Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
07-12-2015, 12:50 AM
Post: #11
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(07-11-2015 11:34 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  3840x2160. 4k 60hz at 4:2:0 with a gtx 980ti. My work around to play at 1440 on far cry 4 for example was to make a custom res 1440 at 60 hz. So that it's choosable from the game. Then play on full screen borderless window with my desktop at 4k60. Of course not all games have full screen borderless and of course I don't get true scaling that way.
Someone else wanted to do the same thing, but we didn't have any luck: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...54#pid4154

However, I just found some information that suggests it might be possible to mark 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as a native resolution using a "video format preference" data block. I don't know if NVIDIA's driver uses this information, but it's worth a try.

Try importing this with CRU: https://www.monitortests.com/2160p420-native.dat
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2015, 01:18 AM
Post: #12
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
I'll try it when I get home. I'll tell you how it goes around midnight. Thanks for taking the time to help me out. Wish me luck.
(07-12-2015 12:50 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-11-2015 11:34 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  3840x2160. 4k 60hz at 4:2:0 with a gtx 980ti. My work around to play at 1440 on far cry 4 for example was to make a custom res 1440 at 60 hz. So that it's choosable from the game. Then play on full screen borderless window with my desktop at 4k60. Of course not all games have full screen borderless and of course I don't get true scaling that way.
Someone else wanted to do the same thing, but we didn't have any luck: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...54#pid4154

However, I just found some information that suggests it might be possible to mark 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as a native resolution using a "video format preference" data block. I don't know if NVIDIA's driver uses this information, but it's worth a try.

Try importing this with CRU: https://www.monitortests.com/2160p420-native.dat
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2015, 06:11 AM
Post: #13
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
So I imported the dat file into CRU. Immediatly I noticed it change my custom res's to 4k@30, 1440p@60, and 1080@60. So I thought okay, whatever, as long as there is a block that tells my pc that 4k@60 is native. Saved it, restarted. Didn't work. So I loaded the bin file you gave me into MonInfo which translates it in to "English". The EDID you gave me has 4k@30 as native still. I'm sorry to say i didn't work. I wish I was knowledgeable enough to write a custom block myself. Any ideas?



(07-12-2015 01:18 AM)Duke_PH Wrote:  I'll try it when I get home. I'll tell you how it goes around midnight. Thanks for taking the time to help me out. Wish me luck.
(07-12-2015 12:50 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-11-2015 11:34 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  3840x2160. 4k 60hz at 4:2:0 with a gtx 980ti. My work around to play at 1440 on far cry 4 for example was to make a custom res 1440 at 60 hz. So that it's choosable from the game. Then play on full screen borderless window with my desktop at 4k60. Of course not all games have full screen borderless and of course I don't get true scaling that way.
Someone else wanted to do the same thing, but we didn't have any luck: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...54#pid4154

However, I just found some information that suggests it might be possible to mark 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as a native resolution using a "video format preference" data block. I don't know if NVIDIA's driver uses this information, but it's worth a try.

Try importing this with CRU: https://www.monitortests.com/2160p420-native.dat


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2015, 11:40 AM
Post: #14
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(07-12-2015 06:11 AM)Duke_PH Wrote:  So I imported the dat file into CRU. Immediatly I noticed it change my custom res's to 4k@30, 1440p@60, and 1080@60. So I thought okay, whatever, as long as there is a block that tells my pc that 4k@60 is native. Saved it, restarted. Didn't work. So I loaded the bin file you gave me into MonInfo which translates it in to "English". The EDID you gave me has 4k@30 as native still. I'm sorry to say i didn't work. I wish I was knowledgeable enough to write a custom block myself. Any ideas?
MonInfo does not read the file correctly. It only reads the first half. To read the whole thing, you would need to import the file into CRU and export a .bin file instead of a .dat file. Even then, MonInfo does not understand the new data blocks. They are simply listed as "Reserved video related data" with the raw bytes.

The first detailed resolution is considered the native resolution, but 4:2:0 resolutions are defined in the "Extended (14)" data block in the extension block. The "Extended (13)" data block is the "video format preference" data block that's supposed to define additional native resolutions, but if NVIDIA's driver doesn't use that information, then I don't see a way to mark a 4:2:0 resolution as native.

You can try changing the first detailed resolution to 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz. That will get rid of 30 Hz at least. The problem is if NVIDIA's driver ignores that, then it might scale to 2560x1440 instead.

Those are the only two ways I know to define 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as a native resolution. If NVIDIA doesn't support either method, then there's no way to do this. This is a driver limitation that NVIDIA would need to fix.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-12-2015, 07:08 PM
Post: #15
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
I think you are right with Nvidia not accepting 4@60 as native. I made a custom EDID override with AWEditor to set 4k60 as default and it still kept 30 as native. Anyway I decided to make 1080p@60 default and see if i can use nvidias DSR to downscale 1440p to 1080 instead. Because DSR only renders at a multiple of the native then downscales it. And I have have no plan of playing at 8k downscaled to 4k, lol. Anyway it worked. I've ready some forums of people trying to use DSR in reverse and have seen people saying its impossible. So at least something good came out of this.

http://www.analogway.com/en/products/sof...editor/#dl
It's very good. Give it a try if you haven't already.

On a side note. I tried using the edid of a benQ at some point and when i opened nvidia control panel the pc thought my monitor was a real benq and even displayed the output as dvi. Now my theory is maybe this 4k@30native restriction is only for hdmi. And if we can fool the computer into thinking its displayport or dvi then setting 4k@60 as native may be possible. I tried doing this on my own with AWEditor but nvidia still reported HDMI. And I'm just not knowledgable enough to take the BenQ Edid and manually put in my tv's proper timings. Any ideas? PS, pass on the ability to usae DSR in reverse to anyone that needs it on other threads. Thanks


(07-12-2015 11:40 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-12-2015 06:11 AM)Duke_PH Wrote:  So I imported the dat file into CRU. Immediatly I noticed it change my custom res's to 4k@30, 1440p@60, and 1080@60. So I thought okay, whatever, as long as there is a block that tells my pc that 4k@60 is native. Saved it, restarted. Didn't work. So I loaded the bin file you gave me into MonInfo which translates it in to "English". The EDID you gave me has 4k@30 as native still. I'm sorry to say i didn't work. I wish I was knowledgeable enough to write a custom block myself. Any ideas?
MonInfo does not read the file correctly. It only reads the first half. To read the whole thing, you would need to import the file into CRU and export a .bin file instead of a .dat file. Even then, MonInfo does not understand the new data blocks. They are simply listed as "Reserved video related data" with the raw bytes.

The first detailed resolution is considered the native resolution, but 4:2:0 resolutions are defined in the "Extended (14)" data block in the extension block. The "Extended (13)" data block is the "video format preference" data block that's supposed to define additional native resolutions, but if NVIDIA's driver doesn't use that information, then I don't see a way to mark a 4:2:0 resolution as native.

You can try changing the first detailed resolution to 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz. That will get rid of 30 Hz at least. The problem is if NVIDIA's driver ignores that, then it might scale to 2560x1440 instead.

Those are the only two ways I know to define 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as a native resolution. If NVIDIA doesn't support either method, then there's no way to do this. This is a driver limitation that NVIDIA would need to fix.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2015, 03:56 AM
Post: #16
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(07-12-2015 07:08 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  I think you are right with Nvidia not accepting 4@60 as native. I made a custom EDID override with AWEditor to set 4k60 as default and it still kept 30 as native. Anyway I decided to make 1080p@60 default and see if i can use nvidias DSR to downscale 1440p to 1080 instead. Because DSR only renders at a multiple of the native then downscales it. And I have have no plan of playing at 8k downscaled to 4k, lol. Anyway it worked. I've ready some forums of people trying to use DSR in reverse and have seen people saying its impossible. So at least something good came out of this.

http://www.analogway.com/en/products/sof...editor/#dl
It's very good. Give it a try if you haven't already.
I don't understand. CRU already creates EDID overrides. Is there something you need in the AW EDID Editor that CRU can't do?

(07-12-2015 07:08 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  On a side note. I tried using the edid of a benQ at some point and when i opened nvidia control panel the pc thought my monitor was a real benq and even displayed the output as dvi. Now my theory is maybe this 4k@30native restriction is only for hdmi. And if we can fool the computer into thinking its displayport or dvi then setting 4k@60 as native may be possible. I tried doing this on my own with AWEditor but nvidia still reported HDMI. And I'm just not knowledgable enough to take the BenQ Edid and manually put in my tv's proper timings. Any ideas?
HDMI acts like single-link DVI if HDMI support is not defined in the extension block, but then you won't be able to use 4:2:0 resolutions.

(07-12-2015 07:08 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  PS, pass on the ability to usae DSR in reverse to anyone that needs it on other threads. Thanks
You're not using DSR in reverse. DSR scales down to the native resolution, and you set the native resolution to 1920x1080. That's how it's supposed to work. "Reverse" DSR would just be normal GPU scaling.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2015, 12:13 PM (This post was last modified: 07-13-2015 12:17 PM by Duke_PH.)
Post: #17
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
In AW Editor you can do a lot more. It can also be used on sound devices. You can set wether or not something is stereo or 5.1 whether the input on your monitor is hdmi or dvi. The thing will write custom blocks for you. Anyway I'm done tinkering with it for at least a couple weeks. need a break. Having to go to safe mode to reinstall my video drivers after getting black screen gets annoying. Thanks for all the help.

Well some people want to change their native res to something lower for dsr if their native is 4k and gpuupscaling locks 30hz. Just want to pass on to these folks that it's possible.

(07-13-2015 03:56 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-12-2015 07:08 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  I think you are right with Nvidia not accepting 4@60 as native. I made a custom EDID override with AWEditor to set 4k60 as default and it still kept 30 as native. Anyway I decided to make 1080p@60 default and see if i can use nvidias DSR to downscale 1440p to 1080 instead. Because DSR only renders at a multiple of the native then downscales it. And I have have no plan of playing at 8k downscaled to 4k, lol. Anyway it worked. I've ready some forums of people trying to use DSR in reverse and have seen people saying its impossible. So at least something good came out of this.

http://www.analogway.com/en/products/sof...editor/#dl
It's very good. Give it a try if you haven't already.
I don't understand. CRU already creates EDID overrides. Is there something you need in the AW EDID Editor that CRU can't do?

(07-12-2015 07:08 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  On a side note. I tried using the edid of a benQ at some point and when i opened nvidia control panel the pc thought my monitor was a real benq and even displayed the output as dvi. Now my theory is maybe this 4k@30native restriction is only for hdmi. And if we can fool the computer into thinking its displayport or dvi then setting 4k@60 as native may be possible. I tried doing this on my own with AWEditor but nvidia still reported HDMI. And I'm just not knowledgable enough to take the BenQ Edid and manually put in my tv's proper timings. Any ideas?
HDMI acts like single-link DVI if HDMI support is not defined in the extension block, but then you won't be able to use 4:2:0 resolutions.

(07-12-2015 07:08 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  PS, pass on the ability to usae DSR in reverse to anyone that needs it on other threads. Thanks
You're not using DSR in reverse. DSR scales down to the native resolution, and you set the native resolution to 1920x1080. That's how it's supposed to work. "Reverse" DSR would just be normal GPU scaling.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2015, 01:37 PM
Post: #18
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(07-13-2015 12:13 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  In AW Editor you can do a lot more. It can also be used on sound devices. You can set wether or not something is stereo or 5.1 whether the input on your monitor is hdmi or dvi. The thing will write custom blocks for you.
I don't understand. CRU can already do all that. What version are you using? I checked out the AW EDID Editor and the CEA extension block editor is pretty limited. It doesn't do anything that CRU doesn't already do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-13-2015, 02:06 PM
Post: #19
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
I must be using an older version then. I'll check when I get home.
(07-13-2015 01:37 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-13-2015 12:13 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  In AW Editor you can do a lot more. It can also be used on sound devices. You can set wether or not something is stereo or 5.1 whether the input on your monitor is hdmi or dvi. The thing will write custom blocks for you.
I don't understand. CRU can already do all that. What version are you using? I checked out the AW EDID Editor and the CEA extension block editor is pretty limited. It doesn't do anything that CRU doesn't already do.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-29-2015, 11:52 AM
Post: #20
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
CRU 1.2.1 now supports 4:2:0 resolutions as a check box in the TV resolutions data block. The new restart.exe also has a better recovery mode.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)