Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
05-05-2014, 07:16 AM
Post: #301
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(05-03-2014 04:25 PM)VAL Wrote:  I have used your software/patcher for my new X-Star DP2710 monitor. I am using two 780 Ti KingPin Editions in SLI, if I read correctly I only needed to use the normal patcher - not the full - and to also only use the Nvidia Control Panel and not CRU.
780 Ti GPUs don't need the patch at all if you're using the NVIDIA Control Panel to add custom resolutions. The regular patch is needed if you use CRU instead.

(05-03-2014 04:25 PM)VAL Wrote:  Either way that is what I did and I was able to successfully overclock my monitor to 119hz. At 120hz only a few horizontal green lines were appearing and the only adjustments I made were to the Total Pixels and the two boxes above it, I changed Horizontal to 2620 and Vertical to 1448, I changed the default F.P. from 3 to 1 and default S.W. from 5 to 1. Either way I kept getting the tiniest of occasional horizontal green lines - and I mean occasional, but they were there. I don't know what else to change so I simply lowered it to 119hz and it has been running great for extended gameplay. I would love to get it up 1 more hz but I know it's not completely necessary.
I'm surprised you were able to reduce the horizontal total so low. Do you have the single-input version of the X-Star with dual-link DVI only (no HDMI or DisplayPort)? Most people could only get 2652. You might be able to go even lower if you set the horizontal front porch and sync width to 8. You should be able to reduce the vertical total to 1445. That alone might be enough.

(05-03-2014 04:25 PM)VAL Wrote:  2) How can I be sure that it is truly at the 119hz or hopefully 120hz at all times? For example when I am playing a game or not and that it is not switching back down.
The QNIX/X-Star monitors supposedly have a darker gamma at higher refresh rates, so that's one way to tell. You can also check the frame rate with vsync on, but the video card has to be powerful enough to render enough frames.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 12:29 AM (This post was last modified: 05-06-2014 12:54 AM by VAL.)
Post: #302
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
As far as I know all I am using is Dual-Link DVI only, no HDMI hook-up and I have not seen or heard of Display Port so I am assuming no on that.

I did as you said and lowered the Horizontal Front porch and Sync Width to 8, I kept Vertical Front Porch and Sync Width on 1. My Total Pixels are now Horizontal 2628 and Vertical 1444. Once I bumped it up to 120 I still had one single green horizontal line that occasionally appeared. I was experimenting with some of the numbers but I have not been able to move it around much more without it distorting something or causing an increase in the green lines.

Also it seems that 118 (not 119) is where I've had to keep it. Should I not be that low to 2628? But if I go higher than I get more green lines, it's a weird balancing act it seems like - and I'm having trouble getting it right on the money.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 02:21 PM
Post: #303
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(05-06-2014 12:29 AM)VAL Wrote:  Also it seems that 118 (not 119) is where I've had to keep it. Should I not be that low to 2628? But if I go higher than I get more green lines, it's a weird balancing act it seems like - and I'm having trouble getting it right on the money.
Most can't go lower than 2652. If you can't get 120 Hz with 2652x1445 and lower totals don't help, then your monitor probably can't handle 120 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-06-2014, 02:58 PM (This post was last modified: 05-06-2014 03:00 PM by VAL.)
Post: #304
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(05-06-2014 02:21 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(05-06-2014 12:29 AM)VAL Wrote:  Also it seems that 118 (not 119) is where I've had to keep it. Should I not be that low to 2628? But if I go higher than I get more green lines, it's a weird balancing act it seems like - and I'm having trouble getting it right on the money.
Most can't go lower than 2652. If you can't get 120 Hz with 2652x1445 and lower totals don't help, then your monitor probably can't handle 120 Hz.

Yeah that's what I figured, what sucks is that at 119-120 I only get the occasional single-horizontal-line which appears maybe every 5-10 minutes - but I notice it most of the time. I may tinker with it a bit more and post back if I am successful, but I should probably be happy with a solid 118hz. There us unrest all around the world and here I am worried about 2hz. Smile

Thanks for all the insight though!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-16-2014, 11:58 AM
Post: #305
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
New driver is out 337.81.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-17-2014, 10:10 AM
Post: #306
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(05-16-2014 11:58 AM)PFS Wrote:  New driver is out 337.81.
I don't see anything that needs to be changed. It should work with the current patcher.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-26-2014, 08:32 AM
Post: #307
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
So wait, I have GTX670 SLI.

Do I no longer need the patcher either, with the latest or something?

Cause I have some really bugged out issue that is frustrating me. For some reason, FFXIV won't run fullscreen without crashing, and it used to be fine in the past. On top of that, there is weird visual lag.

OTher games are having issues to. I lowered the resolution to normal, and nothing.

Might be the drivers, thinkin of updating, but also thinking it is related to the patch somehow.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-29-2014, 07:52 PM
Post: #308
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(05-26-2014 08:32 AM)Mkilbride Wrote:  So wait, I have GTX670 SLI.

Do I no longer need the patcher either, with the latest or something?

Cause I have some really bugged out issue that is frustrating me. For some reason, FFXIV won't run fullscreen without crashing, and it used to be fine in the past. On top of that, there is weird visual lag.

OTher games are having issues to. I lowered the resolution to normal, and nothing.

Might be the drivers, thinkin of updating, but also thinking it is related to the patch somehow.
You're always having weird issues. The patch shouldn't cause problems like that. You can try lower refresh rates without the patch to make sure.

For SLI to work properly beyond 400 MHz pixel clock, the full patch is required except with Titan and GTX 780 cards.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-16-2014, 10:46 AM
Post: #309
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
Hey guys, i hope you can help me.
I want to OC my Qnix 2710. But i simply cant find the testmode.exe. I do have the two patcher.exe and the CRU programm. But where the hell is the testmode?
I should be in the same folder as the patchers right?

Thanks for your help.

Teemo
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-20-2014, 05:40 AM
Post: #310
RE: NVIDIA Pixel Clock Patcher
(06-16-2014 10:46 AM)Teemo Wrote:  I want to OC my Qnix 2710. But i simply cant find the testmode.exe. I do have the two patcher.exe and the CRU programm. But where the hell is the testmode?
I should be in the same folder as the patchers right?
Test mode isn't needed anymore.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 5 Guest(s)