Post Reply
Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
02-03-2022, 05:18 PM
Post: #1001
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
I plugged old DVI cable again, in order not to exercise plug and unplug between DVI and DisplayPort cables. Smile Thanks for the work and information you have given us. I hope DisplayPort issue will be resolved near future.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-05-2022, 04:39 AM
Post: #1002
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(01-31-2022 01:00 AM)Nageki Wrote:  Hello. First I would like to extend a long overdue thanks to ToastyX - I've been using Strobelight for many years now with my VG248QE and it has worked wonderfully.
I can second Jinba ittai's report that it appears Nvidia Drivers 511.23 broke something as I can no longer initialize the display. Same error as above:

Code:
[2022-01-31 01:42:11.805] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxx.dll") = ERROR 126
[2022-01-31 01:42:11.805] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxy.dll") = ERROR 126
[2022-01-31 01:42:11.807] LOAD(NVIDIA): NvAPI_Initialize() = SUCCESS
[2022-01-31 01:42:11.809] SEND(NVIDIA, 0, 8, 0.000): <6E> 51 81 59 E7 = ERROR -1
[2022-01-31 01:42:11.809] INIT: No compatible displays found.

As soon as I rolled back to 497.29 initialization succeeded again (after which I updated the drivers once more, since 3D mode remains active as long as the monitor isn't unplugged from power).
I'm on Windows 10 and both drivers used are DCH.
I hope you can look into this but even if you don't I still appreciate the work you've done; and it's not a major issue to install older drivers to re-init with when there's a power outage (or to connect the monitor to a UPS!).
Best regards!

Edit: I should also note that even when started with strobelight-skip.exe it cannot adjust the initialized monitor's brightness anymore.

Confirmed. Was getting "no compatible displays found" message. Reverted to drivers 497.29 and it's working again. Thank you so much!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2022, 04:38 PM
Post: #1003
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Anyone dared to test a newer version? 511.79 was released last night but I'm feeling lazy Smile
Hoping that 497.29 wasn't the last version for this to ever work.
Don't really want to invest in a new monitor before prices drop a bit more for 240Hz WQHD
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2022, 10:04 PM (Last edited: 02-17-2022, 10:06 PM by diRame)
Post: #1004
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(02-15-2022 04:38 PM)Lonestar Wrote:  Anyone dared to test a newer version? 511.79 was released last night but I'm feeling lazy Smile
Hoping that 497.29 wasn't the last version for this to ever work.
Don't really want to invest in a new monitor before prices drop a bit more for 240Hz WQHD

Hey so I just installed 511.79 and everything's working as it should now.

I'm gonna wild-guess, but from their own driver patch notes there seemed to be an issue that was messing up stuff at the G-Sync level, which once turned off, it couldn't be reenabled, maybe the culprit for that shared its influence with LightBoost here.

Anyway, enjoy your current monitor for a while longer!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2022, 01:11 AM
Post: #1005
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(02-17-2022 10:04 PM)diRame Wrote:  
(02-15-2022 04:38 PM)Lonestar Wrote:  Anyone dared to test a newer version? 511.79 was released last night but I'm feeling lazy Smile
Hoping that 497.29 wasn't the last version for this to ever work.
Don't really want to invest in a new monitor before prices drop a bit more for 240Hz WQHD

Hey so I just installed 511.79 and everything's working as it should now.

I'm gonna wild-guess, but from their own driver patch notes there seemed to be an issue that was messing up stuff at the G-Sync level, which once turned off, it couldn't be reenabled, maybe the culprit for that shared its influence with LightBoost here.

Anyway, enjoy your current monitor for a while longer!


Thank you, i wouldnt noticed that it actually was a driver issue,

So i can also Confirm that updating to the lastest driver (511.79) fixes the issue.

Im also running the VG248QE with lightboost for years now and was shocked when the monitor got insanely bright suddently^^
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-11-2022, 10:23 PM
Post: #1006
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Can also confirm that NVIDIA driver 511.79 fixed the issue.
Here's to another couple of years with the VG248QE Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)