Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
05-21-2017, 11:16 AM
Post: #2851
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-20-2017 07:10 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-19-2017 07:45 PM)lafyn9 Wrote:  Yes, I feel difference when I play at Windows XP 800x600 (100fps and 200hz) in csgo and Win7 give me at same settings (140-160 fps and 60hz) its feels like shit..
GPU scaling I can change(I make smaller resolution and its makes switchable):
Those options don't let you turn off GPU scaling. You can't add other refresh rates at lower resolutions with GPU scaling on. Normally you'd have to add the refresh rates at the native resolution, but that doesn't seem to be working either according to your screen shots.

(05-19-2017 07:45 PM)lafyn9 Wrote:  Maybe I can fix it in registry or use windows XP driver for monitor... idk, I can't find any insturctions, please I need help Sad
I don't know what you want me to do. If CRU doesn't work with your laptop, then your options are limited. Maybe you can try the AMD Custom Timing Tool modded to work with any card: http://aburamushi.net/calamity/amdcustom...ol-mod.rar
Thx, for trying help dude, I guess I find solution:
https://www.reddit.com/r/GlobalOffensive...or_an_amd/
It fix hz but I didnt see changes at settings (just lose couple resolutions). I am done what I want, and I am glad Tongue
ps Amd Custom Timing Tool didn't see my resolutions
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-21-2017, 07:57 PM
Post: #2852
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-21-2017 04:46 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-21-2017 04:42 AM)zortos Wrote:  Hi, owner of a Benq XL2540 here; is there any way to get 1440x1080 at 240hz?
If the monitor won't accept it directly, it should be possible with GPU scaling.

I've found it's possible if I use the AMD custom resolution feature except there's graphical corruption in CS:GO. If I try to use CRU to set any resolution I lose the ability to use 240hz, it's simply removed in the display options. Any ideas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-23-2017, 08:00 PM (This post was last modified: 05-23-2017 08:10 PM by blackomegatm.)
Post: #2853
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-19-2017 07:45 PM)lafyn9 Wrote:  
(05-19-2017 06:46 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Are you sure about this? Laptop displays usually don't support non-native resolutions. That's why you can't turn off GPU scaling. Usually you'd have to add higher refresh rates at the native resolution. If none of the changes in CRU are having any effect, then the driver is ignoring EDID overrides with your laptop for some reason.
Yes, I feel difference when I play at Windows XP 800x600 (100fps and 200hz) in csgo and Win7 give me at same settings (140-160 fps and 60hz) its feels like shit..
GPU scaling I can change(I make smaller resolution and its makes switchable):
[Image: 92949dd195524e179000ff1f9058eddf.png]
Maybe I can fix it in registry or use windows XP driver for monitor... idk, I can't find any insturctions, please I need help Sad

(05-19-2017 06:46 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Laptop displays usually don't support non-native resolutions.
Btw, at Win XP I have active this button, and when its turned off I can make resolution above 1366x768, like 2048×1556 (I will see half of this resolution at screen but anyway)
screenshot from 7:
[Image: cc388122c8974387932169d0d94c2f2e.png]
screenshot from xp
[Image: 7ea77e949dc846b9ba61af42ab02c07b.png]

I have the same problem, no matter what I do, I cannot add a custom refresh to any resolution on windows 10.

It Should work, as I patched the driver, and did all the steps correctly in CRU. The laptop I'm trying this is a HP DV7-2270us running on Amd 4650m graphics card (not switchable / no intel graphics).

Aside from trying older windows versions, I don't know what else to do.

I wanted to try it on another similar laptop I have, also HP, 6163cl, but, it uses switchable graphics and the internal gpu is sandy bridge based, so, driver blocks edid override Sad

I had hope i could play TF2 at above 70hz refreshes as these laptops have horrible tearing problems and vsync adds too much lag to be worth mentioning.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-25-2017, 08:53 AM
Post: #2854
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey there toastyX, I wonder if this tool would allow me to use more than 32 custom resolutions with nvidia?, or maybe there is another method?.

cheers.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-25-2017, 08:35 PM
Post: #2855
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I have been a user of this program for quite some time. Heart Will an Intel pixel clock patcher be developed or is there one being developed?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2017, 12:49 AM (This post was last modified: 05-26-2017 12:50 AM by KandiVan.)
Post: #2856
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys, this is going to be a relatively specific question, but I've tried toying with it and I just cant seem to get it to work. Im running a BenQ XL2411z 144 Hz and my goal is to use CRU to change my native resolution to 1024x768 and utilize DSR to upscale image "quality" in game. I've run into a few problems so far, the first of which is by deleting everything on CRU (Detailed and standard resolutions, as well as extension blocks) and replacing it with a detailed resolution of 1024x768 with these settings https://gyazo.com/3d7a13fdc93e28e206867a79f748f71f generally leaves my monitor with an "out of range" signal. The monitor is connected to my 1080 Ti via a DVI-D cable, not sure if that has anything to do with it. I have to delete everything on CRU otherwise my nvidia control panel registers 1920x1080 as my native resolution and does its DSR scaling based on that.

Secondly, if i reduce the refresh rate to 60 Hz, I can get the 1024x768 image, but it essentially scales the image on my monitor to the size of a CRT screen (the rest of the screen is black bars). My goal is to have 1024x768 stretched DSR'd on nvidia control panel and in game.

So my question to you guys is, what am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance guys.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2017, 06:21 AM
Post: #2857
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-26-2017 12:49 AM)KandiVan Wrote:  Hey guys, this is going to be a relatively specific question, but I've tried toying with it and I just cant seem to get it to work. Im running a BenQ XL2411z 144 Hz and my goal is to use CRU to change my native resolution to 1024x768 and utilize DSR to upscale image "quality" in game. I've run into a few problems so far, the first of which is by deleting everything on CRU (Detailed and standard resolutions, as well as extension blocks) and replacing it with a detailed resolution of 1024x768 with these settings https://gyazo.com/3d7a13fdc93e28e206867a79f748f71f generally leaves my monitor with an "out of range" signal. The monitor is connected to my 1080 Ti via a DVI-D cable, not sure if that has anything to do with it. I have to delete everything on CRU otherwise my nvidia control panel registers 1920x1080 as my native resolution and does its DSR scaling based on that.
I don't understand why you'd want to do that. The quality will be much worse because you'll be scaling down, then scaling back up. That monitor will only accept 144 Hz with specific vertical totals, so try setting the vertical total to 1098.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2017, 06:22 AM
Post: #2858
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-25-2017 08:35 PM)Trendle Wrote:  I have been a user of this program for quite some time. Heart Will an Intel pixel clock patcher be developed or is there one being developed?
No, not unless I get an Intel system.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2017, 06:28 AM
Post: #2859
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-25-2017 08:53 AM)lukilla Wrote:  Hey there toastyX, I wonder if this tool would allow me to use more than 32 custom resolutions with nvidia?, or maybe there is another method?.
CRU can only define up to 22 detailed resolutions with 3 extension blocks, but CRU works separately from the NVIDIA control panel, so you can add custom resolutions using both.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2017, 06:35 AM
Post: #2860
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(05-23-2017 08:00 PM)blackomegatm Wrote:  I have the same problem, no matter what I do, I cannot add a custom refresh to any resolution on windows 10.

It Should work, as I patched the driver, and did all the steps correctly in CRU. The laptop I'm trying this is a HP DV7-2270us running on Amd 4650m graphics card (not switchable / no intel graphics).
The patch does nothing for 4000-series GPUs, and the driver seems to be ignoring EDID overrides with laptops that have 4000-series GPUs. Just curious, does adding a blank CEA-861 extension block make any difference? If not, the tool I linked and the registry method lafyn9 linked are the only other methods I know about.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 41 Guest(s)