Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-29-2014, 04:13 AM
Post: #901
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,
I have a Samsung monitor (S23A700d) @ native 120HZ and HD7950, and I'm having trouble with occasional tearing/flickering while browsing the web, etc. (on stock configuration, also happens on another GPU.)
CRU shows that by default my monitor uses the "LCD standard" timings, but if I change the "Back porch" H/V to 148/36, my GPU idle clocks rise to higher 3D clocks instead of the default 300/150 and this works around the flickering problem, at the cost of higher heat and power usage unnecessarily, which of course is not ideal..
My question is, is it even possible to have idle 2d clocks with 120HZ without experiencing flicker issues, perhaps some monitor setting can be tweaked to fix this, or is the only way is to have high idle GPU clocks?

Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-29-2014, 06:53 PM
Post: #902
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-29-2014 04:13 AM)xdiv Wrote:  My question is, is it even possible to have idle 2d clocks with 120HZ without experiencing flicker issues, perhaps some monitor setting can be tweaked to fix this, or is the only way is to have high idle GPU clocks?
I don't know what you mean by tearing/flickering because there shouldn't be any in the first place.

If the flickering is being caused by the GPU's memory clock changing, then the only way to eliminate the flickering is to prevent the memory clock from changing at all, even when idle. With AMD cards, the memory clock won't change if you reduce the vertical blanking below standard.

If the memory clock is at stock and you only have one monitor connected, then there shouldn't be issues with flickering when the memory clock changes. Try higher vertical blanking like 70 (1150 total).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-29-2014, 06:56 PM
Post: #903
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-24-2014 12:43 AM)ShY Wrote:  After browsing the net a bit more I decided to try a different HDMI cable. Now I can get it running at 60hz!! The hdmi cable I replaced is a brand new 10ft hdmi cable since the ones I have on hand are all very short. Is this a common issue with long HDMI cables? I don't even tihnk its worth the money to RMA this cable but I do need a longer one...
It sounds like a bad cable. 10 foot cables shouldn't have problems with 1920x1080 @ 60 Hz. Low quality cables might have trouble with 120 Hz, but 60 Hz shouldn't have problems.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-31-2014, 05:23 AM
Post: #904
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
ATI Pixel Clock Patcher needs updating for 14.6 beta drivers.

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-07-2014, 10:39 PM
Post: #905
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
These 14.6 drivers are really awesome. Finally we can get 10-bit output from an HDTV!!!

On one of my TVs, it's only limited to 8-bit. Is there a way to modify the EDID to add 10 and maybe 12-bit?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-10-2014, 09:23 PM
Post: #906
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi toasty how would one use this utility of yours on hpzr30w dual link cable to reach 4k resolution downsampling

(12-31-2012 05:37 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  I just checked with a 1080p monitor. It's a quirk with the NVIDIA driver. This happens when the refresh rate is set to 59 Hz when only 60 Hz is defined. The HD listing disappears when set to 60 Hz. This stops happening if I change the 60 Hz resolution to something like 59.94 Hz.

The monitor information is correct. Real-time is just the EDID directly from the monitor. The EDID override still takes precedence.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-10-2014, 09:50 PM
Post: #907
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-10-2014 09:23 PM)animeowns Wrote:  Hi toasty how would one use this utility of yours on hpzr30w dual link cable to reach 4k resolution downsampling
You can't. CRU is not a downsampling tool, and your monitor doesn't support 4K.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-10-2014, 09:51 PM
Post: #908
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(06-07-2014 10:39 PM)Mangix Wrote:  These 14.6 drivers are really awesome. Finally we can get 10-bit output from an HDTV!!!

On one of my TVs, it's only limited to 8-bit. Is there a way to modify the EDID to add 10 and maybe 12-bit?
Does the TV support 10-bit output? Is it connected using HDMI? If the TV supports 10-bit output, it should already be defined in the EDID.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-11-2014, 03:50 AM
Post: #909
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
disregard my earlier post. While my TV has it checked in the EDID, the output is dithered(tested with gradient patterns). I doubt my other TV with no 10-bit defined supports it properly either.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-11-2014, 04:07 PM
Post: #910
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello ToastyX,
the Nvidia driver offers to force 120Hz in games if the monitor supports it:
http://img.techpowerup.org/140611/nvidia...180204.png

Could it be possible to let CRU "spoof" 120Hz for the driver ("feature request" Big Grin )? For example, if you have 60Hz and 85Hz configured via CRU, some games still choose 60Hz and you can't force them to use the 85Hz resolution.
Would be great if a workaround like described above would work.

Best regards and again thanks for your tool.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 48 Guest(s)