:  Can someone help me overclocking my Dell P2414H to 75Hz or higher with some safe values? I'm using DisplayPort as a connection for my HD7950 GPU.
Have you tried adding a detailed resolution and just changing the refresh rate?

I did as you suggested and these are the results :

[Image: http://i57.tinypic.com/15ob1o4.png]

Is this ok?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2014, 08:47 PM
Post: #835
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-10-2014 08:33 PM)La9000 Wrote:  Is this ok?
Yes. Does that work for you? Are you able to set the refresh rate to 75 Hz in the Windows monitor settings without any problems?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2014, 09:02 PM
Post: #836
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Yes, I was able to set this resolution and 75Hz refresh rate through Screen resolution in Windows without any problems so far.
Is there anything else that I should do?

Thanks! Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2014, 09:21 PM
Post: #837
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-10-2014 09:02 PM)La9000 Wrote:  Yes, I was able to set this resolution and 75Hz refresh rate through Screen resolution in Windows without any problems so far.
Is there anything else that I should do?
No, that's it. You can use this test with a camera to check if your monitor is actually refreshing at 75 Hz: http://www.testufo.com/#test=frameskipping
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2014, 09:22 PM
Post: #838
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-09-2014 06:44 AM)monitor Wrote:  Yes iv seen in this thread people lowering the blanking/total values to reduce the pixel clock and acheive higher refresh rates. What im needing explained is what the front porch, sync width, back porch, blanking and total values are and if a higher or lower number is best. Is increasing the pixel clock beneficial and what is the pixel clock limit.
The front porch is the period before the sync pulse. The sync width is the length of the sync pulse. The back porch is the period after the sync pulse. There are no "best" values for those parameters. The actual values don't matter much with most LCD monitors. Just use whatever works with the monitor.

The blanking is the period between each line and frame that includes the front porch + sync width + back porch. If you want to reduce the blanking, you'd have to reduce at least one of those values. CRU changes the back porch if you change the blanking or total values. The total is the active + blanking.

The pixel clock is the total number of pixels per second: horizontal total * vertical total * refresh rate. If you were trying to get higher refresh rates and the standard values weren't working, you'd want to try lower blanking/total values to reduce the pixel clock. Increasing the pixel clock is not beneficial because it wastes bandwidth and can cause signal quality problems if the hardware or the cable can't handle it.

I don't know what you're trying to do because you're not trying to get higher refresh rates and the standard values work with your monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2014, 06:58 AM
Post: #839
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Toasty, I have a problem with a few refresh rates.

My 2720Z has a 50 hz refresh rate (and a 29 and 30hz) at 1920x1080, but I can't seem to -remove- the refresh rate. I know that removing other refresh rates worked great on the VG248QE (with your strobelight for lightboost or even importing that old lightboost.bin file), but even if I uncheck the extension block, it still has 50 hz shown and available in the CCC (AMD 290x).

There's no mention or hint of a 50hz even in the ini file for the monitor itself (I found a line that said 30-144 and changed it to 60-144, and installed the inf--didn't change a thing).

Is there a way for me to remove 50 hz? (id even like to remove 60hz but even that doesn't seem to be working; some games keep defaulting to 50 hz (Crysis) or 60hz when I want 100hz minimum....
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2014, 07:37 AM
Post: #840
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-11-2014 06:58 AM)falkentyne Wrote:  Is there a way for me to remove 50 hz? (id even like to remove 60hz but even that doesn't seem to be working; some games keep defaulting to 50 hz (Crysis) or 60hz when I want 100hz minimum....
For some reason, AMD's driver adds 50 Hz and 60 Hz if 1280x720 @ 60 Hz is present as a standard resolution. Try removing that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 63 Guest(s)