Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
07-23-2021, 06:53 PM
Post: #5991
Dear Developer!
i am so confused of using CRU. i have no idea how to actually use this app. but ive search throughout google that CRU are the best app to reduce latest and boost fps for gaming. so, will you help me to custom my monitor for max and boost fps. sorry for my bad english.

i am using Samsung C24F390 FreeSync 60hz monitor. I managed to overclock my monitor to 73hz, when i try to go higher than 73hz i get blackscreen. so will provide me the best setting for my monitor?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-27-2021, 04:12 AM
Post: #5992
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Goodnight. I recently started testing custom resolutions here like 1600x1200 at 64HZ and finally 1920x1440 at 48HZ on my Samsung SyncMaster 794MBplus crt. There's just one problem. The 1920x1440 resolution at 48HZ is not displayed after I select it and apply it in windows. In fact any resolution below 50hz cannot be applied and the monitor screen goes black. Do you have any solution for this?
NOTE: I am not exceeding the horizontal frequency limit which is 72khz. It should be possible to display video modes below 50HZ on this monitor.

https://i.imgur.com/OX9Raq3.jpg
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2021, 01:32 AM
Post: #5993
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-27-2021 04:12 AM)falcao123456 Wrote:  Goodnight. I recently started testing custom resolutions here like 1600x1200 at 64HZ and finally 1920x1440 at 48HZ on my Samsung SyncMaster 794MBplus crt. There's just one problem. The 1920x1440 resolution at 48HZ is not displayed after I select it and apply it in windows. In fact any resolution below 50hz cannot be applied and the monitor screen goes black. Do you have any solution for this?
NOTE: I am not exceeding the horizontal frequency limit which is 72khz. It should be possible to display video modes below 50HZ on this monitor.
Many monitors will reject refresh rates below 50 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2021, 01:32 AM
Post: #5994
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-23-2021 06:53 PM)behenkicut Wrote:  i am so confused of using CRU. i have no idea how to actually use this app. but ive search throughout google that CRU are the best app to reduce latest and boost fps for gaming. so, will you help me to custom my monitor for max and boost fps. sorry for my bad english.

i am using Samsung C24F390 FreeSync 60hz monitor. I managed to overclock my monitor to 73hz, when i try to go higher than 73hz i get blackscreen. so will provide me the best setting for my monitor?
You're thinking too hard. If you were able to get 73 Hz, then you know how to use CRU. I can't recommend what's best for your monitor because I don't have your monitor. I provided different timing calculators to make it easier to use detailed resolutions, but it's possible the monitor can't handle more than 73 Hz no matter what.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2021, 01:33 AM
Post: #5995
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-20-2021 01:27 PM)hayan Wrote:  I have had this problem where I am unable to use interlaced modes for my CRT. I am able to set the resolutions on CRU but whenever I try to use it (whether through nvidia control panel or through show all modes in windows display settings) I am immediately forced back to a progressive refresh rate. (Note that I am not using any adapters and that I have also tried reinstalling my drivers).
That would be an NVIDIA driver bug.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-28-2021, 09:58 PM (Last edited: 07-28-2021, 09:58 PM by Ninelpienel)
Post: #5996
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Is it possible to set the output audio to 4.1? My system is only 4.1 and with 5.1 I only get left and right sound.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-31-2021, 06:44 PM (Last edited: 07-31-2021, 06:52 PM by Joshaze)
Post: #5997
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@ToastyX

Would you consider adding a "CVT-RB3 Draft" timing calculator to CRU, perhaps to a test version?

The proposed VESA Reduced Blank v3 timings "facilitate Adaptive-Sync operation and guarantee attainment of target refresh rate"

The changes can be found in the CVT_1.2_Errata_E2.pdf document hosted on VESA's Public file share in the CVT subfolder.

VESA Free Standards info page

Link to access the downloadable VESA Public Standards --link found on the page linked above

VESA Public Standards look in the CVT folder.

I appreciate you, your time, and your awesome tool!

P.S. This assumes Windows and the video drivers will currently support these timings. I would think that it would since its just display timings but I don't know how the timings interact with the OS and the display driver or if they go through any standards validation.


Attached File(s)
.pdf  CVT_1.2_Errata_E2.pdf (Size: 229.86 KB / Downloads: 35)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-01-2021, 08:26 AM (Last edited: 08-01-2021, 10:36 AM by JayBee)
Post: #5998
Crash issues with CRU?
Hey guys,

I recently bought a LG 55nano91 4K TV and a RTX 3060, and I am trying to remove the 4096x2160 resolutions that prevent the GPU scaling from working correctly at 120Hz (defaults to 4096 instead of the native 3840 horizontal res).

Issue is that if I edit anything with CRU on that monitor, when I restart the display drivers or restart the PC, my screens (I got 2 screens connected) blink a bit and then windows crashes, mouse cursor frozen and nothing reacts.
Unplugging the TV, rebooting the PC, then deleting the modified driver in CRU solves the issue, but then if I edit again it comes back.

I bet it has something to do with the extension blocks reading/writing?
It's mentioned in the first post that there is an issue with Nvidia and reading the extra extension blocks, but I really don't understand how to fix that issue Undecided

Edit:
Also worth noting that the issue happens only if I modify the TV blocks, it works fine editing the other screen.
And my TV is HDMI 2.1, which is where the issue is coming from I think.

Edit2: tried deleting and redoing the extension block several times, but always end up with the same issue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-01-2021, 10:29 PM (Last edited: 08-01-2021, 10:31 PM by wrathloki)
Post: #5999
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I’m trying to remove the 4096x2160 resolutions from the EDID of my LG CX (to get rid of black bars in certain games) and I’m running into a problem. After deleting these resolutions, closing CRU, and restarting the computer or running the restart tool I get no signal on all monitors connected. I have to forcibly shut down the computer, disconnect the HDMI, boot back up, and run the reset tool before reconnecting the HDMI to get the TV displaying again. How can I get this to work? My video card is a 3070ti and current drivers are 471.41.

Edit: Looks like I’m having the same exact problem as JayBee, also with an LG set.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-02-2021, 01:56 AM
Post: #6000
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(07-28-2021 09:58 PM)Ninelpienel Wrote:  Is it possible to set the output audio to 4.1? My system is only 4.1 and with 5.1 I only get left and right sound.
That's more up to the Windows speaker setup and the sound driver. I don't know if Windows has a way to do 4.1 audio. The EDID only specifies the maximum number of channels per audio format, and the speaker data block isn't used for anything in Windows.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 62 Guest(s)