Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-21-2019, 02:17 AM
Post: #3761
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-20-2019 04:24 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-20-2019 03:44 PM)TnF Wrote:  Thank you, i understand this, but how can the same laptop be configured with a 4K screen @60Hz with the same interface!??
Just because the laptop has the interface doesn't mean the panel does.

I don't understand you. This has nothing to do with the panel, same laptop can be configured with either 4k or 1080p panel at 60fps. Both use eDP interface.
https://www8.hp.com/us/en/pdf/workstatio...n_0405.pdf page 3 and 21-22
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2019, 06:05 AM
Post: #3762
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-21-2019 02:17 AM)TnF Wrote:  I don't understand you. This has nothing to do with the panel, same laptop can be configured with either 4k or 1080p panel at 60fps. Both use eDP interface.
https://www8.hp.com/us/en/pdf/workstatio...n_0405.pdf page 3 and 21-22
If the laptop is capable of 4 lanes but the panel only has 2 lanes, then it can only transmit 2 lanes.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2019, 12:28 PM (This post was last modified: 01-21-2019 03:12 PM by TnF.)
Post: #3763
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-21-2019 06:05 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-21-2019 02:17 AM)TnF Wrote:  I don't understand you. This has nothing to do with the panel, same laptop can be configured with either 4k or 1080p panel at 60fps. Both use eDP interface.
https://www8.hp.com/us/en/pdf/workstatio...n_0405.pdf page 3 and 21-22
If the laptop is capable of 4 lanes but the panel only has 2 lanes, then it can only transmit 2 lanes.

Ok thank you, this makes perfect sense nowSmile

edit: Btw i am able to set the gpu in bios to discrete only, so that only the nvidia gpu is used. Would i be able to patch the pixel clock then and overdrive the 2 lanes available, or it won't work?

edit2: Well i've tested it, set discrete graphics only, adding the resolutions via CRU wouldn't appear, had to set them through custom resolutions in the nvidia control panel, and any resolution above 240mhz pixel clock will freeze the pc with black screen after hitting the test button. Worth noting a couple of point though:
-After successfully testing a custom resolution in the nvidia control panel will increase the pixel clock calculation. So for the same timings, while with CRU i can get to 103hz, with nvidia i can only get to 101/102hz. Weird.
-With the intel graphics any overclocked resolution will report 6-bit colour in the windows display settings, while with nvidia will report 8-bit colour in the windows display settings, but in the nvidia control panel will say 6-bit under the "use nvidia colour settings" but 32 bit in the custom resolutions menu..go figure..

Afterall i guess i should be happy with 60->105hz XD
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2019, 06:18 PM
Post: #3764
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-21-2019 12:28 PM)TnF Wrote:  edit: Btw i am able to set the gpu in bios to discrete only, so that only the nvidia gpu is used. Would i be able to patch the pixel clock then and overdrive the 2 lanes available, or it won't work?
The patchers cannot change the clock speeds for DisplayPort.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2019, 07:04 PM
Post: #3765
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-21-2019 06:18 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-21-2019 12:28 PM)TnF Wrote:  edit: Btw i am able to set the gpu in bios to discrete only, so that only the nvidia gpu is used. Would i be able to patch the pixel clock then and overdrive the 2 lanes available, or it won't work?
The patchers cannot change the clock speeds for DisplayPort.

Hi Toasty, I still own my Yamakasi CatLeap Q270 B2 that runs perfectly at 120Hz. I have a GTX 1080ti GPU

I read an older 2016 post where you got a B2 to FreeSync but not with a full Dual link display port so you could only run 60Hz. Did you find a bandwidth workaround? Could my CatLeap FreeSync at 120Hz with my GTX 1080ti? I'm Familiar with your CRU and the Nvidia Patcher.

Do you have any post, guides or the setup files to make it easy for me to get FreeSync running on my CatLeap B2?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2019, 09:37 PM
Post: #3766
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-22-2019 07:04 PM)Technologist Wrote:  I read an older 2016 post where you got a B2 to FreeSync but not with a full Dual link display port so you could only run 60Hz. Did you find a bandwidth workaround?
No. Technically the Catleap could do it but the driver has no way to activate FreeSync with dual-link DVI.

(01-22-2019 07:04 PM)Technologist Wrote:  Could my CatLeap FreeSync at 120Hz with my GTX 1080ti? I'm Familiar with your CRU and the Nvidia Patcher.
No, NVIDIA does not currently support HDMI FreeSync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2019, 11:15 PM
Post: #3767
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-22-2019 09:37 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-22-2019 07:04 PM)Technologist Wrote:  I read an older 2016 post where you got a B2 to FreeSync but not with a full Dual link display port so you could only run 60Hz. Did you find a bandwidth workaround?
No. Technically the Catleap could do it but the driver has no way to activate FreeSync with dual-link DVI.

(01-22-2019 07:04 PM)Technologist Wrote:  Could my CatLeap FreeSync at 120Hz with my GTX 1080ti? I'm Familiar with your CRU and the Nvidia Patcher.
No, NVIDIA does not currently support HDMI FreeSync.

What about using a Dual Link DVI to DisplayPort 1.4 adaptor? There are ones out that will support 120Hz 1440P and 4K 60Hz now.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-23-2019, 05:11 PM (This post was last modified: 01-23-2019 05:12 PM by bilanciamist.)
Post: #3768
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi,
I'd like to set fullRGB output for the HDMI connection in my notebook. It is an "old" Sony Vaio, with Nvidia 330m (driver Nvidia 342.01) and Windows 10.
I followed this guide: https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments...vidia_not/

I tried to create a new detailed resolution 1920x1080 PC resolution (native), but it didn't work.
I tried to change a lot of CRU settings.
Maybe it depends on my HDMI port, the extension block or the frequency.

Is there a system to fix this problem?

Thanks


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2019, 11:03 AM (This post was last modified: 01-24-2019 11:06 AM by iakoboss7.)
Post: #3769
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
hello and thank you for this amazing tool!

i have the monitor AOC Q3279VWFD8, its freesync range (works only under display port 1.2) is 48-75.
with cru i can use 38-76 (being reported as 38-75 in amd settings) with no problem (it flickers with anything bellow that in full screen games).

the thing is that i cant overclock the max freesync limit, for example i put 38-78 in cru but there is no option in display adapter properties.
i just need 2 more hz to trigger LFC!!!!

is this a hard limit? can it be bypassed with any of your tools?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2019, 11:21 AM
Post: #3770
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-24-2019 11:03 AM)iakoboss7 Wrote:  hello and thank you for this amazing tool!

i have the monitor AOC Q3279VWFD8, its freesync range (works only under display port 1.2) is 48-75.
with cru i can use 38-76 (being reported as 38-75 in amd settings) with no problem (it flickers with anything bellow that in full screen games).

the thing is that i cant overclock the max freesync limit, for example i put 38-78 in cru but there is no option in display adapter properties.
i just need 2 more hz to trigger LFC!!!!

is this a hard limit? can it be bypassed with any of your tools?

You will have to 'overclock' your monitor to 78hz as well if you want to extent the Freesync limit to that value, and test if that is stable and there is no dropped frames or anything.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 34 Guest(s)