Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
07-12-2019, 05:16 PM
Post: #4101
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-11-2019 03:35 PM)Akash667 Wrote:  I'm fine if its not as smooth, but its sadly just borderline unplayable, I have played on other PCs at 30fps or even 20fps and it doesn't feel as bad as 55fps does on my laptop/PC. below 60 feels fine on other PCs but not mine.
The only exception I have in Forza Horizon 3, out of the hundreds of games I've tried ony my PC. Its the ONLY one that feels completely playable at 30fps when locked.
Is there any tests that I can run?
Sadly its very hard to tell on recorded clips but heres one i recorded anyway
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4jngtowlH0&t=41s
It was completely unplayable for me.
I don't see anything obviously wrong with the video other than the frame repeating you normally get when the game's frame rate is below the video's frame rate.

What mouse do you have? Does the motion seem smoother if you move with just the keyboard?

What about online vs. offline games?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2019, 04:10 PM
Post: #4102
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-12-2019 05:16 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-11-2019 03:35 PM)Akash667 Wrote:  I'm fine if its not as smooth, but its sadly just borderline unplayable, I have played on other PCs at 30fps or even 20fps and it doesn't feel as bad as 55fps does on my laptop/PC. below 60 feels fine on other PCs but not mine.
The only exception I have in Forza Horizon 3, out of the hundreds of games I've tried ony my PC. Its the ONLY one that feels completely playable at 30fps when locked.
Is there any tests that I can run?
Sadly its very hard to tell on recorded clips but heres one i recorded anyway
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4jngtowlH0&t=41s
It was completely unplayable for me.
I don't see anything obviously wrong with the video other than the frame repeating you normally get when the game's frame rate is below the video's frame rate.

What mouse do you have? Does the motion seem smoother if you move with just the keyboard?

What about online vs. offline games?

Nah, I have tried many different mice. And its something I've been experiencing for 2 years so. It's very visible, like everything happening on the screen stutters.
I remember i was running AC Origins benchmark and i looked carefully and it kindlooked like the frames were going back and forth.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-15-2019, 04:42 PM
Post: #4103
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-14-2019 04:10 PM)Akash667 Wrote:  Nah, I have tried many different mice. And its something I've been experiencing for 2 years so. It's very visible, like everything happening on the screen stutters.
I remember i was running AC Origins benchmark and i looked carefully and it kindlooked like the frames were going back and forth.
I stepped through the video frame by frame in several places and didn't see any back and forth stuttering, only frame repeating when the frame rate is low. I can't think of what would cause back and forth stuttering.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2019, 09:46 PM
Post: #4104
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi I have a Lenovo laptop with Intel i7 8550u w/ UHD 620 graphics and an Nvidia MX250 gpu. Can I make a custom resolution at a higher refresh rate with CRU or do I have to download or patch drivers or something first?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-23-2019, 11:12 PM (This post was last modified: 07-24-2019 12:01 AM by dan1.)
Post: #4105
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi ToastyX

Thanks for making this great program.

I have a question about the LG C9 and getting 4k@120hz over hdmi2.0b - is it even possible?

Could i use CRU to fake a EDID for the LGC9 which would accept 4k@120 with chroma 4:2:2?

I have a hdmi2.1 cable 48gbps, and the lgc9 is supposed to have hdmi2.1 ports, i also have a 2080ti

The C9 also has VRR support over hdmi2.1 from 40-120hz, not sure if CRU could effect anything about this feature.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2019, 09:36 PM
Post: #4106
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-23-2019 11:12 PM)dan1 Wrote:  I have a question about the LG C9 and getting 4k@120hz over hdmi2.0b - is it even possible?

Could i use CRU to fake a EDID for the LGC9 which would accept 4k@120 with chroma 4:2:2?
4K @ 120 Hz would require 4:2:0 or HDMI 2.1. I don't know if any driver supports 4K @ 120 Hz with 4:2:0, and I don't think any current video card supports HDMI 2.1. The only way to add a 4:2:0 resolution is to add a TV resolutions data block in the CEA-861 extension block and enable the "4:2:0 resolutions" option, but 4K @ 120 Hz is a newer resolution that might not be supported. There's also the question of whether the TV will accept a 4K @ 120 Hz signal.

(07-23-2019 11:12 PM)dan1 Wrote:  The C9 also has VRR support over hdmi2.1 from 40-120hz, not sure if CRU could effect anything about this feature.
I don't think any video card supports HDMI 2.1 VRR yet.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-24-2019, 09:37 PM
Post: #4107
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-22-2019 09:46 PM)snarfbot Wrote:  Hi I have a Lenovo laptop with Intel i7 8550u w/ UHD 620 graphics and an Nvidia MX250 gpu. Can I make a custom resolution at a higher refresh rate with CRU or do I have to download or patch drivers or something first?
You would have to try it and see. Patching is mostly for DVI and HDMI. You will be limited by the internal connection of the panel, which is often eDP in newer laptops. With the current Intel graphics drivers, you might have to use the "Copy" and "Paste" buttons at the top to copy everything to the inactive entries in the monitor list for the override to work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-26-2019, 08:02 AM
Post: #4108
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-05-2019 02:41 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-03-2019 09:50 AM)foxyauxy Wrote:  Hello, I have here an ASUS ROG XG27VQ gaming monitor. It supports ASUS ELMB, which is a strobing blur reduction technology very similar to Nvidia Lightboost.

However, the monitor will only allow you to enable ELMB at 120Hz; no other refresh rates are allowed. This would be fine, but when using AMD Virtual Super Resolution, the only available refresh rate is the maximum, 144Hz. That means I can't enable motion blur reduction while using VSR, which is a significant negative compared to Nvidia's competing solution, DSR.

Opening CRU, I don't see any obvious way to modify the resolutions or refresh rates used for Virtual Super Resolution. Pardon my ignorance, but is such a thing possible using CRU? Thanks in advance.
VSR is supposed to be available for all refresh rates at the native resolution. Maybe the result is different if FreeSync is enabled.
Unfortunately, that isn't the case. This monitor doesn't even expose itself as FreeSync-capable when ELMB is enabled.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-29-2019, 01:52 PM (This post was last modified: 07-29-2019 03:38 PM by cidious.)
Post: #4109
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I used this tool before and managed to put in a custom refreshrate for my AOC monitor which worked perfectly. I had to refresh Windows and after the refresh I just can't seem to add any new resolutions or refreshrates! I'm pretty sure i did it in the right way but maybe the last windows version is causing some issues?

I'm trying to modify the refreshrate for my second monitor plugged into the laptop's HDMI port. it's an AOC M3285 monitor and it does 70 or 71Hz overclocked.

I added the new refreshrates and even deleted the old ones but it just won't show up in windows settings.....

I have the monitor setup as second display only as main monitor. it handles a different scaling than the internal display. I can see that. It's not duplicated.

   

   

Anyone any idea whats going on?

Got it sorted!

needed to add the resolution as LCD standard and not LCD native
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-30-2019, 01:31 AM (This post was last modified: 07-30-2019 01:33 AM by ameoir.)
Post: #4110
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have a clevo laptop with HD 4600 and GTX 870m, windows 7

When I try to use CRU (using the driver you linked for intel hd) I can't make custom resolution or set the refresh rate above 60hz. It doesn't list the resolution in windows


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 38 Guest(s)