Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
07-11-2021, 07:56 PM
Post: #5971
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-11-2021 04:18 AM)elexor Wrote:  Is LFC behavior controlled by the monitor or nvidia?

do you know of any means to control max LFC range without limiting max refresh?
It's controlled by NVIDIA, and there's no way to disable it as far as I know.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2021, 07:57 PM
Post: #5972
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-10-2021 01:57 AM)orangpelupa Wrote:  Edit: on a different laptop, someone managed to fiddle with freesync with a bin file it seems https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/a9...nt/ecj3714 but they didn't say anything what the bin file changes
He did what I said to do, so if that doesn't work, then I don't know what will.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-11-2021, 07:57 PM
Post: #5973
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-09-2021 09:08 PM)Dannypa Wrote:  My screen started to fail since I increased the HZ. The screen is flickering and it overlaps:
How long ago did you increase the Hz?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2021, 02:03 AM (Last edited: 07-12-2021, 02:17 AM by Nintendo Maniac 64)
Post: #5974
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I've got a (admittedly relatively small) 1280x1024 monitor that I like to use in summer due to it's low power consumption (~10w) and therefore low heat output that always throws up a "out of range" warning message and then subsequently puts the monitor into standby if the refresh rate is set to anything other than 60Hz or 75Hz.

But AFAICT, any refresh rate from 47Hz up to 75Hz actually works fine as something like 50Hz and 72Hz actually does show a perfectly fine looking image despite the stupid "out of range" message and subsequent standby.

Interestingly I found that, on Linux, I can take the xrandr cvt modeline for 60Hz and manually change two of the values to create a 50Hz output that doesn't result in the monitor throwing up the infamous "out of range" message and does in fact keep the monitor awake, and the same similarly worked for manually turning the xrandr cvt modeline for 75Hz to create a working 72Hz and 71.92Hz output (I've also confirmed that it's not skipping frames or the like with my custom 50Hz output).

...yet in CRU, manually tuning a detailed resolution of 50Hz to use the same timings as 60Hz or 75Hz still results in the aforementioned "out of range" message.


So yeah, how would one go about getting this to work in CRU? For reference, these are the following custom xrandr modelines that I've created:

Code:
xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_49.99"  88.50  1280 1368 1496 1665  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
Code:
xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_71.92"  138.75  1280 1368 1504 1800  1024 1027 1034 1072 -hsync +vsync
Code:
xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_71.99"  138.75  1280 1368 1504 1798  1024 1027 1034 1072 -hsync +vsync
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2021, 05:54 AM (Last edited: 07-12-2021, 05:54 AM by MrVibrating)
Post: #5975
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I want to set up impossible screen modes solely to be used by windowed games spanning monitors.

I have 3 naff 1280x1024 monitors off a 1080Ti, for triplehead gaming.

Games with resizable or custom windowed sizes obviously span all 3 screens without issue..

..however many games will only offer window sizes that match the available screen mode resolutions.. in this case the standard resolutions up to 1280x1024.

So, i want to set up 3840x1024, even though i have no intention of trying to switch to it as a screen mode; - it will purely exist so that the above games will offer it as an available windowed resolution, thus to span all 3 monitors just like games with custom or resizable window resolutions.

Obviously, i'm having trouble setting up these impossible modes - the numbers get coloured red and the mode cannot be set..

Is there a workaround for this?

I found one already - simply connect a Matrox TH2G unit, and the 3840x1024 values are accepted.. except now the whole trick's redundant as the TH2G can provide such modes out of the box... obvs tho, in principle this extra hardware's entirely unnecessary if i only want a 'spoofed' standard res for spanning windowed modes.. see what i mean? I wanna be able to run without all the extra cabling and power consumption of this essentially-redundant extra peripheral..!? I already have viable triplehead hardware for spanning windowed modes!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2021, 11:10 PM (Last edited: 07-12-2021, 11:22 PM by LancerGV)
Post: #5976
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-08-2021 02:32 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  CRU only creates a description of what the monitor can do. It doesn't implement any of the functions, so that has to be a driver bug. Use the "Export..." button to save a file and attach it here so I can see if there's anything unusual about the monitor.

Sorry, had some net issues...


.bin  original.bin (Size: 128 bytes / Downloads: 29)

It's an older 1080p Sanyo TV. Very uncooperative with CRU. It seems that making any change at all and leaving it eventually causes some sort of failure, usually starting with disabling the sound over HDMI. It's not a random shutdown, I can play for hours without issue, but if I power off and on or enter and exit sleep it causes more and more problems until I need to use Reset All. Importing doesn't fix it.

I can play Luminous Avenger iX properly by deleting the default extension block and touching nothing else, as that wipes out most framerate modes in windows, including the offending 24fps one. Everything works fine, until the issues crop up.

EDIT: I'm not potentially on an "older" Intel iGPU, am I? I'm using an Intel Core i5 1035G7, and running the normal release of CRU. I don't need to do any weird extra stuff, right?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2021, 01:45 PM (Last edited: 07-13-2021, 01:48 PM by Dannypa)
Post: #5977
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-11-2021 07:57 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-09-2021 09:08 PM)Dannypa Wrote:  My screen started to fail since I increased the HZ. The screen is flickering and it overlaps:
How long ago did you increase the Hz?

80 HZ. It was working fine, and suddenly it started doing that. I set it back to 60 hertz, but it is still there. The monitor appears to be faulty, or it has been damaged.

[Image: 0oqpx9O.png]

For one month, everything worked perfectly/flawlessly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2021, 04:21 PM
Post: #5978
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, I've been running CRU settings through HDMI with a 60hz Samsung (dropping down to 47.95hz for movies) for the last few years, in 5 different modes (PAL, NTSC, BR etc).. so that my video player adjusts it's refresh rate to sync with video playback. It's been really good, I've even been able to watch YT videos like this.

Now I have a new monitor and coming back to trying to remember how I set this up in the first place. It's an LG with 165hz but I'll probably be wanting to use it with 100-120hz depending on the source video.

It's like I am starting from scratch all over again. I won't be testing anything for a few weeks but I just wanted to ask in advance.. is there any advantages in terms of CRU 's detailed resolutions.. in terms of HDMI vs Display Port? I've never had any problems with HDMI so far, so it makes me want to stay with that because I know it works.. but DP is newer and presumably better? Is there any advantages or disadvantages for Display Port vs HDMI with CUR? I'm not concerned with gaming or freesync at the moment just the video playback for 23.976, 29.970, 50 and 59.940 fps videos.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2021, 01:12 PM
Post: #5979
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-13-2021 04:21 PM)Jonotallica Wrote:  It's like I am starting from scratch all over again. I won't be testing anything for a few weeks but I just wanted to ask in advance.. is there any advantages in terms of CRU 's detailed resolutions.. in terms of HDMI vs Display Port? I've never had any problems with HDMI so far, so it makes me want to stay with that because I know it works.. but DP is newer and presumably better? Is there any advantages or disadvantages for Display Port vs HDMI with CUR? I'm not concerned with gaming or freesync at the moment just the video playback for 23.976, 29.970, 50 and 59.940 fps videos.
With HDMI, if you're using YCbCr or limited range RGB, you end up with less color precision because the range is 16-235 instead of 0-255. If you use full range RGB or DisplayPort, that's not a problem. Also some high refresh rate monitors don't support higher refresh rates with HDMI.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-14-2021, 01:13 PM
Post: #5980
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-13-2021 01:45 PM)Dannypa Wrote:  For one month, everything worked perfectly/flawlessly.
Then the panel is faulty and the refresh rate probably didn't cause the problem unless there's a design flaw in the controller board.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 41 Guest(s)