Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
08-24-2020, 08:05 PM (Last edited: 08-24-2020, 08:07 PM by joevt)
Post: #5081
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-24-2020 05:12 PM)vigan1 Wrote:  Yes Latest driver and old also same results. Tried 1709 and 2004, same results.

It might be an edid corruption.
Maybe because I updated to the latest bios ?

I have extracted the edid with Entech MonInfo Monitor Asset Manager, and here is what it said :
https://ctxt.io/2/AAAguPg5FA

Do you have any idea what would cause it ?

EDIT : By perfect timing I meant 20ms frame, which is an even number

edid-decode says this:
Code:
EDID version: 1.4
FAIL: Manufacturer name field contains garbage
Manufacturer: MS_ Model 3 Serial Number 3
Made in year 2002
Digital display
8 bits per primary color channel
DisplayPort interface
Maximum image size: 28 cm x 19 cm
Gamma is defined in an extension block
DPMS levels: Off
Supported color formats: RGB 4:4:4, YCrCb 4:4:4
Default (sRGB) color space is primary color space
FAIL: sRGB is signaled, but the chromaticities do not match
First detailed timing includes the native pixel format and preferred refresh rate
Display is continuous frequency
Color Characteristics
  Red:   0.6250, 0.3398
  Green: 0.2851, 0.6054
  Blue:  0.1484, 0.0625
  White: 0.2812, 0.3085
Established Timings I & II: none
Standard Timings: none
Detailed mode: Clock 361.000 MHz, 285 mm x 190 mm
               3000 3008 3016 3360 (  8   8 344)
               2000 2008 2016 2064 (  8   8  48)
               +hsync +vsync
               VertFreq: 52.054 Hz, HorFreq: 107.440 kHz
Display Product Name: HXTE133E27I3P
Display Range Limits
  Monitor ranges (GTF): 52-52 Hz V, 176-176 kHz H, max dotclock 370 MHz
FAIL: Byte 11 is 0x00 instead of 0x0a
FAIL: Byte 12 is 0x00 instead of 0x20
Empty Descriptor
FAIL: Use Dummy Descriptor instead of all zeroes
Checksum: 0xcd
WARN: One or more of the timings is out of range of the Monitor Ranges:
    Vertical Freq: 52 - 52 Hz (Monitor: 52 - 52 Hz)
    Horizontal Freq: 107.440 - 107.440 kHz (Monitor: 176.000 - 176.000 kHz)
    Maximum Clock: 361.000 MHz (Monitor: 370.000 MHz)

Fix the vertical freq range so it is between 49 and 52 Hz.
Fix the last descriptor so that it uses Dummy Descriptor bytes (000000100000000000000000000000000000) instead of zero bytes (000000000000000000000000000000000000). Descriptors containing only zero bytes are Empty Descriptors which are used only in the CTA block.

Below are some timings with the pixel clock altered to get closer to 50 Hz (to 1/1000th of a Hz maybe)
Code:
timing  w   ,hfp,hsw,hbp,   h,vfp,vsw,vbp,  pclk,positive hsync
GTF     3000,228,329,557,2000,  1,  3, 54,423331,5
CVT     3000,228,329,557,2000,  3, 10, 47,423742,5
CVT-RB  3000, 48, 32, 80,2000,  3, 10, 35,323584,5
CVT-RB2 3000,  8, 32, 40,2000, 34,  8,  6,315392,5

It's impossible to get exactly 50 Hz. Pixel clock should be integer MHz to guarantee that a GPU will try to achieve it exactly, otherwise a GPU may round the pixel clock to the nearest 0.25 MHz or 0.10 MHz or 0.01 MHz or whatever precision the GPU uses which will then change the refresh rate. If the pixel clock changes but you want the refresh rate to remain the same, then you need to alter the number of pixels in the horizontal or vertical blanking.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2020, 08:33 PM (Last edited: 08-24-2020, 09:01 PM by vigan1)
Post: #5082
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thank you guys. I think I know what is going on.

I updated the bios, then my laptop changed from default using "Generic PnP monitor" inf, to "Digital Flat panel (1024*768 60Hz)" inf, after a fresh windows install. Which is in itself weird, since my laptop use the surface book display and the resolution on the desktop is still 3000*2000.

When I uninstall the Intel drivers, I can set back the "Generic PnP monitor" and indeed I see that the screen is 64Hz. But when reinstall the drivers, it get back to 52hz LOCKED automatically. It seems that the intel drivers default to the internal EDID of the screen (which was updated with the new bios). Intel choose and lock 52Hz and also select "Digital Flat panel (1024*768 60Hz)" inf in the device manager. On linux the drivers don't care and choose 3000*2000*59.99Hz.

The bios/Firmware update messed up everything.

Prior the Bios update I had a problem with screen flicker, then the manufacturer relased another bios to fix the problem.

With the 1st bios my monitor was identified as MONITOR/MEI96A2 vendor (surface book 13.5" windows update installed "SurfaceDisplay.inf").
Now with the 2nd bios it is MONITOR/MS_0003 so the edid/firmware was probably changed !!!

Do you know what I could do to get only the EDID or the screen firmware back but keep the new bios ?

Can I send you the bios and firmware file of the 2 bios ?
Can a windows EDID override fix the problem, or is it at a deeper level like screen firmware ?

Thank you and sorry it is not on the topic anymore...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2020, 09:11 PM
Post: #5083
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-24-2020 08:33 PM)vigan1 Wrote:  When I uninstall the Intel drivers, I can set back the "Generic PnP monitor" and indeed I see that the screen is 64Hz.
The default basic display driver always lists 64 Hz. That's not the true refresh rate. Are you able to set 60 Hz with CRU?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2020, 09:32 PM (Last edited: 08-25-2020, 10:31 AM by vigan1)
Post: #5084
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
No it does not allow me to set anything but 52Hz.
But the other resolutions 50Hz and 25Hz, don't appear in Windows "Display adapter properties", the drop down menu only shows 52Hz.
EDIT : EVEN when I delete the 52Hz resolution in CRU, then put another one at 25Hz, after restart the 52Hz is back !!!

I can't select them also in the intel Graphic control Panel, it only show 52Hz, and I can't set custom resolution there (out of range even if I create a 800*600*30Hz...).

But CRU works and the custom resolutions can be found; in the intel control panel, under "Option and Support" "Built-in display" "supported Modes", here I can see the 2 of them listed alongside the Locked "3000 x 2000 (52p Hz)". But I can't choose them.

I really think the EDID or firmware is flawed. And the intel driver can only use the range 52Hz to 52Hz.
When I capture the EDID of my HDMI screen the range is 50 to 75Hz.

Any idea what it could be ? I am lost.

My panel is Panasonic MEI96A2, product name VVX14P048M00.
I found an EDID here : https://linux-hardware.org/index.php?pro...2&log=edid
Can someone make me an EDID override INF from this ?

EDIT : Hi guys I reinstalled windows, then installed the latest intel drivers here (igfx_win10_100.8587.exe).
I am still locked at 52Hz. Then I Used CRU deleted the 52Hz Resolution from it. Added another one at 50Hz, Restarted.
Here is the result after the restart : the 52Hz is still there, and I can't select another resolution but the 52hz :
https://i.postimg.cc/FKgTJ1KP/Capture.png

Second method : I used Ntlite to remove all Monitor drivers/INF from the ISO. Installed the modified iso, and intel drivers still pick 52Hz !!!
Is it possible to lock a screen refresh rate from the bios ?
I will recheck under linux and see if I have real 60hz or dropped frames.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-25-2020, 03:44 PM (Last edited: 08-25-2020, 04:52 PM by vigan1)
Post: #5085
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi here is what I have under ubuntu, the edid is fine :
[Image: Screenshot-from-2020-08-25-15-39-11.png]
[Image: Screenshot-from-2020-08-25-15-42-58.png]
Any idea ?
So the problem is in the bios ? something tell windows and the intel drivers to choose 52hz ?
Before the bios update windows let me choose the refresh rate, and I was at 60Hz.
I think I need and EDID Override INF to test, can someone know how to do it ?
With the values I have provided.

EDIT : I made this inf in Monitor asset is this an EDID Override ?
https://ctxt.io/2/AADAn2QFFw
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-25-2020, 04:38 PM (Last edited: 08-26-2020, 03:49 AM by bampi)
Post: #5086
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have questions regarding effect of changing Vertical Blanking to my monitor.

I have the "memclock maxed out at 144 Hz" issue (not downclocking at idle).

I made a backup first of my monitor's original config. So at the CRU 1st page, it says low vertical blanking causes this maxed out memclock thing. So what I did was to change only the Vertical Blanking from 50 to 100. And it worked! Pixel clock is less than max of 600 Mhz (HDMI 2) so I feel it is fine. But..

1. Can anyone explain how this works?
2. I noticed that increasing the VB also increased back porch V and total V lines. Will this affect my monitor in any way? Like its parts, its health, gaming experience (flickering, etc)?
3. Freesync is now disabled in AMD Software. Can this be fixed?

[Image: 144hz-100vb.png]

ViewSonic VX2758-2KP-MHD
1440p @ 144 Hz using HMDI 2
60, 120, 144 Hz are the default refresh rates of this monitor

EDIT: I only doubled the VB but LOL lots of flickering in games. It also broke Freesync. I had to delete - reboot to bring my monitor back to default.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-2020, 10:44 AM (Last edited: 08-26-2020, 12:35 PM by vigan1)
Post: #5087
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hello guys, I fixed my screen refresh rate, and it was the bios !!!!

More specifically in the CSM module.
I had to boot the GPU in "Legacy mode" to get rid of the VideoBios messing the settings under windows. Booting with the GPU in "UEFI mode" = 52hz.
The weird thing is that if I disable CSM completely I am locked again at 52hz in Win10.

Maybe even an EDID override would have not worked in UEFI mode. GPU probably had a baked in EDID or setting in UEFI mode ?

To fix the screen flicker they probably had to modify the VideoBios and they messed up the uefi mode ?
It seems Linux don't care about CSM settings, and use legacy mode for video probably ??? that is why it was not affected ?

Now my screen is recognized as MEI96A2, and the refresh rate is 60.
I can set it at 50hz in CRU now !

Thank you very much.
I left the solution here in hope to help anyone with the same problem.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-2020, 04:09 PM
Post: #5088
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-25-2020 03:44 PM)vigan1 Wrote:  I think I need and EDID Override INF to test, can someone know how to do it ?
With the values I have provided.

EDIT : I made this inf in Monitor asset is this an EDID Override ?
https://ctxt.io/2/AADAn2QFFw
CRU already creates EDID overrides, so it probably wouldn't have mattered. Glad you found a solution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-26-2020, 04:10 PM
Post: #5089
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-25-2020 04:38 PM)bampi Wrote:  1. Can anyone explain how this works?
2. I noticed that increasing the VB also increased back porch V and total V lines. Will this affect my monitor in any way? Like its parts, its health, gaming experience (flickering, etc)?
3. Freesync is now disabled in AMD Software. Can this be fixed?
1. Increasing the vertical blanking gives the GPU more time between screen refreshes to retrain the memory when changing clock speeds. If the vertical blanking is too low, it won't have enough time to retrain the memory without corrupting the screen contents.
2. Increasing the blanking also increases the bandwidth used, but as long as it works, there shouldn't be a problem. The monitor might not be able to display the increased blanking correctly though.
3. I don't see why that would disable FreeSync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-27-2020, 10:15 AM (Last edited: 08-27-2020, 12:15 PM by vigan1)
Post: #5090
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(08-26-2020 04:09 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(08-25-2020 03:44 PM)vigan1 Wrote:  I think I need and EDID Override INF to test, can someone know how to do it ?
With the values I have provided.

EDIT : I made this inf in Monitor asset is this an EDID Override ?
https://ctxt.io/2/AADAn2QFFw
CRU already creates EDID overrides, so it probably wouldn't have mattered. Glad you found a solution.
Thank you for your kindness.

2 days ago, the manufacturer responded me saying "Yes the latest and Final bios lock the refresh rate at 52Hz. Thank you for your support.", I am pretty sure they don't care to fix it they are one of the new Chinese manufacturer.

To get perfect 50hz and 25Hz, do I have to just let CRU use "Automatic - LCD standard" and Input 50hz ?
Or should I do it manually from the value present in the edid of my screen ?

Because If I use AUTOMATIC, the polarity is +/-, but after a fresh install of linux or windows the polarity is +/+.
EDIT : In the EDID it' also +/+ , is it really affecting the panel ?

Thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 76 Guest(s)