Post Reply
 
Thread Rating:
  • 7 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-01-2015, 01:44 PM
Post: #1611
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2015 01:04 PM)F1timmy Wrote:  Hey guys,

I'm having a problem with the CRU. I'm trying to change the refresh rate from my screen. The native resolution is 1920x1080 and when changing the refresh rate on this resolution everything goes well. But when I try to change the refresh rate on a different resolution (1280x720, 800x600) it does change the refresh rate, but it's miss-aligning the image completely. It's even duplicating it multiple times. It's difficult to explain, but I attached a picture. It's actually changing the refresh rate like it should, but it glitches out like in the screenshot, no matter which resolution I use except for 1920x1080.
[Image: UtGCHwg.jpg]
Does anybody know what i'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,
F1timmy

What monitor is that?
It would help if you told us and what video card you are using. No information to work with.

What does the monitor OSD say (for refresh rate or resolution information) when the image is tripled like that? That almost looks like the scan rate is incorrect or there's an issue with the display scaler.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2015, 02:22 PM
Post: #1612
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2015 01:44 PM)falkentyne Wrote:  
(09-01-2015 01:04 PM)F1timmy Wrote:  Hey guys,

I'm having a problem with the CRU. I'm trying to change the refresh rate from my screen. The native resolution is 1920x1080 and when changing the refresh rate on this resolution everything goes well. But when I try to change the refresh rate on a different resolution (1280x720, 800x600) it does change the refresh rate, but it's miss-aligning the image completely. It's even duplicating it multiple times. It's difficult to explain, but I attached a picture. It's actually changing the refresh rate like it should, but it glitches out like in the screenshot, no matter which resolution I use except for 1920x1080.

Does anybody know what i'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,
F1timmy

What monitor is that?
It would help if you told us and what video card you are using. No information to work with.

What does the monitor OSD say (for refresh rate or resolution information) when the image is tripled like that? That almost looks like the scan rate is incorrect or there's an issue with the display scaler.

Oh yeah sorry I completely forgot. It's a laptop HP Elitebook 8570W. Graphics card is a Nvidia Quadro K1000m. Yeah I know it's not the ideal setup to try these kind of things on, but I just wanted to see if it was possible. I can't get any OSD info cause as far as I know there is no OSD for the monitor on this laptop. In CRU the monitor is called: AUO13ED

The results weird kinda surprising, since the monitor actually reached 120hz on 1920x1080. To me it only made sense that 120hz on 1280x720 would be even more easy then. I actually verified that it's reaching 120hz with the frameskipper tool, but the moment I switched I could instantly notice how smooth it is.

The miss-alignment also happens when trying 1280x720@60hz by creating it in CRU. That makes me think it doesn't have anything to do with the overclock, but just some values being incorrect. Could it also have something to do with windows 10? Or the nvidia drivers for windows 10?

Greetings,
F1timmy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2015, 02:59 PM
Post: #1613
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2015 02:22 PM)F1timmy Wrote:  Oh yeah sorry I completely forgot. It's a laptop HP Elitebook 8570W. Graphics card is a Nvidia Quadro K1000m. Yeah I know it's not the ideal setup to try these kind of things on, but I just wanted to see if it was possible. I can't get any OSD info cause as far as I know there is no OSD for the monitor on this laptop. In CRU the monitor is called: AUO13ED

The results weird kinda surprising, since the monitor actually reached 120hz on 1920x1080. To me it only made sense that 120hz on 1280x720 would be even more easy then. I actually verified that it's reaching 120hz with the frameskipper tool, but the moment I switched I could instantly notice how smooth it is.

The miss-alignment also happens when trying 1280x720@60hz by creating it in CRU. That makes me think it doesn't have anything to do with the overclock, but just some values being incorrect. Could it also have something to do with windows 10? Or the nvidia drivers for windows 10?
Laptop displays don't have scalers. You can't use non-native resolutions with laptops without GPU scaling.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2015, 03:09 PM
Post: #1614
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2015 02:59 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Laptop displays don't have scalers. You can't use non-native resolutions with laptops without GPU scaling.

Aaah, that explains a lot. So that means there is no way for me to get 1280x720@120hz with correct scaling working?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2015, 04:05 PM
Post: #1615
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2015 03:09 PM)F1timmy Wrote:  Aaah, that explains a lot. So that means there is no way for me to get 1280x720@120hz with correct scaling working?
You can use GPU scaling. The driver automatically adds some lower resolutions as scaled resolutions, so 1280x720 @ 120 Hz should already exist by default as a scaled resolution if 1920x1080 @ 120 Hz is the first detailed resolution. If you want to add other resolutions, you have to enable GPU scaling in the NVIDIA control panel.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2015, 08:41 PM
Post: #1616
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-01-2015 04:05 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  
(09-01-2015 03:09 PM)F1timmy Wrote:  Aaah, that explains a lot. So that means there is no way for me to get 1280x720@120hz with correct scaling working?
You can use GPU scaling. The driver automatically adds some lower resolutions as scaled resolutions, so 1280x720 @ 120 Hz should already exist by default as a scaled resolution if 1920x1080 @ 120 Hz is the first detailed resolution. If you want to add other resolutions, you have to enable GPU scaling in the NVIDIA control panel.

Thanks, I got it working now! 120Hz doesn't seem stable tho, it's artifacting really badly. 100Hz however seems to be doing great! Already want a 144hz monitor now, cause the difference is massive.

Anyway thanks for helping me out guys!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-02-2015, 04:16 PM (This post was last modified: 09-03-2015 02:16 AM by Blackdragonbird.)
Post: #1617
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hy guys,

I have a X-Star DP2710 that I use at 100Hz using the custom resolution in the nVidia driver. Unfortunately the majority of my games don't see the 100hz resolution, only the 60hz one.

I downloaded the last version of CRU to try to correct it following this tip: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1732773.

First I added the two custom resolutions of 2560x1440x100hz and 2560x1080x100 that I already had in my driver, and the games found them. After it, I resolved to make these 100hz resolutions the default ones. Deleted the 2 custom 100hz resolutions in the Custom section of the driver and deleted the 2560x1440x59.95hz detailed resolution using CRU, leaving only the 100hz resolutions. Restarted the driver and for some reason, the display is seeing only the 2560x1080x100hz resolution, not the 2560x1440. Another thing is that the resolution is not scaled correctly, even with GPU scaling enabled, it is duplicated.

I'm using a GTX680+GTX670 in SLI in Windows 10 Pro x64 with the Geforce 355.80 driver.

Thanks for any info into this.


I'm dumb.Sleepy Searched a little and found that I needed the pixel clock patch. Working now.Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-03-2015, 10:12 PM
Post: #1618
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
can't seem to get 144hz working with cru on a Asus MG279q with a gtx680 on win 7 the screen goes blank when i try 144 hz
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-03-2015, 11:53 PM
Post: #1619
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
i have a vg248qe that i'm trying to get 1440x1080 120hz lightboost working correctly with black bars on the side. i can get 110hz lightboost working just fine. i recently upgraded from SLI gtx 660s to an MSI R9 390x. with the nvidia card all of these settings worked perfectly with just the strobelight program. but now i have to make my own resolution with the CRU and set the detailed res settings and all that.
the issue is when i do 120hz 1440x1080 lightboost it... offsets the actual screen fixed to the bottom left pixel. if that makes sense. it just moves it to one side, everything is visible and working except on the right side of the screen there is just filler random crap going on over there. stretched scaled pixels and stuff like that.
i'd like to use display scaling with no aspect correction just like i did with my nvidia cards. i don't really see why amds drivers don't let this work the right way.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-04-2015, 01:56 AM
Post: #1620
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-03-2015 10:12 PM)Cyb3r Wrote:  can't seem to get 144hz working with cru on a Asus MG279q with a gtx680 on win 7 the screen goes blank when i try 144 hz

That's the new Asus Freesync IPS monitor, right?
That monitor supports 144hz already. There's no need to add it as a custom resolution. It will work out of the box at 144hz without needing any other software.

IF you're trying to really create a custom resolution, you need LCD Reduced timings selection for 144 hz. But why are you doing this?

The only reason you would need to add it manually is if you disabling or using a custom extension block for some reason (like to force 60hz locked games to run at 100hz or higher, by removing the 60hz default settings and unchecking everything and manually adding the higher ones).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 35 Guest(s)