Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-15-2020, 01:48 AM
Post: #5121
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-15-2020 12:57 AM)Poozy Wrote:  for real that sucks is there any way around because some people have said they go it to work idk
Use GPU scaling, but that won't change the active resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-15-2020, 08:59 AM (Last edited: 09-15-2020, 09:00 AM by andro299)
Post: #5122
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I was able to fix an issue I was having using cru a while back but every time I boot, the display starts off black. Running restart fixes it, but is there a way to prevent this from happening?

Extra info:
- the display in question is a Dell 2412M connected via DVI-d
- graphics card is a Nvidia 1060 6GB (Gigabyte's version)
- 3 displays, 1 on integrated graphics, 2 on the graphics card

The issue it fixed (as i remember it, it was quite some time ago)
- the display wouldnt show up in the display settings but would in the device manager
- i connected it over VGA and it worked (resolutions were whack though)
- i saved the original settings just in case
- connected it the way it was before and applied the settings
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2020, 02:21 AM (Last edited: 09-16-2020, 02:21 AM by ToastyX)
Post: #5123
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-15-2020 08:59 AM)andro299 Wrote:  I was able to fix an issue I was having using cru a while back but every time I boot, the display starts off black. Running restart fixes it, but is there a way to prevent this from happening?
If you have to run restart.exe after rebooting, then it's a driver bug. It sounds like something might be wrong with the EDID, which is probably triggering the issues. Try moving the monitor to the other GPU. You can use an HDMI-DVI adapter/cable if necessary.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2020, 09:02 PM
Post: #5124
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello, I have Lenovo T480 laptop and a 3840x2160 LG monitor. The laptop officially supports 4k@60hz over the USB-C port. However, I've bought an adapter rated for 4K@60 but no official tools allow me to go over 30hz.

I'm trying to use CRU to enable 3840x2160 60hz but the custom resolutions I set up never show up on Windows settings, even after rebooting. My laptop has an Intel HD 620 graphics adapter. The drivers available on the first page do not cover Coffee Lake-era chips like mine. What can I do to indeed enable the custom resolution?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2020, 12:34 AM
Post: #5125
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-16-2020 09:02 PM)henmartins Wrote:  Hello, I have Lenovo T480 laptop and a 3840x2160 LG monitor. The laptop officially supports 4k@60hz over the USB-C port. However, I've bought an adapter rated for 4K@60 but no official tools allow me to go over 30hz.

I'm trying to use CRU to enable 3840x2160 60hz but the custom resolutions I set up never show up on Windows settings, even after rebooting. My laptop has an Intel HD 620 graphics adapter. The drivers available on the first page do not cover Coffee Lake-era chips like mine. What can I do to indeed enable the custom resolution?
Newer CPUs should work with the latest drivers. There's no point in adding a resolution that the monitor already defines. You're not getting 60 Hz because the driver is not allowing it, usually because of bandwidth limitations. Either the laptop doesn't support 4K @ 60 Hz with that adapter, or the driver thinks it doesn't. CRU can't get around that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-17-2020, 02:21 AM
Post: #5126
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
i have a i5 3230 whit intel hd 4000 i can overclock the monitor Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2020, 11:30 AM
Post: #5127
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
513 pages and still going strong. Congrats ToastyX!!!!
That many pages also means a lot of people aren't going to go through them all to see if their question has been asked and answered already. I have a unique one, I'm sure.
CRU pulls up SO much info in the EDID. I was wondering if it can pull up information on G-Sync since it pulls up information on Freesync. And if so, can a G-Sync BIN be written onto a Freesync display?
I'm willing to try it out and mess around with it, but I don't have a G-Sync BIN, and not sure if that info is in the EDID and where.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2020, 06:53 PM
Post: #5128
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-18-2020 11:30 AM)mac_angel Wrote:  513 pages and still going strong. Congrats ToastyX!!!!
That many pages also means a lot of people aren't going to go through them all to see if their question has been asked and answered already. I have a unique one, I'm sure.
CRU pulls up SO much info in the EDID. I was wondering if it can pull up information on G-Sync since it pulls up information on Freesync. And if so, can a G-Sync BIN be written onto a Freesync display?
I'm willing to try it out and mess around with it, but I don't have a G-Sync BIN, and not sure if that info is in the EDID and where.
G-Sync doesn't use any information in the EDID. G-Sync requires hardware support. You can't just change the EDID to make it work.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-18-2020, 07:47 PM
Post: #5129
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-18-2020 06:53 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-18-2020 11:30 AM)mac_angel Wrote:  513 pages and still going strong. Congrats ToastyX!!!!
That many pages also means a lot of people aren't going to go through them all to see if their question has been asked and answered already. I have a unique one, I'm sure.
CRU pulls up SO much info in the EDID. I was wondering if it can pull up information on G-Sync since it pulls up information on Freesync. And if so, can a G-Sync BIN be written onto a Freesync display?
I'm willing to try it out and mess around with it, but I don't have a G-Sync BIN, and not sure if that info is in the EDID and where.
G-Sync doesn't use any information in the EDID. G-Sync requires hardware support. You can't just change the EDID to make it work.

damn. I kinda figured, but I was hoping I might get lucky. I still think it has to be something firmware related because at the beginning NVidia was saying they were going to start being able to use Freesync displays. From what I understand, some of these displays are only Freesync, have no specific G-Sync hardware in them.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Today, 07:43 AM
Post: #5130
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I dont know if someone already answered this, but theres already 500+ pages so.

I recently just followed itsjerian's tutorial on how to get stretched res in Season 3 chapter 4. I downloaded the whole (CRU) Custom Resolution Utility application and did everything step by step. Right now I added a detailed resolution which was 1722x1070,240 Hz. But every time I opened up fortnite my monitor displays 1920x1080,100HZ. Even though my game is still monitor is still stretched to 1722x1070, but now its on 100hz. I'm confused on why its displaying at 100hz. I don't know if this is meant to happen, but the game is still playable. Just wanted to know if there's a way I can fix my the 100hz into the 240hz keeping the same stretched res without increasing input delay.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 70 Guest(s)