Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
01-20-2023, 04:06 AM
Post: #7181
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Is there any way to correct the off center output? I'm trying to get 30hz-ish, I got everything else cleared up, but not sure how to fix this last issue.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-20-2023, 06:34 AM (Last edited: 01-20-2023, 06:38 AM by sweetee)
Post: #7182
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys,

Can someone please help me
I have a problem that I can't see the HD video, although the video is HD. I have the problem two days ago. Where is the problem from?


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2023, 01:43 AM
Post: #7183
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-19-2023 03:44 PM)nachoomm Wrote:  Hi, i have a problem that started like months ago with CRU, I create a resolution with 75hz (my monitor is 60hz) and all goes good i can use it and that, no black screen,etc but after some restarts sometimes when i turn on my pc the resolution goes back to 60hz and if i launch a game it switches instantly to 75 hz or if i restart pc its on 75 again, i tried a different hdmi, timings,etc but nothing idk if someone had this problem, its very stressing changing the resolution sometimes when i turn on hte pc.[/font]
CRU has no control over that. That's entirely dependent on Windows and the graphics driver. The refresh rate should not change between boots unless there's a driver bug.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2023, 01:44 AM
Post: #7184
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-20-2023 12:35 AM)xfvhn Wrote:  2. Sorry, it`s seems what I didn`t understand how to configure the CRU. I thought, that I need to add resolution to DisplayID 1.3 extension block, and than add it to detailed resolution block. Is it wrong?
Why would you need to add it twice? You can't add 5120x1440 in the main window anyway as the first post explains.

(01-20-2023 12:35 AM)xfvhn Wrote:  3. It`s no speed limitation via dock (Dell HD22Q), or cable. I`ve been tried to connect MacBook Air M1 to the same dock with the same cable, and all work fine.
There's some limitation somewhere, but it could be a graphics driver bug or some miscommunication between the laptop and the dock.

For DisplayPort, the Samsung Neo G9 uses DisplayID instead of EDID in 240 Hz mode, which could be triggering the problem with the dock. If you disable 240 Hz mode in the monitor's menus by setting it to 120 Hz, that might work around the problem.

For HDMI, 5120x1440 @ 60 Hz shouldn't be a problem unless it's limited to HDMI 1.x. There should be an HDMI data block and an HDMI 2.0 data block in a CTA-861 extension block as mentioned in the first post.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2023, 01:44 AM
Post: #7185
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-20-2023 04:06 AM)designgears Wrote:  Is there any way to correct the off center output? I'm trying to get 30hz-ish, I got everything else cleared up, but not sure how to fix this last issue.
Usually that only happens if the display can't handle the resolution or refresh rate. Sometimes changing the porches can affect the positioning, but normally that makes no difference.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2023, 03:25 AM (Last edited: 01-21-2023, 03:25 AM by designgears)
Post: #7186
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-21-2023 01:44 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-20-2023 04:06 AM)designgears Wrote:  Is there any way to correct the off center output? I'm trying to get 30hz-ish, I got everything else cleared up, but not sure how to fix this last issue.
Usually that only happens if the display can't handle the resolution or refresh rate. Sometimes changing the porches can affect the positioning, but normally that makes no difference.

That's what I was afraid of, porches do nothing, it starts wrapping the screen around 45hz and looks like there isn't much that can be done about it. Oh well, thanks for the help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-21-2023, 10:24 PM
Post: #7187
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Still an issue with monitors connected via adapters from DVI > DP/HDMI.

After now 4 new driver updates, problems still persist regarding only allowing to choose 1024x768 on my 2nd monitor.

Seems to not be a fix for NVIDIA, even though it has worked with older drivers.
This needs to be fixed.

Older monitors don't have specific display drivers, they just use generic ones , so you cant install new drivers for the monitor!

Would CRU be able fix this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2023, 06:43 PM
Post: #7188
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-21-2023 01:43 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(01-19-2023 03:44 PM)nachoomm Wrote:  Hi, i have a problem that started like months ago with CRU, I create a resolution with 75hz (my monitor is 60hz) and all goes good i can use it and that, no black screen,etc but after some restarts sometimes when i turn on my pc the resolution goes back to 60hz and if i launch a game it switches instantly to 75 hz or if i restart pc its on 75 again, i tried a different hdmi, timings,etc but nothing idk if someone had this problem, its very stressing changing the resolution sometimes when i turn on hte pc.[/font]
CRU has no control over that. That's entirely dependent on Windows and the graphics driver. The refresh rate should not change between boots unless there's a driver bug.
i tried different windows and drivers, no solution
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-23-2023, 01:29 PM
Post: #7189
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(01-11-2023 02:37 AM)bobrob Wrote:  
(01-03-2023 05:57 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(12-30-2022 04:30 AM)alexaedita Wrote:  Just went from 6700XT to 7900XT.
On 6700XT I was able to force 4.2.0 Chroma to get my 4K TV 60HZ do a 120 HZ with 2.0 HDMI. Not so much with 7900XT. Am I to assume that is a driver issue?
Report EDID overrides not working with the 7900XT to AMD using their bug reporting tool: https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/faq/amdbrt

I reported the bug to AMD. I too bought a 7900xt and need CRU to change the VRR range of my monitor from 1-240 to 30-240hz. Otherwise, when I activate variable refresh rate my game crashes every time frames drop below 10fps (bug between amd drivers and G-sync ultimate displays).

Now I cant play with VRR and my screen is full of tearing until they fix their drivers Angry

Good, with more people reporting this, they might get to it sooner or later. Though I think it's likely be later not sooner, sadly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2023, 04:13 PM (Last edited: 01-25-2023, 04:14 PM by CroAtTheTop)
Post: #7190
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey, so I've been trying to reduce horrible ghosting on my 60Hz laptop display (Lenovo 15ACH6), it's so bad that even simple scrolling websites make it "vomit-inducing" while playing games, especially faster paced is nearly impossible.

I've tried to overclock the panel, but only got lucky with Reduced reaching 66Hz, it seems the pixel clock rate is at its maximum with 153MHz, no luck with enabling VRR either.

Is there anything else CRU-wise I could try? At least to get VRR enabled or anything else that would further reduce the ghosting.

Thanks!


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 60 Guest(s)