Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
10-15-2017, 03:53 AM (This post was last modified: 10-15-2017 03:54 AM by okwei.)
Post: #3231
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-09-2017 06:20 PM)Chrismartin76 Wrote:  Thanks. Is there any permanent way to resolve this issue? I have a Dell XPS 15 so I've got a Thunderbolt 3, two USB3.0, and one HDMI port. My external monitor is a Dell U2711 so I've got these inputs:
2 x dual-link DVI with HDCP
HDMI w/HDCP
DisplayPort w/HDCP
VGA
Component
Composite

-Chris

Chris, I have the exact same problem with 2 of my Dell laptops, one being the XPS 15. My monitor also support USB C, but my XPS's fans are always on when connected using USB-C, so I'd prefer using the HDMI port. plus, the older Dell laptop has only 1 HDMI 1.4 port.

My external monitor always wake up with the bad default resolution, and I have post here before, and so far, I dont think there's a solution. I have to reconnect the cable or run the restart.exe
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2017, 05:24 AM
Post: #3232
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Guys, I need some help. It may have already been addressed but not sure I have the patients to sift through 300+ pages to find it.
So, I have a gtx 1070 in my pc that is detecting my hisense TV as stereo only in sound panel>playback devices>configure. I am also passing through the audio from my 1070 to the TV and back out again through optical audio to my audio reciever which is an older one that only has optical audio, no hdmi but still supports dd, dts, and 5.1. This setup works fairly well with my Xbox One and PS4. So the EDID is messed up from what I gathered. I tried to force it through CRU and after a bit of reading thought I had it figured out. I got it to recognize my changes but now the sound is all messed up. When I test the audio in the sound panel on 5.1 sound only comes out of front right and left speakers. Nothing from center or the rears but when I play music with vlc media player it seems to be coming out the right speakers but the sound is all garbled. I edited the default extension block and edited pre-existing audio formats to 6 channels then added dts with 6 channels. Also changed speaker setup to 5.1. I would be grateful for any assistance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-15-2017, 05:52 AM
Post: #3233
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-03-2017 02:47 AM)Varinn Wrote:  Great utility, got my games running at 1080p 120hz on a Sony X900E display over HDMI.

Only thing I can't quite figure out though is I want to have 3840x2160 @60hz on the desktop and 1920x1080 @ 120hz in games. I have been able to get 120hz working by creating the resolution and setting my desktop to it. When I load a game it maintains 1080p120. However if I set my desktop to 4k60 and load a game, selecting 1080p defaults to 60hz and most games don't show both res/hz as options.

I tried modifying the existing detailed resolution to be 1080p120 instead of creating an additional entry. What else can I try? I'm tempted to clear the entire list from my extension block "TV resolutions" tab and leave only the 4k60 and 1080p120 entries.

FWIW I also have an additional "display" which is my Onkyo receiver and I run a cloned desktop to it. The receiver is only enabled so I can use the second Displayport to run 5.1PCM audio. I tested everything above without having this hooked up to rule it out.

Can sony 900e 3840x1080 120hz input and display with out upscaling?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-19-2017, 11:18 AM
Post: #3234
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi @all!
downloading file https://www.monitortests.com/2160p420.dat doens't work any more. "The requested URL /2160p420.dat was not found on this server". Can anyone reactivate the download? Thanks for your help

BR
Michael
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-19-2017, 09:48 PM
Post: #3235
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
CRU doesn't work for me with the newest Windows 10 Fall Creators Update and newest AMD beta drivers for it. Patcher finds values normally but I can't get the custom resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-19-2017, 11:37 PM
Post: #3236
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thanks for providing this utility.

I'm running an Intel 5500 Chipset connecting to an external 4K monitor. via HDMI from my laptop I used CRU to create a custom 4K (UHD) resolution @ 4k, but following the instructions, I don't see 60Hz refresh rate available in the monitor refresh rate dropdown menu. It's capped at 30Hz Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-20-2017, 01:05 AM
Post: #3237
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi all,
Monitor: BENQ XL2411 (for now using with laptop via VGA cable)
When i'm trying to create custom res at 120Hz (1280x800) it creates 16:10 resolution narrowed to 4:3, (i want 16:10 black bars, aspect-ratio mode in monitor is set, when I set to stretched it works)
What might be a problem?
And second question: If I buy a HDMI cable, will it give me any advantage over my VGA cable? (better display, higher resolutions at 120hz etc)
Thanks for help
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-20-2017, 07:32 PM
Post: #3238
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,

(Sorry for my english, it's not my first language)

I've a "big problem with my second screen since a Windows 10 update. I have a msi PE60 2QE connected to a fujistu siemens screen with a resolution of 1920/1200 by VGA in the mini display port 4k output (with an adaptator). I 've contacted Microsoft, Intel, Nvidia, Fujitsu, MSI but no one find the problem. Since the update, the max resolution of this screen is 1920/1080 (Full HD) but to conserve the aspect ratio I have to put 1680/1050...
I think CRU was THE solution, but when I active it, Windows bugs and shutdown the screen. The new resolution doesn't appear in the display menu in Windows settings.

Have anyone a solution ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2017, 01:59 AM
Post: #3239
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-20-2017 07:32 PM)Calan Wrote:  I've a "big problem with my second screen since a Windows 10 update. I have a msi PE60 2QE connected to a fujistu siemens screen with a resolution of 1920/1200 by VGA in the mini display port 4k output (with an adaptator). I 've contacted Microsoft, Intel, Nvidia, Fujitsu, MSI but no one find the problem. Since the update, the max resolution of this screen is 1920/1080 (Full HD) but to conserve the aspect ratio I have to put 1680/1050...
I think CRU was THE solution, but when I active it, Windows bugs and shutdown the screen. The new resolution doesn't appear in the display menu in Windows settings.
What model is the monitor? Show me what you did with CRU. Export a file and post it here.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2017, 02:00 AM
Post: #3240
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-20-2017 01:05 AM)droseisback Wrote:  Monitor: BENQ XL2411 (for now using with laptop via VGA cable)
When i'm trying to create custom res at 120Hz (1280x800) it creates 16:10 resolution narrowed to 4:3, (i want 16:10 black bars, aspect-ratio mode in monitor is set, when I set to stretched it works)
What might be a problem?
The monitor is scaling the resolution incorrectly. CRU doesn't create scaled resolutions. You might have better luck with 1280x720.

(10-20-2017 01:05 AM)droseisback Wrote:  And second question: If I buy a HDMI cable, will it give me any advantage over my VGA cable? (better display, higher resolutions at 120hz etc)
Thanks for help
VGA is meant for CRT monitors. HDMI will give you a clear picture, but the specs and the manual for the XL2411 don't tell me what refresh rates it supports with HDMI.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 48 Guest(s)