Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
04-24-2021, 02:14 PM (Last edited: 04-24-2021, 02:16 PM by slakosd)
Post: #5811
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-19-2021 05:00 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(04-16-2021 09:25 AM)slakosd Wrote:  Right now my screen flickers occasionally instead of constantly. That's great because I had almost decided to throw the laptop hahah

The problem seems to be solvable adjusting the configuration of CRU as AMD can't do that correctly. But I don't know how to improve it.
Try reducing the blanking/totals.

I have tried all the posibilities and settings, with new drivers, with lenovo drivers (they are older version without Adrenalin interface). If I reduce more the blanking/totals I get a slow behaviour like slow motion.

The setting that "works" is "Exact reduced" and pushing restart driver when screen start to flickering again.

Definitively I give up.

Thanks a lot for your time and helpfull.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2021, 03:13 PM (Last edited: 04-26-2021, 03:38 PM by DAOWAce)
Post: #5812
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Did something change in the 'recent' NVIDIA drivers that affects this tool?

I've been using it for years, always adding detailed resolutions for my monitors (currently 34GK950F), but now none of the changes I make in the tool are taking effect.. when they used to before I updated my drivers to the most recent ones at time of writing. Was using a driver about ~5 months old before this.

If I follow along with deleting the default extension block, it completely screws up the resolution list, throwing a bunch of resolutions into a separate section in the NVCP and only showing 60/75/100Hz for the other resolutions (including native), when there should be 120/144Hz as well.

And it's also showing a duplicate non-present monitor in the list, which re-adds itself after being deleted (either via device manager or CRU) and restarting the driver.

I don't know what the hell is going on, but adding a custom resolution in NVCP works as expected, almost like CRU used to (shows as a "custom" resolution instead of a native one).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2021, 04:48 PM
Post: #5813
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
For whatever reason after following the guide on how to make 120hz setting, I lost the ability to set 4:4:4, I tried reset-all to no avail, Even DDU'd and reinstalled GPU drivers but I no longer have the option in NCP, Just 420 422 and RGB, reason I'm asking about 444 is because for w/e reason on RGB Text looks slightly thinner/jagged, vs 444, despite being on RGB Full.

Any suggestions on how to get 444 back would be greatly appreciated, using a 2080ti.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2021, 03:11 AM
Post: #5814
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2021 04:48 PM)LunaP Wrote:  For whatever reason after following the guide on how to make 120hz setting, I lost the ability to set 4:4:4, I tried reset-all to no avail, Even DDU'd and reinstalled GPU drivers but I no longer have the option in NCP, Just 420 422 and RGB, reason I'm asking about 444 is because for w/e reason on RGB Text looks slightly thinner/jagged, vs 444, despite being on RGB Full.
I don't see how. Nothing should persist after using DDU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2021, 03:13 AM
Post: #5815
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-26-2021 03:13 PM)DAOWAce Wrote:  Did something change in the 'recent' NVIDIA drivers that affects this tool?

I've been using it for years, always adding detailed resolutions for my monitors (currently 34GK950F), but now none of the changes I make in the tool are taking effect.. when they used to before I updated my drivers to the most recent ones at time of writing. Was using a driver about ~5 months old before this.

If I follow along with deleting the default extension block, it completely screws up the resolution list, throwing a bunch of resolutions into a separate section in the NVCP and only showing 60/75/100Hz for the other resolutions (including native), when there should be 120/144Hz as well.

And it's also showing a duplicate non-present monitor in the list, which re-adds itself after being deleted (either via device manager or CRU) and restarting the driver.

I don't know what the hell is going on, but adding a custom resolution in NVCP works as expected, almost like CRU used to (shows as a "custom" resolution instead of a native one).
You need to delete the default extension block, and then add a DisplayID 1.3 extension block with the detailed resolutions for 120/144 Hz. The default extension block issue has always existed with NVIDIA. The duplicate monitor entry gets created after running restart.exe and is not a problem.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2021, 03:13 AM
Post: #5816
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-23-2021 02:57 PM)Roro Wrote:  My system always freezes a few seconds after running restart.exe / restart64.exe and I have to restart it manually with the button on the case.
Windows 10 20H2
GeForce 466.11 WHQL driver (Clean installation preceded by DDU)
GTX 980 MSI
I can't do anything about that. The driver crashing would be a driver bug.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2021, 03:15 AM
Post: #5817
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-21-2021 04:51 PM)flep Wrote:  I'm trying to setup the TV as a UltraWide resolution, and while I can get native 3440x1440 @ 60hz, 3440x1440 @ 70hz with custom NVCP resolution and even 3840x1607 (which is nice as I then can disable scaling) @ 70Hz via NVCP, I can't figured out how to get 100mhz, which from my research should be supported by HDMI 2.0 at 3840 or 3440 resolutions

I did a few tries with CRU via Detailed Resolutions testing different modes for timing, none worked with 100hz, not even 75hz I can get to work.
The TV probably doesn't support higher refresh rates with non-CTA resolutions. Try 2560x1080 @ 100 Hz with "Automatic (HDTV)" timing.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2021, 03:17 AM
Post: #5818
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-19-2021 07:32 PM)vhalko Wrote:  I don't have a 2560x1080 75Hz detailed resolution. After a reset-all there is just a 2560x1080 59.999Hz and a 1920x1080 60Hz, exactly as you see them in the screenshot
Did you check the extension block?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2021, 03:21 AM
Post: #5819
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(04-19-2021 06:36 PM)Bart Wrote:  I love my new LG G1 , but there is big problem with this TV - you cannot turn on vrr in low frames games (FS2020, CP) because the gamma is constantly changing. I think the only remedy is to limit the fps when raising the lower limit of lfc. Unfortunately, however, I cannot raise this limit higher than 48 hz. Is there any way to get to 60 hz (120/2)?
Another problem concerns the lower limit of the lfc. From 40 hz you can't go down even to 39 hz because of the black frames.
Is it possible to change any other CRU parameter that will allow for example 35 hz to be obtained?
HDMI 2.1 VRR doesn't support minimum refresh rates higher than 48 Hz. The TV probably doesn't support VRR below 40 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2021, 12:12 PM
Post: #5820
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello,

I have an old laptop with an i3-3110M and HD 4000.

When I open CRU, it directly show me my screen resolution of 3440x1440@50Hz in "Detailed resolution", it is a 144hz screen but my other recent laptop also can't go higher than 50Hz so it's fine to me.

I did the export solution for old intel CPU and then use the restart and restart64 but nothing change, the higher it shows is 1920x1080.
I also tried different combination of resolution and refreshrate and nothing shows up.

I tried to use multiple versions of Intel Graphics control panel and they don't show higher resolutions either, if I try to set it up manually it tells me it fails.

Do I have to use "Extension block" ? You wrote that intel can't read it so I'm not sure.

I read a few of your replies and you said that some laptop don't allow EDID modification and an other reply saying intel broke it, is it up to date informations ?

Also this is a custom Windows 10 installation so there shouldn't be any weird limitation to the OS.

The model of the laptop is the Portege R930-14E, if it is of any help.

Also, there isn't a single 21/9 option even at lower resolution, I wouldn't mind going for a lower resolution but the aspect ratio is what bother me the most and I'm not sure if it is possible to do.

Anyway thank you for still supporting this tool after all these years!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 63 Guest(s)