Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
08-05-2018, 03:21 PM
Post: #661
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(07-29-2018 04:08 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(07-26-2018 03:34 PM)darkySp Wrote:  NVidia has got a new driver since a month ago and the 1.4.3 patcher doesn't work with the new 398.36. Please update!
Describe what you mean by "doesn't work." I don't see any new changes in 398.36.

My bad, i forgot to restart my GPU driver after patching the values when i wrote the comment, sorry.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-22-2018, 09:12 PM (This post was last modified: 09-24-2018 03:06 PM by Doowop.)
Post: #662
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
Hello ToastyX!
The 1.4.3 patcher doesn't seem to work for 411.63. I have a GT 750M where I'm using a HDMI to DVI adapter for a x-star monitor. It used to work previously.
Thanks for all the great work.

EDIT: I managed to get it working. Had to reinstall the driver but now it works like a charm.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2018, 02:42 PM
Post: #663
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
Hello,

It seems the patcher doesn't work with the latest nvidia driver (416.34). I used to overclock to 120hz (BenQ XL2430T) with GTX970.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-14-2018, 05:15 PM
Post: #664
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
I don't have a new enough video card to test the current drivers, but as far as I can see, the patcher still finds the correct values.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-16-2018, 06:54 AM (This post was last modified: 10-16-2018 06:55 AM by apav.)
Post: #665
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(10-14-2018 05:15 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  I don't have a new enough video card to test the current drivers, but as far as I can see, the patcher still finds the correct values.

Hi ToastyX,

I'm in the same boat as the others. I have a GTX 770 and have been using the pixel clock patcher and CRU fine for years. I was just using 416.16 fine, but after I upgraded to 416.34 it no longer works. I tried resetting CRU and reinstalling the drivers with a clean installation, I can't get any of the custom resolutions to appear.

Something has to be wrong if a few of us are reporting issues all around the same time after updating to the latest drivers.

I'd appreciate it if you could please look into this further. Thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-16-2018, 12:46 PM
Post: #666
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(10-16-2018 06:54 AM)apav Wrote:  I'd appreciate it if you could please look into this further. Thank you!
I did look into it, but like I said, I don't have a new enough video card to test the current drivers. The patcher is still finding the same values in the correct locations, so there has to be a new change somewhere. Are you using the patch for dual-link DVI? Can you check if the limit is still 330 MHz with the patch? Try adding something between 330-340 MHz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-16-2018, 01:03 PM (This post was last modified: 10-16-2018 01:04 PM by apav.)
Post: #667
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(10-16-2018 12:46 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(10-16-2018 06:54 AM)apav Wrote:  I'd appreciate it if you could please look into this further. Thank you!
I did look into it, but like I said, I don't have a new enough video card to test the current drivers. The patcher is still finding the same values in the correct locations, so there has to be a new change somewhere. Are you using the patch for dual-link DVI? Can you check if the limit is still 330 MHz with the patch? Try adding something between 330-340 MHz.

I am yes. The limit is still 330 MHz. I noticed that CRU keeps making another copy of my monitor, but even if I add resolutions for both none of them appear. I just discovered this, strangely enough if I add custom resolutions through the Nvidia Control Panel it seems to work fine, but I'd like to continue using CRU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-20-2018, 11:02 PM
Post: #668
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
Having the same issue. Was in the 385.69 driver and tried to install Quadro 416.30. If I try to use the full patcher it says the driver is not compatible. Using the single patcher it says that the DLL was patched and signed, but after setting my new refresh rate in CRU and restarting the system my screen is still at 60hz, and there's no option to choose the overclocked refresh.

Hope you find what is the issue. If I can help in any way, say it and I send any information needed.

My system is: Win10 Pro x64 1709, EVGA GTX970, X-Star DP2710.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2018, 12:15 AM (This post was last modified: 10-21-2018 12:18 AM by apav.)
Post: #669
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(10-20-2018 11:02 PM)Blackdragonbird Wrote:  Having the same issue. Was in the 385.69 driver and tried to install Quadro 416.30. If I try to use the full patcher it says the driver is not compatible. Using the single patcher it says that the DLL was patched and signed, but after setting my new refresh rate in CRU and restarting the system my screen is still at 60hz, and there's no option to choose the overclocked refresh.

Hope you find what is the issue. If I can help in any way, say it and I send any information needed.

My system is: Win10 Pro x64 1709, EVGA GTX970, X-Star DP2710.

Try creating a custom resolution in the Nvidia Control Panel and see if it works. It did for me, even though it's not working with any of the resolutions I create in CRU. This leads me to believe that the Pixel Clock Patcher is fine with the new driver, but CRU isn't.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-21-2018, 12:28 AM
Post: #670
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(10-21-2018 12:15 AM)apav Wrote:  
(10-20-2018 11:02 PM)Blackdragonbird Wrote:  Having the same issue. Was in the 385.69 driver and tried to install Quadro 416.30. If I try to use the full patcher it says the driver is not compatible. Using the single patcher it says that the DLL was patched and signed, but after setting my new refresh rate in CRU and restarting the system my screen is still at 60hz, and there's no option to choose the overclocked refresh.

Hope you find what is the issue. If I can help in any way, say it and I send any information needed.

My system is: Win10 Pro x64 1709, EVGA GTX970, X-Star DP2710.

Try creating a custom resolution in the Nvidia Control Panel and see if it works. It did for me, even though it's not working with any of the resolutions I create in CRU. This leads me to believe that the Pixel Clock Patcher is fine with the new driver, but CRU isn't.

Custom resolution works in desktop, but some games don't see/use the overclocked/custom refresh rate, and stay at 60hz. It's why I use CRU.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)