Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-01-2020, 12:12 AM
Post: #4611
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(03-31-2020 04:18 AM)EeK Wrote:  However, on every boot, Windows is still defaulting to the "4k x 2k, 3840 x 2160" resolution (at 60Hz) listed under "Ultra HD, HD, SD", instead of the "3840 x 2160 (native)" resolution (at 66Hz) listed under "PC" (and the only detailed resolution in CRU).

ToastyX, do you have any idea what's going on, and if I can use CRU to force Windows to default to my resolution of choice?
I don't know. CRU only describes what the monitor can do. It's up the graphics driver and Windows to decide how to handle that. I don't see how you can force 66 Hz unless you get rid of 60 Hz, which is probably a TV resolution in the extension block.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2020, 10:37 AM
Post: #4612
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, i have a Samsung BX2335. It runs native 1920x1080p at 60hz and 1440x900p at 75hz. If i override 1080p from 60hz to 75hz will it damage or decrease it life?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2020, 11:52 PM
Post: #4613
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Having issues with my 27gl850-B monitor in terms of idle power draw (35W @144Hz 1440p)

Played with this and found a blanking setting (100H 100V) that drops the idle draw to 11W... However I am unable to choose the 10 bit colour depth anymore, and stuck with 8 bit depth.

If I dropped my monitor settings (device settings) to 120hz the idle goes down to 11W as well, and am still able to choose the 10 bit colour depth. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2020, 08:59 PM
Post: #4614
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-08-2020 10:37 AM)Abrantes Wrote:  Hi, i have a Samsung BX2335. It runs native 1920x1080p at 60hz and 1440x900p at 75hz. If i override 1080p from 60hz to 75hz will it damage or decrease it life?
75 Hz shouldn't damage it. Don't know about lifespan, but probably won't affect it much.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2020, 09:00 PM
Post: #4615
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-08-2020 11:52 PM)leepox Wrote:  Having issues with my 27gl850-B monitor in terms of idle power draw (35W @144Hz 1440p)

Played with this and found a blanking setting (100H 100V) that drops the idle draw to 11W... However I am unable to choose the 10 bit colour depth anymore, and stuck with 8 bit depth.

If I dropped my monitor settings (device settings) to 120hz the idle goes down to 11W as well, and am still able to choose the 10 bit colour depth. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Increased blanking means increased bandwidth, so probably not enough bandwidth.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-10-2020, 01:05 AM
Post: #4616
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-09-2020 09:00 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(04-08-2020 11:52 PM)leepox Wrote:  Having issues with my 27gl850-B monitor in terms of idle power draw (35W @144Hz 1440p)

Played with this and found a blanking setting (100H 100V) that drops the idle draw to 11W... However I am unable to choose the 10 bit colour depth anymore, and stuck with 8 bit depth.

If I dropped my monitor settings (device settings) to 120hz the idle goes down to 11W as well, and am still able to choose the 10 bit colour depth. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
Increased blanking means increased bandwidth, so probably not enough bandwidth.

Cheers Toasty, also found out that 10 bit doesn't really work with this monitor at 144hz in general (other users reporting similar issue). 120Hz it is!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2020, 07:33 PM (Last edited: 04-11-2020, 07:33 PM by josiadior)
Post: #4617
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Unable to set custom resolution on my laptop using cru
when i use detailed resolution i get black bars and when i use standard resolution I get red text and cant save
I updated all of my drivers what should i do
[Image: roQm8Xr.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2020, 11:45 PM
Post: #4618
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi! I've used your tool to change my monitors (LG-29um68p) timimings to the lcd standard which fixed my issue with my rx 580 boosting to it's max memory clock when watching videos in fullscreen. The only issue is that I have to use the restart.exe everytime after a pc reboot to make the settings stick. I've tried to reinstalling the gpu drivers but it didn't help. Any suggestions?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-12-2020, 10:57 AM
Post: #4619
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I got an issue using this excelent program. I am using acer xr341ck monitor with 3440x1440 resolution. Problem is that i cannot set 2560x1440 resolution in Starcraft 2. BUT if I set this resolution in CRU for 60 and 75hz, the option to set 2560x1440 magicaly appears and even works without problems. BUT if I do so, freesync appears in drivers as "Not supported" and obviously is not working. Is there any fix for this? Graphics vega 64
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-12-2020, 01:14 PM
Post: #4620
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-11-2020 07:33 PM)josiadior Wrote:  Unable to set custom resolution on my laptop using cru
when i use detailed resolution i get black bars and when i use standard resolution I get red text and cant save
I updated all of my drivers what should i do
Standard resolutions can only be certain aspect ratios, so you have to use detailed resolutions. CRU does not deal with scaling. Use GPU scaling in the GPU's control panel to control scaling. If you don't have that option, then there's nothing you can do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: ToastyX, 48 Guest(s)