Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-07-2019, 03:33 AM
Post: #4131
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-06-2019 07:27 AM)krollic Wrote:  Can I please get some help with a problem? Basically I'm unable to save custom resolutions (refresh rates included). If I set a custom resolution/refresh via the nvid control panel or Toastys CRU, it's as if nothing happened and the new setting won't be available in the nvid resolution list or in Windows display list, even after I restart. None of the solutions I've found online worked but I've found a few others with the same issue. :cry:
What video card? What monitor? How is it connected? What resolutions did you try to add? Can you show me examples of others with the same issue?

The NVIDIA control panel and CRU are separate and operate differently. I don't see how the NVIDIA control panel would let you set a custom resolution but not list it. That sounds like a driver bug. CRU creates EDID overrides that basically describes what the monitor can do, so if a resolution isn't listed, that's either a driver or hardware limitation. Windows 7 shouldn't be an issue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2019, 03:33 AM
Post: #4132
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-06-2019 04:33 AM)wan04146 Wrote:  If i reinstall windows , i need reconfig CRU?
Yes, but you can use the "Export" button to save a monitor's settings to a file.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2019, 01:53 PM
Post: #4133
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-07-2019 09:40 PM)Benman2785 Wrote:  hey - i bought an ACER Nitro 5 AN515-42 (Ryzen 5 2500U + RX 560X)
it has a AUO B156HAN06.0 (maybe HW2A) 60hz IPS Display - i overclocked it to 100hz so far (dont need more hz) - is that "save"?

https://imgur.com/a/enCHuGf

also: how do i enable FreeSync with CRU 1.4.1 in my settings?
a FreeSync-Range from 45-100 would be great; or 35-75 (if 75hz is more save)
I too have the same laptop, but the intel/1050ti variant. May I ask what timings you used?

I'm currently having trouble displaying anything higher than 75hz without dark vertical lines showing up. I had the same problem with 75hz till I used automatic LCD Reduced which made it go away. It displays all the way to 100hz but with dark vertical lines. ufo test and frame skipping confirm it works.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2019, 06:05 PM (This post was last modified: 08-07-2019 06:31 PM by krollic.)
Post: #4134
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Quote:What video card? What monitor? How is it connected? What resolutions did you try to add? Can you show me examples of others with the same issue?

The NVIDIA control panel and CRU are separate and operate differently. I don't see how the NVIDIA control panel would let you set a custom resolution but not list it. That sounds like a driver bug. CRU creates EDID overrides that basically describes what the monitor can do, so if a resolution isn't listed, that's either a driver or hardware limitation. Windows 7 shouldn't be an issue.

EVGA 1060 6gb. Benq XL2420Z. I've tried DP and dual link DVI. Native resolution just different refresh rates; though if I were to use any non-native refresh and/or resolution it won't work.

I just got my friend to test it and he has the exact same problem i.e he can't make a custom res/refresh w/ nvidia Contro Panl or CRU either, despite having a different monitor and graphics card. what we have in common is that we run a very bare-bones windows 7 that is missing a lot of updates/features for the sake of gaming performance/latency, so now I'm pretty certain that that is what's responsible.

Obviously that's not your problem or concern but I'm wondering if there are ways around this without compromising our systems. I suspect that these system modifications are interfering with the softwares ability to write the overrides

would it be possible for me to edit existing windows files or some sort of .inf to get this working?

thank you for your time Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2019, 06:56 PM
Post: #4135
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey Toasty,

I just installed the newest build of windows 10 v1903. When my computer came back up after installing the updates, I was unable to choose the custom resolutions built using the CRU. I don't know where the problem lies but it is certainly the v1903 that screwed up my custom res. I backed up to the previous build and everything is working great now. Just thought I would let you know since the CRU is such a great tool, and I figured it may help you get ahead of any bullshit windows updates that break stuff more than upgrade stuff.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-08-2019, 01:42 AM
Post: #4136
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-07-2019 06:56 PM)jcrockettAoE2 Wrote:  I just installed the newest build of windows 10 v1903. When my computer came back up after installing the updates, I was unable to choose the custom resolutions built using the CRU. I don't know where the problem lies but it is certainly the v1903 that screwed up my custom res. I backed up to the previous build and everything is working great now. Just thought I would let you know since the CRU is such a great tool, and I figured it may help you get ahead of any bullshit windows updates that break stuff more than upgrade stuff.
CRU works with 1903. Windows updates generally don't break EDID overrides, but you might have to reconfigure CRU after a major update. If that doesn't work, use DDU and install the latest graphics driver.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-08-2019, 01:43 AM
Post: #4137
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-07-2019 06:05 PM)krollic Wrote:  I just got my friend to test it and he has the exact same problem i.e he can't make a custom res/refresh w/ nvidia Contro Panl or CRU either, despite having a different monitor and graphics card. what we have in common is that we run a very bare-bones windows 7 that is missing a lot of updates/features for the sake of gaming performance/latency, so now I'm pretty certain that that is what's responsible.

Obviously that's not your problem or concern but I'm wondering if there are ways around this without compromising our systems. I suspect that these system modifications are interfering with the softwares ability to write the overrides

would it be possible for me to edit existing windows files or some sort of .inf to get this working?
I don't know what you're looking to edit. NVIDIA custom resolutions and EDID overrides are stored in binary formats in the registry. You can't force anything if the existing methods aren't working.

What exactly happens when you try to add a custom resolution using the NVIDIA control panel? Do you get any error messages, or does it add the resolution but not list it?

CRU would tell you if it failed to save changes. If you open CRU again and it shows the changes you made, then the changes were saved correctly. CRU can export .inf files, but installing an .inf file would basically do what CRU already does.

I'm not sure what sort of system modification would cause both EDID overrides and NVIDIA custom resolutions to fail. That would normally indicate a graphics driver issue or hardware limitation, but that shouldn't be the case with your video card and monitor.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-11-2019, 05:01 PM (This post was last modified: 08-11-2019 05:25 PM by DigDeep.)
Post: #4138
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
There is one issue with freesync, youtube video in full screen goes black, when disabled it works fine.

(08-11-2019 05:01 PM)DigDeep Wrote:  There is one issue with freesync, youtube video in full screen goes black, when disabled it works fine.

I fixed this with disabling Hardware acceleration in Firefox, but this should not be considered a fix as now Hardware acceleration is disabled.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-12-2019, 11:04 PM
Post: #4139
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I get black screen in games too, is there any fix for this issue?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-13-2019, 01:42 PM
Post: #4140
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-11-2019 05:01 PM)DigDeep Wrote:  There is one issue with freesync, youtube video in full screen goes black, when disabled it works fine.
(08-12-2019 11:04 PM)DigDeep Wrote:  I get black screen in games too, is there any fix for this issue?
That has nothing to do with CRU. CRU does not implement FreeSync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 39 Guest(s)