Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
03-07-2015, 07:53 AM (This post was last modified: 03-07-2015 07:54 AM by Fire8Fly.)
Post: #701
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(02-13-2015 02:35 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(02-09-2015 03:20 PM)Muezzin Wrote:  Without the DLL files the debug information is as follows,

[2015-02-09 19:03:59.829] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxx.dll") = ERROR 126
[2015-02-09 19:03:59.830] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxy.dll") = SUCCESS
[2015-02-09 19:03:59.838] LOAD(AMD): ADL_Main_Control_Create() = SUCCESS
[2015-02-09 19:03:59.838] LOAD(NVIDIA): NvAPI_Initialize() = ERROR -2
[2015-02-09 19:03:59.966] INIT: No compatible displays found.
I don't see any unusual errors. That means the monitor didn't respond when checking for 3D mode. The G-Sync module might have a different way of activating LightBoost that isn't compatible with Strobelight.
Darn, that's the same issue I got. Any chance of strobelight updating to support G-Sync? I'm on the 1080p version of the Acer XB270H
Code:
[2015-03-07 02:49:09.271] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxx.dll") = ERROR 126
[2015-03-07 02:49:09.279] LOAD(AMD): LoadLibrary("atiadlxy.dll") = SUCCESS
[2015-03-07 02:49:09.293] LOAD(AMD): ADL_Main_Control_Create() = SUCCESS
[2015-03-07 02:49:09.294] LOAD(NVIDIA): NvAPI_Initialize() = ERROR -2
[2015-03-07 02:49:09.334] INIT: No compatible displays found.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-07-2015, 03:35 PM
Post: #702
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(03-07-2015 07:53 AM)Fire8Fly Wrote:  Darn, that's the same issue I got. Any chance of strobelight updating to support G-Sync? I'm on the 1080p version of the Acer XB270H
G-Sync requires hardware and driver support, so that's not going to happen with AMD. If I ever get a G-Sync monitor, I'll see if I can get ULMB working at least.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-08-2015, 07:11 AM
Post: #703
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(03-07-2015 03:35 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-07-2015 07:53 AM)Fire8Fly Wrote:  Darn, that's the same issue I got. Any chance of strobelight updating to support G-Sync? I'm on the 1080p version of the Acer XB270H
G-Sync requires hardware and driver support, so that's not going to happen with AMD. If I ever get a G-Sync monitor, I'll see if I can get ULMB working at least.
Sorry lol that was a mistype. I meant ULMB xD.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-13-2015, 02:23 PM (This post was last modified: 03-13-2015 04:47 PM by Jroc.)
Post: #704
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
Hey everyone!

Ive used Strobelight before without problems.. But today my BenQ XL2420T went into 3d mode when I ran Strobelight and im stuck in it. My brightness is like 20% and I play games which requires atleast 60% brightness to see clearly. (3d mode disables all screen options, so I cant change it) and yes I have strobelight set to 100% brightness but its still dark.

After googling for a while I still havent found a solution.

So my question is, could you help me?!

Edit: changing the monitors hz to 60 removes 3d, but when I go back to 120hz it goes into 3d mode again.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2015, 12:08 PM (This post was last modified: 03-14-2015 12:09 PM by Doctor_Str ange.)
Post: #705
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(03-07-2015 03:35 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-07-2015 07:53 AM)Fire8Fly Wrote:  Darn, that's the same issue I got. Any chance of strobelight updating to support G-Sync? I'm on the 1080p version of the Acer XB270H
G-Sync requires hardware and driver support, so that's not going to happen with AMD. If I ever get a G-Sync monitor, I'll see if I can get ULMB working at least.


please god make the pg278q strobe with amd cards... PLEASE...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2015, 02:53 PM
Post: #706
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(03-14-2015 12:08 PM)Doctor_Str ange Wrote:  please god make the pg278q strobe with amd cards... PLEASE...
I don't understand why ULMB doesn't work with AMD cards. Why can't it be enabled through the monitor? I don't see why it would require an NVIDIA card unless they put in another vendor lock.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-14-2015, 02:56 PM
Post: #707
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(03-13-2015 02:23 PM)Jroc Wrote:  Ive used Strobelight before without problems.. But today my BenQ XL2420T went into 3d mode when I ran Strobelight and im stuck in it. My brightness is like 20% and I play games which requires atleast 60% brightness to see clearly. (3d mode disables all screen options, so I cant change it) and yes I have strobelight set to 100% brightness but its still dark.
I don't understand what the problem is. 3D mode is supposed to be active with LightBoost. That's how LightBoost is enabled. LightBoost is supposed to be darker because it strobes the backlight. Is 3D mode stuck on with strobing off?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-2015, 02:37 PM
Post: #708
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
why dont you add strobe brightness level to 0% in the panel? I always I have to put it from the monitor
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-2015, 06:17 PM
Post: #709
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(03-15-2015 02:37 PM)natostanco Wrote:  why dont you add strobe brightness level to 0% in the panel? I always I have to put it from the monitor
10% was tested to have the shortest strobe length and the least motion blur.
0% is an oddball setting with a longer strobe length and more motion blur than 100% but with less brightness than 10%, so it's not recommended.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-17-2015, 03:03 AM (This post was last modified: 03-17-2015 03:06 AM by EniGmA1987.)
Post: #710
RE: Strobelight - LightBoost Utility for AMD/ATI and NVIDIA
(03-14-2015 02:53 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(03-14-2015 12:08 PM)Doctor_Str ange Wrote:  please god make the pg278q strobe with amd cards... PLEASE...
I don't understand why ULMB doesn't work with AMD cards. Why can't it be enabled through the monitor? I don't see why it would require an NVIDIA card unless they put in another vendor lock.

ASUS I think it was said that ULMB becomes disabled when it doesnt get told to allow the feature from the Nvidia drivers. So the feature is part of the GSync module and in the monitor firmware, and selected from the monitor's OSD, but the OSD option becomes grayed out if you switch to a non-Nvidia card. So yes, vendor lock through the driver.

I got to asking this question just today, because I am going to be buying the new Acer 1440p, 144Hz, IPS, GSync panel (that's a mouthful). I was wondering if I happen to switch back to AMD for a generation if I could at least take advantage of the ULMB mode because that is all on the monitor side. Turns out I cant because of this lockout by Nvidia. Id love it if someone could figure out a way to enable the ULMB mode on the Acer XB270HU BPRZ and Asus ROG Swift. Well, and other monitors too but those are the two "big boys" people want to do it with the most.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 7 Guest(s)