Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-19-2013, 02:44 PM (Last edited: 05-19-2013, 02:51 PM by e0raN)
Post: #131
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
thank you, so with my config MSI GT60 16F3 (nvidia gtx675m + HD4000 managed by optimus Sad ) I can not overclock my refresh rate? laptop screen or 2233rz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-23-2013, 11:11 PM (Last edited: 05-23-2013, 11:12 PM by feyce)
Post: #132
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I succesfully enabled 1280x768 resolution on my 1280x720 screen netbook.
Is it possible somehow to make the new, bigger resolution scrollable on the screen?
(Like the screen scrolls following the mouse, instead I move the mouse blindly in the lowest 1280x48 section...)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-25-2013, 05:30 AM
Post: #133
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi everybody,

I just got a proline lvd1985wd. (This is more like a TVset thing rather than a normal screen.)
It has d-sub and hdmi inputs.

If I use d-sub with a desktop, the resolution is 1440x900@60Hz. Pixels look spot on, picture is sharp.

However, this is not that cool with hdmi. By default, I won't get 1440x900 resolution. With CRU I have 1440x900, but it just doesn't look good. The picture looks blurry, and it is not in the right position. If you use analog signal, that automatic config of this TV centers the picture nicely. But this cannot be used when hdmi input is selected.
I tried various timings in CRU: lcd standard, lcd reduced and manual with the settings I read out of the desktop with d-sub but not much luck.

(Another odd thing is you could change between 16:9 and 4:3 in the screen's settings. 1440x900 would be 16:10 wouldn't it?)

This thing appears as CVT544C - HDMI Tv in CRU, if this helps.
Any hint guys how to make this work with hdmi?

(vga cards: hd6250 for hdmi, quadro nvs 290 for d-sub)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-28-2013, 05:55 PM
Post: #134
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-25-2013 05:30 AM)Bala Wrote:  I just got a proline lvd1985wd. (This is more like a TVset thing rather than a normal screen.)
It has d-sub and hdmi inputs.

If I use d-sub with a desktop, the resolution is 1440x900@60Hz. Pixels look spot on, picture is sharp.

However, this is not that cool with hdmi. By default, I won't get 1440x900 resolution. With CRU I have 1440x900, but it just doesn't look good. The picture looks blurry, and it is not in the right position. If you use analog signal, that automatic config of this TV centers the picture nicely. But this cannot be used when hdmi input is selected.
I tried various timings in CRU: lcd standard, lcd reduced and manual with the settings I read out of the desktop with d-sub but not much luck.
Try disabling the extension block. If that doesn't help, then the TV is doing something weird. If the TV has overscan options, make sure that's disabled. Try "CRT standard" timing as well. If that doesn't help, it's possible the TV can only handle TV resolutions over HDMI.



(05-23-2013 11:11 PM)feyce Wrote:  I succesfully enabled 1280x768 resolution on my 1280x720 screen netbook.
Is it possible somehow to make the new, bigger resolution scrollable on the screen?
(Like the screen scrolls following the mouse, instead I move the mouse blindly in the lowest 1280x48 section...)
I don't know of a way to do that.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-29-2013, 08:22 AM (Last edited: 05-29-2013, 10:51 AM by ShnikeJSB)
Post: #135
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey!

I just downloaded the new 320.18 drivers, updating from 320.00. I downloaded the latest CRU and patcher, ran them as usual, but I can't seem to get it to work anymore. The patcher says everything is "already patched", so that's good to go. I reboot, then run CRU and input my usual values, reboot again, and... Nada. I can't run anything but default resolutions and 60hz! I even tried using "LCD Reduced" and it didn't work either. None of them are sticking!

For reference, I have an Overlord Tempest X270OC connected over Dual-Link DVI, and have had no problems running at 120hz with the patcher/CRU combo since I received it a few months ago -- until now. Does there need to be an update to work correctly?

Also, another issue since installing 320.18's is my Spyder Calibration won't load... I'm going to recalibrate and see if it works. Until then, thanks for any help!

-JB

----------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE: OK, recalibrated and it loads the calibration fine now. Weird... Still can't get my 120hz working, though! Sad

----------------------------------------------------------------------

UPDATE #2: Well, oddly, if I go into the nVidia control panel, to Display --> Change Resolution, then click on Customize --> Create Custom Resolution, and just put in the settings of "Automatic -- LCD Reduced" from CRU, then test/add, I can run at 120hz now! Not sure why CRU didn't add them, but I can through the control panel. *shrug*

It works, but the screen buzzes like crazy now... ANNOYING!!! I guess that's the upside to being able to set a few more parameters in CRU...
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-29-2013, 04:46 PM
Post: #136
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-29-2013 08:22 AM)ShnikeJSB Wrote:  I just downloaded the new 320.18 drivers, updating from 320.00. I downloaded the latest CRU and patcher, ran them as usual, but I can't seem to get it to work anymore. The patcher says everything is "already patched", so that's good to go. I reboot, then run CRU and input my usual values, reboot again, and... Nada. I can't run anything but default resolutions and 60hz! I even tried using "LCD Reduced" and it didn't work either. None of them are sticking!
Did you disable the extension block?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-05-2013, 10:56 PM
Post: #137
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi, I'm using a radeon 6310, and for media purposes, I'd like to set a refresh rate of 23.976 hz. However, windows is seeing this as 24 hz, rather than 23hz, which is causing me some problems. Is there a way I can just change the name of it?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-06-2013, 07:03 PM
Post: #138
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I don't have control over the name. That's up to the driver. What problems are you having? The name doesn't affect the actual refresh rate.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-08-2013, 12:23 AM (Last edited: 06-08-2013, 04:03 AM by Albert Kike)
Post: #139
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
@'ToastyX'

I'm trying to get this to work with my setup (Samsung T260HD, dual HD 7970's, 13.6 beta drivers), but have come up short so far.

I want to achieve a resolution of 3840x2160 in games. I'm able to input this resolution in the CRU tool, but I've noticed (in the tool) that at this res, my pixel rate jumps up to over 500MHz.

I'm aware of the patcher, and it says it's successfully patched everything, but my problem is, when I reboot, it seems that my system is no longer recognizing catalyst or my GPU's, so I'm unable to use the resolutions. I can fix this by unpatching, and then rebooting and my GPU and catalyst are fine again.

Please help.

EDIT: I'm also using two crossfire bridges, still no dice.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-08-2013, 01:27 AM
Post: #140
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hi
I'm not sure what I'm missing here. I've got a shiny new 2560x1440 monitor which I'm trying to connect via HDMI, but I'm only able to select 1920x1080. I run CRU and 2560x1440@59.950Hz (241.5 MHz) appears in Detailed resolutions. I untick Include extension block, and reboot, but I still can't select anything about 1920x1080 from either the Win7 select resolution or the NVidia control panel (which is version 2.6.650.10)

I've not updated the Nvidia drivers since getting the laptop a couple of years ago - not sure if that would help?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 45 Guest(s)