Post Reply
NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
09-25-2020, 11:32 AM (Last edited: 09-25-2020, 11:57 AM by stimpy88)
Post: #831
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
Hello ToastyX, I have just this morning received a new Club 3D CAC-1510 USB-C to Dual-Link DVI adaptor to use with my QNIX QX2710 Monitor. I have connected it to my RTX2070 card, and it seems to work, all the way up to 115Hz @ 2560x1440p. All this without using your fantastic utility, so far!!!

However, I am having problems with the nVidia control panel not letting me select 120Hz, (which the monitor is capable of, with a GTX970 using a native DVD-DL connection) as it looks to be fine, and gives me the usual dialogue box asking me if I want to keep this resolution etc, which I click yes on, however the control panel does not "save" this in the list of available resolutions, as if I did not press yes. Do you think this is an nVidia bug, or does my display driver need to be patched with your utility?

I'm using Windows 10 2004, and nVidia v452.06 Drivers

(I have no idea if your utility even works, or has an effect on USB-C!)

UPDATE: I've just tried the v456.38 drivers, with no change in behaviour.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2020, 01:02 PM
Post: #832
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(09-25-2020 11:32 AM)stimpy88 Wrote:  Hello ToastyX, I have just this morning received a new Club 3D CAC-1510 USB-C to Dual-Link DVI adaptor to use with my QNIX QX2710 Monitor. I have connected it to my RTX2070 card, and it seems to work, all the way up to 115Hz @ 2560x1440p. All this without using your fantastic utility, so far!!!

However, I am having problems with the nVidia control panel not letting me select 120Hz, (which the monitor is capable of, with a GTX970 using a native DVD-DL connection) as it looks to be fine, and gives me the usual dialogue box asking me if I want to keep this resolution etc, which I click yes on, however the control panel does not "save" this in the list of available resolutions, as if I did not press yes. Do you think this is an nVidia bug, or does my display driver need to be patched with your utility?
You are probably hitting a bandwidth limitation. You probably need to stay under 476 MHz pixel clock. That should be possible if you reduce the vertical total to 1450. Also, it's likely the color depth is only 6 bpc beyond 357 MHz, but it shouldn't be too noticeable if it's dithering.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2020, 01:41 PM
Post: #833
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(09-25-2020 01:02 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-25-2020 11:32 AM)stimpy88 Wrote:  Hello ToastyX, I have just this morning received a new Club 3D CAC-1510 USB-C to Dual-Link DVI adaptor to use with my QNIX QX2710 Monitor. I have connected it to my RTX2070 card, and it seems to work, all the way up to 115Hz @ 2560x1440p. All this without using your fantastic utility, so far!!!

However, I am having problems with the nVidia control panel not letting me select 120Hz, (which the monitor is capable of, with a GTX970 using a native DVD-DL connection) as it looks to be fine, and gives me the usual dialogue box asking me if I want to keep this resolution etc, which I click yes on, however the control panel does not "save" this in the list of available resolutions, as if I did not press yes. Do you think this is an nVidia bug, or does my display driver need to be patched with your utility?
You are probably hitting a bandwidth limitation. You probably need to stay under 476 MHz pixel clock. That should be possible if you reduce the vertical total to 1450. Also, it's likely the color depth is only 6 bpc beyond 357 MHz, but it shouldn't be too noticeable if it's dithering.

YES! You were right. I set the Vertical Pixels to your value, and this time it saved the settings fine. So now it's running at 120Hz!

It's a shame nVidia removed the USB-C from the 3000 series, as this has been the only way for me to get more than 60Hz out of this RTX2070 since I bought it 2 years ago. I had given up, and decided to find a new monitor, but I just cant find anything tangibly better than this QNIX. The PC monitor market is glacial in many respects.

I need to figure out how to find out what bitdepth my monitor is running at now. It looks ok, but now I have to know! lol

Many thanks for your help! I will send you a beer!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-29-2020, 02:37 AM (Last edited: 09-29-2020, 02:40 AM by ZeekOCE)
Post: #834
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
Hey so i need some help. I run the patcher and patch values, then i restart my computer and only one monitor works and all nvidia drivers are uninstalled and i have to reinstall my drivers, reinstalling drivers then gets rid of the patches. I cant seem to find a fix

(09-29-2020 02:37 AM)ZeekOCE Wrote:  Hey so i need some help. I run the patcher and patch values, then i restart my computer and only one monitor works and all nvidia drivers are uninstalled and i have to reinstall my drivers, reinstalling drivers then gets rid of the patches. I cant seem to find a fix

Sorry turns out its RIOT Vanguard blocking the patcher and not letting me do it. Is there any way around that. I have a 144hrz monitor however have to use DVI to HDMI due to not having the right ports (monitor: BENQXL2411, GPU: Nvidia RTX 2070) so im trying to get the right hrz somehow
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2020, 03:27 PM
Post: #835
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(09-29-2020 02:37 AM)ZeekOCE Wrote:  Sorry turns out its RIOT Vanguard blocking the patcher and not letting me do it. Is there any way around that. I have a 144hrz monitor however have to use DVI to HDMI due to not having the right ports (monitor: BENQXL2411, GPU: Nvidia RTX 2070) so im trying to get the right hrz somehow
I don't have a solution for Vanguard. They are blocking the patched driver because of the included certificate, but there's no way to make the modded driver load without the certificate except in test mode, which they also block.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-14-2020, 04:08 PM
Post: #836
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
Help when I run the patcher the nvidia control panel dissapears. I turned off vanguard of valorant and other games. no apps are on startup. How to fix?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)