Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-12-2022, 03:41 PM
Post: #6581
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-06-2022 01:31 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-05-2022 07:14 AM)Phibbl Wrote:  Just did that and cant go above 76Hz. Do i have to change something else besides the vertical range limiits?
What happens above 76 Hz?

Sorry for the late reply. Didn't realize that you answered my post Confused
At 77Hz my Pixels are kinda misalligned and after 78Hz my screen just stays black.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-12-2022, 04:01 PM
Post: #6582
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Can I add a detailed resolution without taking it to the first place and setting it as the second? Leaving the default first as native and the new one with the same resolution but different hz in second place? Can this cause problems or visual differences from setting it as the first resolution? Thanks for any reply
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-12-2022, 05:20 PM (Last edited: 05-12-2022, 05:23 PM by ZoRG172)
Post: #6583
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
ToastyX
Hello, thanks for your software. I have a TV 4K/120 Hz. I need to make a custom resolution like 3200x1800/80Hz. I used to just create it in the Nvidia control panel, or enable their scaling feature to add intermediate resolutions. But now, when such resolutions are enabled, the color signal becomes 4:2:2. In native 3840x2160 120Hz produces true 4:4:4. It started with all the latest nvidia drivers.
Using your Scaled Resolution Editor (SRE) utility, I created a custom resolution of 3200x1800 and it works with 4:4:4 chroma, but you can only select standard 60/100/120 Hz refresh rates, and I need 80Hz.
Through CRU, I added a resolution with the parameters from the screenshot via DisplayID 2.0, but it still goes into color 4.2.2. How to be? Can it be possible to replace the standard 100Hz refresh rate with 80Hz?
Screen


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-13-2022, 12:20 AM
Post: #6584
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-12-2022 05:20 PM)ZoRG172 Wrote:  Through CRU, I added a resolution with the parameters from the screenshot via DisplayID 2.0, but it still goes into color 4.2.2. How to be? Can it be possible to replace the standard 100Hz refresh rate with 80Hz?
I don't see why that wouldn't work at 4:4:4 if the GPU supports HDMI 2.1. That sounds like a driver bug or some limitation. HDMI 2.1 displays normally use CTA-861 standard TV resolutions, so maybe there's some NVIDIA-specific issue with non-TV resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-13-2022, 12:20 AM
Post: #6585
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-12-2022 04:01 PM)Razkain Wrote:  Can I add a detailed resolution without taking it to the first place and setting it as the second? Leaving the default first as native and the new one with the same resolution but different hz in second place? Can this cause problems or visual differences from setting it as the first resolution? Thanks for any reply
Yes, you can do that. The first detailed resolution is what Windows considers the native resolution, and if GPU scaling is enabled in the driver, lower resolutions are scaled to that resolution. Other refresh rates at the native resolution can be in any position. The position doesn't affect anything visually other than determining what resolution to use for GPU scaling if enabled.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-13-2022, 12:20 AM
Post: #6586
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-12-2022 03:41 PM)Phibbl Wrote:  Sorry for the late reply. Didn't realize that you answered my post Confused
At 77Hz my Pixels are kinda misalligned and after 78Hz my screen just stays black.
Then the monitor can't handle higher refresh rates.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-14-2022, 04:06 AM
Post: #6587
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Well something wild just happened Toasty.

Radeon cards allows EDID overrides with MST hubs!

I just installed latest preview driver for Radeon cards, the one that improves DX11 performance in a lot of games, and suddenly all resolutions I've tried to add with CRU are taking. Pretty sweet!

Still have some testing to see if there are any pixel clock limits or anything like that

Soon I'll try the scaled resolution editor too, maybe that is also fixed.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-15-2022, 05:15 AM
Post: #6588
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-14-2022 04:06 AM)CRTFTW Wrote:  Radeon cards allows EDID overrides with MST hubs!

I just installed latest preview driver for Radeon cards, the one that improves DX11 performance in a lot of games, and suddenly all resolutions I've tried to add with CRU are taking. Pretty sweet!
That's good to hear.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-15-2022, 03:13 PM
Post: #6589
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Is there any way to set the bpc (8,10,12) 'Output Color Depth' setting in the resolutions created by CRU?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2022, 06:37 PM
Post: #6590
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-15-2022 03:13 PM)Bombadil Wrote:  Is there any way to set the bpc (8,10,12) 'Output Color Depth' setting in the resolutions created by CRU?
There's no way to set the color depth for specific resolutions. You shouldn't need to because the color depths should be available at all resolutions, if bandwidth permits. For HDMI, the available color depths are defined in the HDMI data blocks in the CTA-861 extension block. For DisplayPort, the maximum color depth is defined in the display properties ("Edit..." button at the top).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 56 Guest(s)