Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
02-14-2017, 04:22 PM
Post: #1
custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
how can I create a custom resolution with 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0?

Huh Hello i'm have a 55X9005A with hdmi2.0
and use a FURY X with DP Active adapter from club 3D CAC 1070
I limited to 4k 30hz FULL RGB, the tv supports 4k 60hz on the
4:2:0 YCbCr but theres two limitations for me
1 - DP on amd drivers won't let me change
2 - tried create a custom resolution with Reduced blanked but return as Black screen
When I tried to talk to CLUB 3D I done everything that they said, but don't work

I begin to thinks that tvs don't support this 4:2:0 BUT
I install my PS4 and shows and choosed the 4:2:0 4k 60hz
but not working on the PC

I want the 3840x2160p 60hz YCbCr not as the main resolution, only to can choose that to play games


how can I create a custom resolution with 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2017, 07:09 PM
Post: #2
RE: custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
If the TV supports YCbCr 4:2:0, then it should already be defined. You might have to connect the TV directly to an HDMI port on your video card to get YCbCr 4:2:0 because the adapter uses DisplayPort and the video card might not support YCbCr 4:2:0 with DisplayPort.

If you need to add YCbCr 4:2:0 resolutions manually, edit the first extension block and add a TV resolutions data block. Then set the "4:2:0 resolutions" option and add 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz. Make sure to delete any "4:2:0 capability map" data blocks, and delete 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz from any other "TV resolutions" data blocks and detailed resolutions. Then restart and 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz should be available.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2017, 08:54 PM
Post: #3
RE: custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
(02-15-2017 07:09 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  If the TV supports YCbCr 4:2:0, then it should already be defined. You might have to connect the TV directly to an HDMI port on your video card to get YCbCr 4:2:0 because the adapter uses DisplayPort and the video card might not support YCbCr 4:2:0 with DisplayPort.

If you need to add YCbCr 4:2:0 resolutions manually, edit the first extension block and add a TV resolutions data block. Then set the "4:2:0 resolutions" option and add 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz. Make sure to delete any "4:2:0 capability map" data blocks, and delete 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz from any other "TV resolutions" data blocks and detailed resolutions. Then restart and 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz should be available.


So I try,
I enter in the Extension blocks and edit
then 4:2:0 resolutions add 3840x2160 60hz non native format
after that, restart and open a 60Hz option, I select and click ok, and change the screen but a got the 1080p on top of TV

what i'm doing wrong?
why don't enter on 4k only at 1080p?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-16-2017, 08:01 AM
Post: #4
RE: custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
Try using the "List All Modes" button in the display adapter settings to choose the correct resolution.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-22-2017, 06:49 PM (This post was last modified: 07-19-2017 01:16 PM by Rotown.)
Post: #5
RE: custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
(02-16-2017 08:01 AM)ToastyX Wrote:  Try using the "List All Modes" button in the new bathmate x50 display adapter settings to choose the correct resolution.

Nice! Worked for me. Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2017, 09:45 PM
Post: #6
RE: custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
(02-15-2017 07:09 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  If the TV supports YCbCr 4:2:0, then it should already be defined. You might have to connect the TV directly to an HDMI port on your video card to get YCbCr 4:2:0 because the adapter uses DisplayPort and the video card might not support YCbCr 4:2:0 with DisplayPort.

If you need to add YCbCr 4:2:0 resolutions manually, edit the first extension block and add a TV resolutions data block. Then set the "4:2:0 resolutions" option and add 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz. Make sure to delete any "4:2:0 capability map" data blocks, and delete 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz from any other "TV resolutions" data blocks and detailed resolutions. Then restart and 3840x2160 @ 60 Hz should be available.

Hi Toasty, on a semi-related note, I was wondering if anyone had any success here adding 4:2:0 support via EDID modding to 1080p displays, or dropping to 4:2:2 YCbCr in either 8 or 10-bit mode over HDMI, and increasing from 60hz, say, 72hz or so.

My goal is to get 120hz input support at 1080p via 420 on my w1070 projector, which supports 120hz operation at 720p but not 1080p due to HDMI bandwidth limitations. I'm also curious with the new Windows 10 Creator update, whether getting 10-bit colour would be possible for SDR displays, like my DLP projector which supports 10-bit input natively (1.07 Bn colours).

So basically, I have two questions, one is relating to 4:2:0, in order to reach higher refresh rates at the expense of chroma resolution, and two, if I were to use the VGA input at 60hz to get 10-bit in RGB (full chroma res obviously). Right now the only way for me to get 10-bit is by dropping to 422 chroma over HDMI YCbCr but NVidia's control panel doesn't offer any 420 option, only 444 and 422. I know it's possible for even older Kepler GPUs with HDMI 1.4 output chips to deliver 2160p60 via 420 as per this thread, but my GTX 970 is HDMI 2.0 (minus HDCP 2.2 unfortunately) and so should natively support 420. Of course the EDID is a function of the display but I believe it might be possible to send 420 instead of 422 / 444 only over HDMI. I'm just trying to find ways to reach higher refresh rates and/or higher bit depths.

Have you seen any way to add 420 option to NVidia control panel? Or if I use CRU 1.3 to add a custom 1080p 420 mode just to see if it's possible. Then from there I would try higher refresh rates like 1080p120 @ 420 in 8-bit or 1080p96 @ 420 in 10-bit.

Do you know of any way to force VGA output to use 10-bit on windows desktop? I thought the creator's update enabled this, but it appears not. But it's only software, there must be a way to force 10-bit per channel somehow.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2017, 06:02 PM
Post: #7
RE: custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
(04-08-2017 09:45 PM)RLBURNSIDE Wrote:  Have you seen any way to add 420 option to NVidia control panel? Or if I use CRU 1.3 to add a custom 1080p 420 mode just to see if it's possible. Then from there I would try higher refresh rates like 1080p120 @ 420 in 8-bit or 1080p96 @ 420 in 10-bit.
4:2:0 resolutions can only be defined using TV resolution codes, so 72/96 Hz wouldn't be possible. 1920x1080 @ 100/120 Hz is theoretically possible, but that would require the driver to acknowledge 4:2:0 for those resolutions. I don't know about NVIDIA, but AMD wouldn't do 4:2:0 for 1920x1080 the last time I checked. Also, the HDMI 2.0 data block has a 30-bit (10 bpc) option for 4:2:0.

(04-08-2017 09:45 PM)RLBURNSIDE Wrote:  Do you know of any way to force VGA output to use 10-bit on windows desktop? I thought the creator's update enabled this, but it appears not. But it's only software, there must be a way to force 10-bit per channel somehow.
I don't think NVIDIA supports 10-bit output with VGA.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-09-2017, 10:17 PM
Post: #8
RE: custom resolution 4k 2160p60hz 4:2:0
I also own a DP 1.2a -> VGA / DVI / HDMI adapter, but I couldn't figure out how to get NVidia to show anything but a 32-bit desktop colour setting. I was hoping to find a way, with Windows Creator's update, to force 10-bit windows desktop all the time, without having to fall back on fullscreen exclusive mode.

I'd managed to run Alien Isolation in Deep Color mode, using DVI -> VGA and also HDMI and my DP->VGA adapter too, but I haven't really been able to confirm if it's actually delivering true 10-bit to my projector. I'm going to try some fullscreen DX test apps with a 10 10 10 2 swap chain (most are using this nowadays and the RAMDAC inside NVidia's cards has been 10-bit native for many years now, so it should work).

Anyway, for the 420 setting over HDMI, I'm gonna try it at 1080p24 and 1080p60 before I try 1080p120. I'll report back if I can make any of these work. Too bad about 96hz not working though, that's a bummer. It's also a bummer that 72 / 75hz results in skipped frames on this projector too. Even a 20% overclock seems worthwhile IMO. If I had access to the firmware source code I could probably do something (probably brick my projector haha).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)