Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
12-16-2015, 06:07 PM (Last edited: 12-16-2015, 06:19 PM by sanmal)
Post: #1861
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-16-2015 03:15 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-15-2015 09:32 PM)sanmal Wrote:  standard-> 1920x1080 @ 75.002 Hz (174.57 MHz) [+/-] ->Input not supported
native-> 1920x1080 @ 75.002 Hz (185.63 MHz) [+/+] ->Input not supported
reduced-> 1920x1080 @ 75.001 Hz (164.61 MHz) [+/+]

with users resolution same thing:
CVT-RB-> 1920x1080 @ 75 Hz (174.57 MHz(standard?)) ->Input not supported
Auto -> 1920x1080 @ 75 Hz (?(native?)) ->Input not supported

8800GT/Vista 32

Patch or something else not work for me, any chance fix it?
The monitor might not support 1920x1080 @ 75 Hz with DVI. The patch is for driver limits, not monitor limits.
Wait. With VGA it can 165+, with DVI not. For other user it work with same monitor + HDMI/Win10 64/R9 280X. Problem not in monitor.
Quote:NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher modifies the NVIDIA video driver to allow higher resolutions and refresh rates by removing the 165 MHz pixel clock limit for single-link DVI
If i right undestand patch must unlock 165+ for DVI, but he not unlock it for me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2015, 12:38 AM (Last edited: 12-17-2015, 12:39 AM by sanmal)
Post: #1862
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Heh. Just remove patch.
Exacly CVT-RB in Nvidia(or standard in CRU)-> 1920x1080@75Hz (174.57 MHz) -> black screen or Input not supported.
Native or random 165+MHz->broken picture.
Dont know what do this "patch", but mb my monitor rly not support 165+MHz on DVI or i am something not understand Undecided
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-18-2015, 04:42 AM
Post: #1863
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-16-2015 06:07 PM)sanmal Wrote:  Wait. With VGA it can 165+, with DVI not. For other user it work with same monitor + HDMI/Win10 64/R9 280X. Problem not in monitor.
DVI is not the same as VGA or HDMI. There's no guarantee that the monitor will support the same refresh rates on all the inputs. Does your monitor have HDMI? You might need to use a DVI-HDMI cable instead. To send an HDMI signal, you need to add an HDMI support data block in the custom extension block.

(12-17-2015 12:38 AM)sanmal Wrote:  Heh. Just remove patch.
Exacly CVT-RB in Nvidia(or standard in CRU)-> 1920x1080@75Hz (174.57 MHz) -> black screen or Input not supported.
Native or random 165+MHz->broken picture.
Dont know what do this "patch", but mb my monitor rly not support 165+MHz on DVI or i am something not understand Undecided
If "LCD native" shows a broken picture without the patch but shows "Input not supported" with the patch, then the patch is working and your monitor doesn't support the resolution or the timing parameters. Try "LCD reduced" with 72-74 Hz. That's more likely to work and doesn't need the patch.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-18-2015, 06:41 AM
Post: #1864
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
No, not support HDMI.
All with <165Mhz work fine, CVT-RB/"LCD standard" with 70Hz and "LCD reduced" 75HZ (164.61 MHz). But i dont see reason use DVI with 70Hz or "LCD reduced" 75HZ (164.61 MHz), will go back to VGA, which work without any problems with CVT-RB/"LCD standard" 1920x1080@75Hz (174.57 MHz) and "LCD native".
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-19-2015, 03:38 AM
Post: #1865
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Smile Thank you Thank you Thank you
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2015, 02:08 AM (Last edited: 12-20-2015, 02:16 AM by zamar19)
Post: #1866
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
After settings with CRU a custom resolution 2560x1440@60Hz for Seiki 4K UHD TV / monitor, the pic looks overscanned (http://oi66.tinypic.com/34t4l6f.jpg) on one side, so a part of the desktop background picture and open app windows visible on the right side are overlapping again on the left screen side. The display is connected from AMD video card's DP1.2 via DP1.2-to-HDMI1.4 4K passive adapter to HDMI2.0 monitor port. Is it the monitor firmware problem? I tried various TV aspect ratios, but the problem stays. If I select "Enable GPU Upscaling" in AMD Control Center, resolution switches back to 1080P and can't be changed to higher Custom resolution. Any suggestions, how to fix that?

Another question: after testing AMD Control Panel Scaling Options with this monitor by dragging Underscan-Overscan slider, the monitor's entire visible screen area became a little smaller, it doesn't extend to the plastic bezels anymore. Resetting GPU and display settings to factory doesn't change that. How to revert to the original 42" screen size?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2015, 04:30 AM
Post: #1867
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-20-2015 02:08 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  After settings with CRU a custom resolution 2560x1440@60Hz for Seiki 4K UHD TV / monitor, the pic looks overscanned (http://oi66.tinypic.com/34t4l6f.jpg) on one side, so a part of the desktop background picture and open app windows visible on the right side are overlapping again on the left screen side. The display is connected from AMD video card's DP1.2 via DP1.2-to-HDMI1.4 4K passive adapter to HDMI2.0 monitor port. Is it the monitor firmware problem? I tried various TV aspect ratios, but the problem stays.
What timing parameters did you use? You should use "LCD standard" for 2560x1440 @ 60 Hz.

(12-20-2015 02:08 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  If I select "Enable GPU Upscaling" in AMD Control Center, resolution switches back to 1080P and can't be changed to higher Custom resolution. Any suggestions, how to fix that?
GPU scaling scales to the first detailed resolution.

(12-20-2015 02:08 AM)zamar19 Wrote:  Another question: after testing AMD Control Panel Scaling Options with this monitor by dragging Underscan-Overscan slider, the monitor's entire visible screen area became a little smaller, it doesn't extend to the plastic bezels anymore. Resetting GPU and display settings to factory doesn't change that. How to revert to the original 42" screen size?
Just set the slider back to 0%.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2015, 04:35 AM
Post: #1868
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-18-2015 06:41 AM)sanmal Wrote:  No, not support HDMI.
All with <165Mhz work fine, CVT-RB/"LCD standard" with 70Hz and "LCD reduced" 75HZ (164.61 MHz). But i dont see reason use DVI with 70Hz or "LCD reduced" 75HZ (164.61 MHz), will go back to VGA, which work without any problems with CVT-RB/"LCD standard" 1920x1080@75Hz (174.57 MHz) and "LCD native".
If it works with "LCD reduced" then what's the problem? You can check if the patch is working by making small changes to the "LCD reduced" timing parameters, like setting the total to 1096 to make the pixel clock 165.06 MHz. If that works, then the patch works and your monitor can't handle the "LCD native" timing parameters with DVI.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2015, 06:13 AM (Last edited: 12-20-2015, 06:15 AM by zamar19)
Post: #1869
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Actually, adding a new resolution to Detail Resolutions and restarting the driver doesn't add this resolution to Windows Display Resolutions list regardless of timing parameters chosen. Only after I add the same resolution and parameters in AMD Customs Resolutions, its added to that list, and I can switch to it. But again, left screen side overlaps.

Speaking of scaling slider, I wouldn't ask this question how to get back to original display size, if it were possible by simply sliding it back to 0. As I said, at 0 the screen size is still a bit less than it originally was by factory settings. Do you know what monitor settings I can play with to get its size reset?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2015, 07:24 AM (Last edited: 12-20-2015, 07:25 AM by sanmal)
Post: #1870
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(12-20-2015 04:35 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-18-2015 06:41 AM)sanmal Wrote:  No, not support HDMI.
All with <165Mhz work fine, CVT-RB/"LCD standard" with 70Hz and "LCD reduced" 75HZ (164.61 MHz). But i dont see reason use DVI with 70Hz or "LCD reduced" 75HZ (164.61 MHz), will go back to VGA, which work without any problems with CVT-RB/"LCD standard" 1920x1080@75Hz (174.57 MHz) and "LCD native".
If it works with "LCD reduced" then what's the problem? You can check if the patch is working by making small changes to the "LCD reduced" timing parameters, like setting the total to 1096 to make the pixel clock 165.06 MHz. If that works, then the patch works and your monitor can't handle the "LCD native" timing parameters with DVI.
Problem in - i want use CVT-RB/"LCD standard setting, not reduced.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 38 Guest(s)