Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
07-08-2021, 10:31 AM
Post: #5961
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-08-2021 02:32 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-06-2021 09:17 PM)MPCRU Wrote:  I have a samsung s34j55w, with freesync range 48-75. Its been happy to OC to 95Hz, most people take it that far. But I want to change the freesync range to 45-95z.
Its totally fine up to 40Hz, but blacks out at 33Hz.

How do I stop it going to 33Hz? I use the gsync demo by Nvidia, and it works great, but when i drop fps to 41, i expect the monitor to NOT go down to 41hz, because I limited the range. Instead, it carries on dropping to 33Hz, so instead of frame mismatches, I get black screens.
The monitor might not be able to handle the increased range correctly. FreeSync uses the max refresh rate as the base resolution, so that can affect the lower end as well. You might have to increase the lower end of the range. LFC is probably making it jump to 66 Hz when it's at 33 FPS.

Thanks toasty - why would my monitor black out (as if out-of-range) if @66Hz? Is that typical? Because it's very comfortable between 50-80Hz for sure.

Can it still black out so?

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-08-2021, 10:52 PM (Last edited: 07-08-2021, 10:56 PM by Alex)
Post: #5962
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi,
I use 3 monitors, 1 PG278Q (2560x1440 144hz), 1 PG278QR (2560x1440 165hz OC), 1 PG278QR (2560x1440 165hz OC).*
I use 3 displayports.
With Nvidia surround I can only have 7680x1440@ 120hz and 5760x1080@60hz.
Is it possible to use CRU to play at 7680x1440@144hz and 5760x1080@144zh ?


NVIDIA SURROUND
   
   
   

CRU detail for PG278Q
   
   
   


CRU detail for PG278QR (both same)
   
   
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2021, 01:23 PM (Last edited: 07-09-2021, 01:23 PM by ashlar)
Post: #5963
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-08-2021 02:39 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  I'm not sure what's happening here. Windows will list 23.976 Hz as 24 Hz, and then 23 Hz is added as an alias, so something must have changed because this is new behavior that I haven't seen before. Do you have 3840x2160 @ 24 Hz in the HDMI data block?

"Automatic (HDTV)" will give you the standard timing parameters, but 24 Hz uses a high horizontal front porch, so the CTA-861 timing will only appear if you add it in a DisplayID extension block. Adding it as a TV resolution will also use the CTA-861 timing.
I've redone the whole process. I set up the 23.976 and 24.000 custom resolution in the CTA-861 extension block, starting from HDTV timings.
Worked perfectly this time, with no need for DisplayID extension block. The only "strange" thing is that while the default resolutions show as RGB 10b 4L10, the custom ones are shown as RGB 10b TM. But everything is good, 10 bit and all (2160p24/23.976 does not need HDMI 2.1).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2021, 03:54 PM (Last edited: 07-09-2021, 03:55 PM by orangpelupa)
Post: #5964
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
i have lenovo yoga 6 13 laptop with
- Ryzen 4500u
- AUO5F2D screen with 40-60hz freesync range.

any idea why i cant change the freesync range to 30-40hz? I've tested with custom resolution at 30hz and the monitor works fine.

the spec
   
   

i tried this in CRU, but still stuck with 40-60hz range
   

i copied the H rate and pixel clock from a tutorial someone posted on reddit, for a completely different monitor.

is my issue due to incorrect pixel clock and h rate? how to find the right values?

thank you
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2021, 08:12 PM
Post: #5965
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-09-2021 03:54 PM)orangpelupa Wrote:  i copied the H rate and pixel clock from a tutorial someone posted on reddit, for a completely different monitor.

is my issue due to incorrect pixel clock and h rate? how to find the right values?
The range limits is not the FreeSync range unless it's DisplayPort, in which case it would already be filled in. Use the HDMI method: add a CTA-861 extension block and add a FreeSync data block. You will also need a 40 Hz detailed resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2021, 08:14 PM
Post: #5966
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-08-2021 10:52 PM)Alex Wrote:  I use 3 monitors, 1 PG278Q (2560x1440 144hz), 1 PG278QR (2560x1440 165hz OC), 1 PG278QR (2560x1440 165hz OC).*
I use 3 displayports.
With Nvidia surround I can only have 7680x1440@ 120hz and 5760x1080@60hz.
Is it possible to use CRU to play at 7680x1440@144hz and 5760x1080@144zh ?
Yes, make the timing parameters and frequencies for 2560x1440 @ 144 Hz match exactly on all three monitors.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2021, 08:15 PM
Post: #5967
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-08-2021 10:31 AM)MPCRU Wrote:  Thanks toasty - why would my monitor black out (as if out-of-range) if @66Hz? Is that typical? Because it's very comfortable between 50-80Hz for sure.

Can it still black out so?
Might be because if it drops below a certain range, LFC kicks in and doubles the refresh rate, so it might not be handling the sudden refresh rate change correctly with a custom range.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-09-2021, 09:08 PM (Last edited: 07-09-2021, 09:09 PM by Dannypa)
Post: #5968
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
My screen started to fail since I increased the HZ. The screen is flickering and it overlaps:

[Image: sm6AYGu.jpg]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjcZFI5-Yok

Help!

That happens even in the BIOS. Now I am using 60 HZ, and it doesn't work Sad.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-10-2021, 01:57 AM (Last edited: 07-10-2021, 02:11 AM by orangpelupa)
Post: #5969
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-09-2021 08:12 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-09-2021 03:54 PM)orangpelupa Wrote:  i copied the H rate and pixel clock from a tutorial someone posted on reddit, for a completely different monitor.

is my issue due to incorrect pixel clock and h rate? how to find the right values?
The range limits is not the FreeSync range unless it's DisplayPort, in which case it would already be filled in. Use the HDMI method: add a CTA-861 extension block and add a FreeSync data block. You will also need a 40 Hz detailed resolution.

I've added the freesync range (hdmi method) and it's still won't change the range.

Maybe because the screen is using eDP?

As the methods I've read are for DP and HDMI, but I can't find any for eDP

Edit: on a different laptop, someone managed to fiddle with freesync with a bin file it seems https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/a9...nt/ecj3714 but they didn't say anything what the bin file changes
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2021, 04:18 AM
Post: #5970
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)

Hi Toasty I have a question about LFC behavior on a gsync-compatible monitor.

I am working on my own diy strobed vrr solution for my VG279QM and the major barrier for single strobed vrr is LFC kicking in and sticking when i don't want it to.

for stable 60fps content LFC will remain off. but other times LFC will kick in and double frame it is very sticky and will not change back to 60hz easily.

I can set my v rate limit to 0 and disable LFC but my monitor will blankout at 24hz
only way I have been able to limit lfc sticking is with custom resolutions with lower refreshrates where LFC can't double frame.

Is LFC behavior controlled by the monitor or nvidia?

do you know of any means to control max LFC range without limiting max refresh? rate ideally i want lfc to only kick in to save the monitor from a blank out so 24hz min V rate double frame to 48hz. turn off as soon as framerate rises above 48fps.

no matter what v-rate max i use it doesn't effect LFC behavior as soon as you have a framerate dip in a loading screen for example double framing, triple framing and quad framing will occur and it is very sticky. often have to reset the resolution to get it to stop.

with LFC completely disabled vrr strobing works well but loading screens and other random things can cause monitor to blank outs.. not ideal.

here's my vrr single strobe in action

I'm willing to do anything to try and quell this lfc behavior im open to any ideas. I'm thinking hardware LFC disabled and software LFC might be the only way.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 51 Guest(s)