Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-18-2014, 11:07 AM
Post: #881
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-18-2014 12:40 AM)derpycat Wrote:  1. Is there any likelyhood of the CRU becoming more precise in future? The Nvidia control panel option looks like it can set a more precise pixel clock, allowing for example 120fps instead of 120.003fps like in CRU.
That's not possible with EDID overrides, but you can adjust the totals to get a more precise value. If this is a 1920x1080 monitor, setting the totals to 2080x1150 will give you an exact 120 Hz, and setting the totals to 2080x1155 will give you an exact 119.880119880... Hz. Keep in mind that the calculated values might not match actual performance because of hardware variance.

(05-18-2014 12:40 AM)derpycat Wrote:  2. Is there any way to rename entries? As an example, I want to have 119.88hz as well as 120hz - the former for proper playback of films and certain games, and the latter for the majority of PC gaming. With similar situations, like with 59.94hz (NTSC) and 60hz, and 23.976hz (film) and 24hz, Windows differentiates the similar settings by naming them as the next lower integer. In other words, 23.976hz is called 23hz, so that it can be a choice alongside 24hz. So I wonder if I could rename 119.88 to 119 using CRU or some other method? It'd be really great, since I currently have to switch to HDMI from DVI every time I want proper movie playback, and it's pretty cumbersome actually.
That's not possible with EDID overrides, but it's possible with the NVIDIA control panel. You can use CRU to "fix" 120 Hz, then use the NVIDIA control panel to add 119.88 Hz as 119 Hz. The top section is the listed value, and the bottom section is the actual value. It's not necessary to have an exact 120 Hz for games though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-18-2014, 12:18 PM (Last edited: 05-18-2014, 12:19 PM by derpycat)
Post: #882
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-18-2014 11:07 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-18-2014 12:40 AM)derpycat Wrote:  1. Is there any likelyhood of the CRU becoming more precise in future? The Nvidia control panel option looks like it can set a more precise pixel clock, allowing for example 120fps instead of 120.003fps like in CRU.
That's not possible with EDID overrides, but you can adjust the totals to get a more precise value. If this is a 1920x1080 monitor, setting the totals to 2080x1150 will give you an exact 120 Hz, and setting the totals to 2080x1155 will give you an exact 119.880119880... Hz. Keep in mind that the calculated values might not match actual performance because of hardware variance.

(05-18-2014 12:40 AM)derpycat Wrote:  2. Is there any way to rename entries? As an example, I want to have 119.88hz as well as 120hz - the former for proper playback of films and certain games, and the latter for the majority of PC gaming. With similar situations, like with 59.94hz (NTSC) and 60hz, and 23.976hz (film) and 24hz, Windows differentiates the similar settings by naming them as the next lower integer. In other words, 23.976hz is called 23hz, so that it can be a choice alongside 24hz. So I wonder if I could rename 119.88 to 119 using CRU or some other method? It'd be really great, since I currently have to switch to HDMI from DVI every time I want proper movie playback, and it's pretty cumbersome actually.
That's not possible with EDID overrides, but it's possible with the NVIDIA control panel. You can use CRU to "fix" 120 Hz, then use the NVIDIA control panel to add 119.88 Hz as 119 Hz. The top section is the listed value, and the bottom section is the actual value. It's not necessary to have an exact 120 Hz for games though.

Thanks very much for the reply. So with the second answer, I suppose I'm out of luck using an AMD card, then?

Not that it's relevant anymore, but the reason I wanted a more precise value (i.e. both 119.998 and 119.88) is because it seems from some very quick testing that 119.998hz offers less tearing than 119.982hz (monitor default) without vsync in games that manage precisely 120 or 60fps, and so presumably 119.88hz wouldn't be as good as 119.998hz either.

As an example, the Street Fighter IV series on the PC is locked to 60fps, and the game displays a constant 60.0fps at all times during gameplay. It seems to me as if 119.998hz has resulted in less tearing than usual - no visible tearing during gameplay, in fact. The reason I want 119.88hz is because there's a duplicate frame every 40-50 seconds using 119.982hz or 119.998hz in video playback, as opposed to one every few hours.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2014, 01:49 PM
Post: #883
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-18-2014 12:18 PM)derpycat Wrote:  Thanks very much for the reply. So with the second answer, I suppose I'm out of luck using an AMD card, then?
It's technically possible with an AMD card, but AMD doesn't provide a proper interface for it.

(05-18-2014 12:18 PM)derpycat Wrote:  Not that it's relevant anymore, but the reason I wanted a more precise value (i.e. both 119.998 and 119.88) is because it seems from some very quick testing that 119.998hz offers less tearing than 119.982hz (monitor default) without vsync in games that manage precisely 120 or 60fps, and so presumably 119.88hz wouldn't be as good as 119.998hz either.

As an example, the Street Fighter IV series on the PC is locked to 60fps, and the game displays a constant 60.0fps at all times during gameplay. It seems to me as if 119.998hz has resulted in less tearing than usual - no visible tearing during gameplay, in fact.
Tearing should be worse if the refresh rate is close to a multiple of the frame rate because then the tearing will always happen in the same part of the screen. Such a small difference in refresh rate should not make a significant difference. The only way to get rid of tearing is to use vsync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2014, 12:34 AM (Last edited: 05-20-2014, 02:03 PM by lawson67)
Post: #884
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi toasty i wonder if you can help me?....On boot up my CRU EDID resolutions are simply not seen any more by windows!...Unless i use your restart64.exe and manually restart the drivers after every boot which is far from ideal!...They are clearly conflicting with something loading at windows start up...Is there a named process that i can find that loads the EDID overrides?... so that i can maybe set a delay via task scheduler to load them...or delay another process that is blocking/stopping/conflicting with them at boot up?..I am using AMD R9 290 cards in crossfire with the new 14.4 drivers....Many thanks Lawson
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2014, 05:33 AM
Post: #885
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey Toasty,

1. Is it possible for the GPU or Monitor to remember its settings (vertical, backporch, etc..) after I use the reset-all and depatch + remove all displays from device manager + uninstall/reinstall driver? I'm asking this because I'm getting scan lines and corrupted screen when I OC my GPU in games (60hz, 2650x1440), which wasn't a problem before I started Monitor-OC.

2. When I OC the monitor, I would always get corrupted screen (even at 80hz), though I knew nothing about adjusting vertical/backporch settings at the time, though I did try LCD reduced settings). Was this just because the graphic settings in the game was set too high for this resolution to be able to sync the refresh rate? I had vsync off as well. I'm going to try to OC again for sure, but I'm concerned more about #1 as of now.

3. Would running 3 monitors with 1 GPU be a problem if I want to OC X-Star in the middle? (The other 2 are 24" BenQ and Asus)

I'm running i7 4820k @ 4.5 Ghz + single R9 290 all underwater. The monitor is X-Star DP2710.

Thanks, m8 Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2014, 01:30 PM
Post: #886
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-20-2014 12:34 AM)lawson67 Wrote:  Hi toasty i wonder if you can help me?....On boot up my CRU EDID resolutions are simply not seen any more by windows!...Unless i use your restart64.exe and manually restart the drivers after every boot which is far from ideal!...They are clearly conflicting with something loading at windows start up...Is there a named process that i can find that loads the EDID overrides?... so that i can maybe set a delay via task manager to load them...or delay another process that is blocking/stopping/conflicting with them at boot up?..I am using AMD R9 290 cards in crossfire with the new 14.4 drivers....Many thanks Lawson
EDID overrides are handled by the graphics driver. AMD's driver has a bug with Windows 8.1 where EDID overrides don't always take effect after rebooting, but I don't know why you didn't see the problem before. Did it happen after upgrading the driver? What driver version were you using before? Are you using any GPU overclocking programs like Afterburner?

You can rename restart64.exe to restart-only.exe and put it in the Startup folder (Win+R shell:startup) to restart the driver automatically on startup.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-20-2014, 01:47 PM
Post: #887
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-20-2014 05:33 AM)purostaff Wrote:  1. Is it possible for the GPU or Monitor to remember its settings (vertical, backporch, etc..) after I use the reset-all and depatch + remove all displays from device manager + uninstall/reinstall driver?
No.

(05-20-2014 05:33 AM)purostaff Wrote:  2. When I OC the monitor, I would always get corrupted screen (even at 80hz), though I knew nothing about adjusting vertical/backporch settings at the time, though I did try LCD reduced settings). Was this just because the graphic settings in the game was set too high for this resolution to be able to sync the refresh rate?
No, game settings should not cause corruption.

Are you overclocking the video card? If so, does the problem still happen at stock clocks and voltage?

If you're using multiple monitors, does the problem still happen with only the X-Star connected?

Does the problem happen at 80 Hz with "LCD standard" timing?

(05-20-2014 05:33 AM)purostaff Wrote:  3. Would running 3 monitors with 1 GPU be a problem if I want to OC X-Star in the middle? (The other 2 are 24" BenQ and Asus)
Running multiple monitors with different resolutions and refresh rates can cause frame rate issues with vsync enabled, but it should be fine without vsync.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2014, 12:49 AM (Last edited: 05-21-2014, 07:48 PM by lawson67)
Post: #888
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-20-2014 01:30 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-20-2014 12:34 AM)lawson67 Wrote:  Hi toasty i wonder if you can help me?....On boot up my CRU EDID resolutions are simply not seen any more by windows!...Unless i use your restart64.exe and manually restart the drivers after every boot which is far from ideal!...They are clearly conflicting with something loading at windows start up...Is there a named process that i can find that loads the EDID overrides?... so that i can maybe set a delay via task manager to load them...or delay another process that is blocking/stopping/conflicting with them at boot up?..I am using AMD R9 290 cards in crossfire with the new 14.4 drivers....Many thanks Lawson
EDID overrides are handled by the graphics driver. AMD's driver has a bug with Windows 8.1 where EDID overrides don't always take effect after rebooting, but I don't know why you didn't see the problem before. Did it happen after upgrading the driver? What driver version were you using before? Are you using any GPU overclocking programs like Afterburner?

You can rename restart64.exe to restart-only.exe and put it in the Startup folder (Win+R shell:startup) to restart the driver automatically on startup.

Hi toasty and thanks for the reply....I have not that long been using AMD before this i running Nvidia 2x GTX660 SLI so the only other drivers i used was 13.12 the last AMD drivers!...Yes i have noticed since moving to AMD that windows could not always see the EDID overrides at boot up!...Also yes since i bought my AMD cards i have been using afterburner and i very quickly worked out the it was conflicting with the overrides as in windows could not see them and i nailed down afterburner as the Culprit and set a 30 second start up a delay for afterburner via task scheduler which seemed to cure that problem...I have to admit after installing my new Epson printer it got so much worse with it being a 70% chance of windows not loading with them!...Also i notice on some re-starts and boot ups just before i see the desktop i get like a USB disconnect sound and when this happens i know its not going to see the bloody things lol...I have know idea as too of the source of the disconnect sound...But i have come to dread it as it means my overrides have just been screwed over lol...Also i have stopped all Epson printer software booting at windows but no change!...I will have to keep playing around i will sort it in the end i always do!.....

BTW have you ever heard of anyone complain of a disconnect sound and then windows not seeing there overrides?....And did they pin down what was coursing the disconnect?....Many thanks for your time and help Toasty and of course for your continued support within this community!


Toasty would this product help preserve and ensure that my EDID overrides could be seen by windows?.. "DVI Detective N" It looks very interesting and supports custom resolutions! http://www.gefen.com/kvm/ext-dvi-edidn.jsp?prod_id=4714



Edit: I only want and need to run 110hz so i have written an 110hz.inf monitor driver file which seems the only reliable way of seeing anything other than 60hz for me right now!... If i use CRU right now it seems that i have a 90% change of windows never seeing anything other than 60hz ...I don't have a clue what is conflicting with my CRU overrides?... i has tried everything stopping all programs loading that i believe could be conflicting with my overrides and more like afterburner and HWiNFO and all my Epson printer software all to know avail?...Out of 10 reboots one might see my CRU EDID overrides the rest ignore them?.....However my 110hz monitor driver files seems to work flawlessly.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2014, 05:35 AM (Last edited: 05-21-2014, 03:50 PM by purostaff)
Post: #889
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Thanks for the reply Toasty.

(05-20-2014 01:47 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  1. Are you overclocking the video card? If so, does the problem still happen at stock clocks and voltage?

2. If you're using multiple monitors, does the problem still happen with only the X-Star connected?

3. Does the problem happen at 80 Hz with "LCD standard" timing?

1. It's fine at stock setting at 60hz as of now. Any GPU-OC at all would corrupt the screen (in games). Don't remember if GPU was overclocked when I monitor-OC. I'll do some extensive testing tomorrow on my day off.

2. Yes, other monitors are fine (ie. if the X-Star gets corrupted, I can drag the game window to other windows and see everything perfectly. The X-star would just sit there showing random lines and what not.

3. I've tried all settings (LCD Reduced, Manual, Standard, etc.), though I don't remember if I had GPU overclocked.

I'll give you an update once I've gone through with it again.

One question though: Granted the monitor is capable of 120hz, I should be able to turn vsync off + Overclock GPU + max settings all games and get no corrupted screen correct?

Thanks.


UPDATE: Everything's working fine now for some reason. I was able to OC the card while running on 120hz with no prob (vsync on or off). I don't even know what's going on anymore... but thanks for all your inputs Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2014, 03:08 PM (Last edited: 05-21-2014, 03:16 PM by theguy92)
Post: #890
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Edit: never mind! Found out that I needed to apply the Nvidia Pixel Clock Patcher to remove the clock limit. 120hz working great now! Smile


Hi guys, for some reason refresh that are higher than 84Hz added with CRU don't show up in either the nvidia control panel, or windows' resolution settings.

I've got a GTX660 and my monitor is a Qnix 2710, connected with a dual link dvi cable.

I can add custom resolutions up to 120hz with the nvidia control panel, but I get a few pixel errors so I want to try out some different timings that have been recommended for use on the Qnix.

Any idea why this might be happening? 75hz is ok, 80hz is ok, 84hz is ok, but then 85hz+ don't show.

I have "include extension block" de-selected.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 57 Guest(s)