Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
03-22-2020, 08:17 PM
Post: #4591
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-22-2020 05:45 PM)Scriba Wrote:  I'm using in some games a non native resolution (1440 x 1080 stretched) on my acer predator xn253qp (G-sync modul and 144hz) for competitive reasons. In the past I was using NCP but on my new monitor G-sync is not working at a non native resolution. A custom resolution in CRU on the other hand works with G-sync.

I was fiddle around yesterday for multiple hours in CRU but didn't find a satisfying custom resolution setting for 1440 x 1080 @ 144hz in CRU which felt smooth.
G-SYNC might not work at non-native resolutions, but it should work with GPU scaling.

Instead of using CRU, try editing NV_Modes in the registry: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...51#pid9851
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2020, 02:59 PM
Post: #4592
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-22-2020 08:17 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-22-2020 05:45 PM)Scriba Wrote:  I'm using in some games a non native resolution (1440 x 1080 stretched) on my acer predator xn253qp (G-sync modul and 144hz) for competitive reasons. In the past I was using NCP but on my new monitor G-sync is not working at a non native resolution. A custom resolution in CRU on the other hand works with G-sync.

I was fiddle around yesterday for multiple hours in CRU but didn't find a satisfying custom resolution setting for 1440 x 1080 @ 144hz in CRU which felt smooth.
G-SYNC might not work at non-native resolutions, but it should work with GPU scaling.

Instead of using CRU, try editing NV_Modes in the registry: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...51#pid9851

Alright thank you!

What I still don't understand is, if I set the refresh rate at 120 or 144hz in CRU, my monitor will always run on 85hz, so I can only switch to 144hz in Nvidia. What I'm doing wrong?

And should I set it to exact 144hz or the number in de extension block (143.97)?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2020, 03:04 PM
Post: #4593
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-23-2020 02:59 PM)Scriba Wrote:  What I still don't understand is, if I set the refresh rate at 120 or 144hz in CRU, my monitor will always run on 85hz, so I can only switch to 144hz in Nvidia. What I'm doing wrong?
I don't know what you mean. It should run at the refresh rate you set it to.

(03-23-2020 02:59 PM)Scriba Wrote:  And should I set it to exact 144hz or the number in de extension block (143.97)?
Doesn't matter.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2020, 03:12 PM
Post: #4594
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-23-2020 03:04 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-23-2020 02:59 PM)Scriba Wrote:  What I still don't understand is, if I set the refresh rate at 120 or 144hz in CRU, my monitor will always run on 85hz, so I can only switch to 144hz in Nvidia. What I'm doing wrong?
I don't know what you mean. It should run at the refresh rate you set it to.

(03-23-2020 02:59 PM)Scriba Wrote:  And should I set it to exact 144hz or the number in de extension block (143.97)?
Doesn't matter.

I try do explain it different. After reseting to default there is only my native resolution 1920 x 1080 in detailed resolutions but with 60hz refresh rate. If I change to 144hz the screen goes black (too much pixel clock).
If I adjust manual or take LCD standart with 144hz my monitor does run only with 85hz.

I got recommend this tool, which I couldn't try out yet:

https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...ck-Patcher
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2020, 03:50 PM
Post: #4595
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-23-2020 03:12 PM)Scriba Wrote:  I try do explain it different. After reseting to default there is only my native resolution 1920 x 1080 in detailed resolutions but with 60hz refresh rate. If I change to 144hz the screen goes black (too much pixel clock).
If I adjust manual or take LCD standart with 144hz my monitor does run only with 85hz.
If your monitor can do 144 Hz, then it should already exist in the extension block. I don't see why you would be limited to 85 Hz. Export a file and post it here so I can see what you did.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2020, 11:28 PM (Last edited: 03-24-2020, 11:34 PM by sparkles38)
Post: #4596
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi guys. I'm in trouble with Freesync 2 HDR(It's grayed out in games). After i use cru there is no more 12 bpc color depth option in radeon settings. Only have 6,8,10. I tried to change pixel format to Full rgb, yCbCr but it didnt showing up. I only changed refresh rate 144 to 143 in cru for might be solve flickering problem but didn't work.

My monitor 27Samsung chg70.

I did ''reset all'' but no luck. update graphic driver, DDU still nothing changed.

Btw, does anyone know what this monitor's standart mode freesync range is ? Mine is 120-144 but ultimate 48-144. I dont know if it changed after messing up with this program.

Is there anyway to return factory settings?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2020, 12:26 AM
Post: #4597
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-24-2020 11:28 PM)sparkles38 Wrote:  I did ''reset all'' but no luck. update graphic driver, DDU still nothing changed.

Btw, does anyone know what this monitor's standart mode freesync range is ? Mine is 120-144 but ultimate 48-144. I dont know if it changed after messing up with this program.

Is there anyway to return factory settings?
Running reset-all.exe and rebooting returns all monitors to factory settings, and so does using DDU, so there shouldn't be anything left over. CRU doesn't change anything on the monitor itself.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2020, 03:45 AM
Post: #4598
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-24-2020 11:28 PM)sparkles38 Wrote:  Hi guys. I'm in trouble with Freesync 2 HDR(It's grayed out in games). After i use cru there is no more 12 bpc color depth option in radeon settings. Only have 6,8,10. I tried to change pixel format to Full rgb, yCbCr but it didnt showing up. I only changed refresh rate 144 to 143 in cru for might be solve flickering problem but didn't work.

My monitor 27Samsung chg70.

I did ''reset all'' but no luck. update graphic driver, DDU still nothing changed.

Btw, does anyone know what this monitor's standart mode freesync range is ? Mine is 120-144 but ultimate 48-144. I dont know if it changed after messing up with this program.

Is there anyway to return factory settings?
Do you know how many extension blocks the EDID of the Samsung has? CRU only deals with 3 which should be enough for most displays, but some displays have more extension blocks.

It would be useful to have a copy of the original EDID and the one created by CRU to see how it was changed. Post the hex or binary of each. Maybe try Monitor Asset Manager (moninfo.exe) also to make sure CRU is exporting the whole thing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-25-2020, 08:43 PM
Post: #4599
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello ToastyX,

I'm hoping you can help me out as I am in a pickle.

What is wrong with my default monitor behavior?
For the most part, my monitor works great. My main issue is that my Freesync range is a bit high, and I would like to lower it. If I leave my Freesync range at 50-144, I quite often get these screen flickers at high GFX settings (single-player gaming settings, not competitive).

What do I want to achieve?
I have noticed that I can lower the Freesync Range to 40-143 using CRU. This means I get less flickering and I can run my GPU at a lower frame rate for games that don't move very fast using the "AMD Chill" setting.

How am I attempting to make this change?
  1. Open CRU
  2. Select the active record
  3. Hit "Edit"
  4. Edit the Freesync range from 50-144 -> 40 ->143
  5. Close CRU, and execute Restart.exe

What is going wrong with it?
The Freesync range is applying correctly, and I do get less flickering. However, I am getting two unpleasant side effects. Both of these side effects occur when I wake up my machine from sleep.
  1. When the monitor starts it is half as bright. The brightness setting on the monitor is unchanged.
  2. The Windows "Native Resolution" and "Recommended Scaling" change to strange values. From 2560x1080 -> 640x480, from 100% scaling to 150% scaling recommendations.

The brightness can be fixed by restarting the graphics driver using Restart.exe. The Native Resolution can be fixed by reset-all.exe (but then I lose my changes).

Specifications
Monitor: GSM76FE - LG ULTRAWIDE
Native Res: 2560x1080
Native Freesync Range: 50-144
Max Hz: 144
GPU: Sapphire AMD RX Vega 56 Pulse (Undervolted, +50% P/L)
GPU driver: 20.2.2

Thank you for any help and guidance you can offer. I have attached my CRU export to this post.

Kind regards,
phufbq


Attached File(s)
.bin  GSM76FE_ULTRAWIDE.bin (Size: 256 bytes / Downloads: 8)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2020, 07:52 PM
Post: #4600
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-25-2020 08:43 PM)phufbq Wrote:  What is going wrong with it?
The Freesync range is applying correctly, and I do get less flickering. However, I am getting two unpleasant side effects. Both of these side effects occur when I wake up my machine from sleep.
  1. When the monitor starts it is half as bright. The brightness setting on the monitor is unchanged.
  2. The Windows "Native Resolution" and "Recommended Scaling" change to strange values. From 2560x1080 -> 640x480, from 100% scaling to 150% scaling recommendations.

The brightness can be fixed by restarting the graphics driver using Restart.exe. The Native Resolution can be fixed by reset-all.exe (but then I lose my changes).
The problem sounds like a driver bug since it only happens after waking up from sleep, so I don't know what you can do to work around it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 58 Guest(s)