Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
07-29-2015, 07:32 PM
Post: #21
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
Awesome. I've played around with it. Now I definitely know that nVidia just doesn't support scaling to 4:2:0. When I set 2160p60 4:2:0 as native then that was the only res available in nVidia control panel. None of the scaled resolutions were available under it. I tried 2160p30 4:2:0, still no dice. But as soon as I add 2160p60or30 at non 4:2:0 then I have all the scaled resolutions available again but still capped at 30hz. I tried this with 1080p too. If I set 1080 4:2:0 as the only res then the driver doesnt make lowered scaled res either. Again at regular, no problem, full list of scaled res galore. Oh well, can't really do anything except complain to nvidia.

(07-29-2015 11:52 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  CRU 1.2.1 now supports 4:2:0 resolutions as a check box in the TV resolutions data block. The new restart.exe also has a better recovery mode.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-05-2015, 06:30 PM
Post: #22
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(07-29-2015 11:52 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  CRU 1.2.1 now supports 4:2:0 resolutions
[/quote]

Hi,

i read a lot in the forum, but I still can not answer my question:

Will I be able to get 4096x2160 at 60Hz with 4:2:0/8bit subsampling from a NVIDIA GTX970/980 over HDMI to drive a Sony VW300?

I can not try it myself, as I don't have the hardware yet. As far as I understood 4096/60Hz HDMI is not provided by NVIDIA for consumer grade cards by default (only for Quadro)

Thanks for your help,
CHR
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-06-2015, 07:54 PM
Post: #23
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(10-05-2015 06:30 PM)csphoto Wrote:  Will I be able to get 4096x2160 at 60Hz with 4:2:0/8bit subsampling from a NVIDIA GTX970/980 over HDMI to drive a Sony VW300?
If the projector supports 4:2:0 subsampling, then it should be possible.

(10-05-2015 06:30 PM)csphoto Wrote:  I can not try it myself, as I don't have the hardware yet. As far as I understood 4096/60Hz HDMI is not provided by NVIDIA for consumer grade cards by default (only for Quadro)
I haven't heard of this limitation.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2015, 03:24 PM
Post: #24
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
Thanks for the reply

(10-06-2015 07:54 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-05-2015 06:30 PM)csphoto Wrote:  Will I be able to get 4096x2160 at 60Hz with 4:2:0/8bit subsampling from a NVIDIA GTX970/980 over HDMI to drive a Sony VW300?
If the projector supports 4:2:0 subsampling, then it should be possible.
I had a chance to try the projector today and was indeed able to get above signal. However I am not really sure how to activate that in a clean way. 420 is not available to choose, but the card falls back to it, if the output device is not able to run 444. Anyway nice it works.

(10-06-2015 07:54 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-05-2015 06:30 PM)csphoto Wrote:  I can not try it myself, as I don't have the hardware yet. As far as I understood 4096/60Hz HDMI is not provided by NVIDIA for consumer grade cards by default (only for Quadro)
I haven't heard of this limitation.

Got the information from the graphics card manufacturer (MSI). Seems not to be true.

Thanks,
CHR
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2018, 05:22 AM
Post: #25
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
Hi,
I got an Acer KG251Q D monitor to try 1080p@240hz. But the problem is my Alienware Alhpa only got a HDMI1.4 out. It does support 1080p@240hz by YCbCr420, says by wiki. But I didn't get a YCbCr420 option in NVIDIA control panel(only RGB,YCbCr422 and YCbCr444).
As you said above,does it means the monitor have no support on YCbCr420?
Thank you a lot!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-16-2018, 07:41 AM (This post was last modified: 06-16-2018 07:42 AM by ANDROIDLIOR.)
Post: #26
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(07-12-2015 12:50 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-11-2015 11:34 PM)Duke_PH Wrote:  3840x2160. 4k 60hz at 4:2:0 with a gtx 980ti. My work around to play at 1440 on far cry 4 for example was to make a custom res 1440 at 60 hz. So that it's choosable from the game. Then play on full screen borderless window with my desktop at 4k60. Of course not all games have full screen borderless and of course I don't get true scaling that way.
Someone else wanted to do the same thing, but we didn't have any luck: https://www.monitortests.com/forum/Threa...54#pid4154

However, I just found some information that suggests it might be possible to mark 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz as a native resolution using a "video format preference" data block. I don't know if NVIDIA's driver uses this information, but it's worth a try.

Try importing this with CRU: https://www.monitortests.com/2160p420-native.dat

Can somebody upload this file again ? or make a new one ?
its 3840 2160 resolution with color 4:2:0 and 60hz
thank you very much
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-17-2018, 01:17 AM
Post: #27
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(06-16-2018 07:41 AM)ANDROIDLIOR Wrote:  Can somebody upload this file again ? or make a new one ?
its 3840 2160 resolution with color 4:2:0 and 60hz
thank you very much
That file is not needed anymore. Just add it as a 4:2:0 TV resolution in the extension block.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-17-2018, 04:15 PM
Post: #28
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(06-17-2018 01:17 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(06-16-2018 07:41 AM)ANDROIDLIOR Wrote:  Can somebody upload this file again ? or make a new one ?
its 3840 2160 resolution with color 4:2:0 and 60hz
thank you very much
That file is not needed anymore. Just add it as a 4:2:0 TV resolution in the extension block.

I did like in the picture
but suddenly i cannot choose 3840 2160, only 1920 1080 and below Huh    
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-18-2018, 02:04 AM
Post: #29
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(06-17-2018 04:15 PM)ANDROIDLIOR Wrote:  I did like in the picture
but suddenly i cannot choose 3840 2160, only 1920 1080 and below Huh
Are you using an Intel GPU? CRU can't read extension blocks with Intel GPUs. I don't know if Intel supports multiple extension blocks. If it does, the default extension block needs to be the first extension block, and don't choose "Native format" because it's not possible with 3840x2160. If that doesn't work, you'll have to delete the default extension block and manually add the HDMI support data block. Also, you don't need to define the same resolutions as detailed resolutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-18-2018, 04:33 PM
Post: #30
RE: How to force 4096 x2160p on native 4k tv @60hz
(06-18-2018 02:04 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(06-17-2018 04:15 PM)ANDROIDLIOR Wrote:  I did like in the picture
but suddenly i cannot choose 3840 2160, only 1920 1080 and below Huh
Are you using an Intel GPU? CRU can't read extension blocks with Intel GPUs. I don't know if Intel supports multiple extension blocks. If it does, the default extension block needs to be the first extension block, and don't choose "Native format" because it's not possible with 3840x2160. If that doesn't work, you'll have to delete the default extension block and manually add the HDMI support data block. Also, you don't need to define the same resolutions as detailed resolutions.

I have laptop with a dedicated graphic processor(960m) . the HDMI is 1.4.
My screen LG 27UDP68 supports 4:2:0 color.

It doesnt work with the default extension block, so maybe with the second option.
When I add HDMI support there is only 3840 2160 30hz option so I tried to add the HDMI 2.0 support.
Everything I tried there didnt work.
   
thanks for the patience Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)