Post Reply
Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
09-24-2013, 03:25 PM
Post: #331
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
The NVIDIA control panel is separate from CRU. Deleting the monitor in CRU and rebooting will reset it back to normal, but that doesn't affect custom resolutions created via the NVIDIA control panel.

Adding a custom resolution via the NVIDIA control panel shouldn't affect other resolutions. Click the "Customize..." button and make sure 60 Hz is still enabled.

If you use CRU instead of the NVIDIA control panel, you have to uninstall GeForce Experience.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2013, 06:54 AM (Last edited: 09-25-2013, 07:30 AM by suikoden007)
Post: #332
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(09-24-2013 03:25 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  The NVIDIA control panel is separate from CRU. Deleting the monitor in CRU and rebooting will reset it back to normal, but that doesn't affect custom resolutions created via the NVIDIA control panel.

Adding a custom resolution via the NVIDIA control panel shouldn't affect other resolutions. Click the "Customize..." button and make sure 60 Hz is still enabled.

If you use CRU instead of the NVIDIA control panel, you have to uninstall GeForce Experience.

I cant set it back no matter what I do.
The one thing I can do is set the Dell to 1920x1080@60hz.
There I tried to delete the custom "resolution" which was not possible.

Setting the "native" mode @ 60Hz makes the screen go black and reset back to custom profile after 15 or 20s.

Any Ideas?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2013, 10:11 AM
Post: #333
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Remove the patch. It's not needed for that monitor. The patch makes 2560x1080 @ 60 Hz go through a single link, so maybe the monitor can't handle that. How were you able to add 85 Hz if 60 Hz goes black?

I don't know why you can't remove the custom resolution. Reinstalling the driver with the clean install option should get rid of it, but you shouldn't have to do that. The custom resolution shouldn't affect 60 Hz.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-25-2013, 10:12 PM
Post: #334
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I guess I what i wrote didnt make much sense.

I got the native resolution @ 60 Hz back after i reverted the patch of the driver using the tool again.

All is well again now.
Thx
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2013, 03:03 AM
Post: #335
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Hey guys! I'm all new to this so excuse my stupidity!

I'm trying to duplicate my 120hz display with a 60hz monitor (Avermedia capture card). However, everytime i duplicate it, it switches my 120hz display to 100hz. I can't set it back in amd catalyst nor in windows display properties...

I downloaded CRU and removed all resolution and added a 1920*1080 @ 120hz for my Acer GD235hz and a 1920*1080 @ 60hz for the avermedia display.

It says that both profiles are active and they have the * beside the name. HOWEVER, when I go in my in-monitor options, it says that it is still receiving 100hz signal...

What am I doing wrong??

Thanks a lot!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2013, 04:03 AM
Post: #336
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Is the extension block disabled? 100 Hz is usually defined in there.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-27-2013, 04:24 AM
Post: #337
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Wow, it was really this simple lol

I disabled it and now i'm at 120hz! Thanks a lot!!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 01:18 PM (Last edited: 10-03-2013, 01:33 PM by stonzWhat)
Post: #338
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
I noticed that the even with the pixel clock at 404mhz or less my card doesn't idle down on 5xx series NVIDIA GPUs anymore..I have an EVGA GTX 580 Classified. Does anyone know what the lowest clock speed is now in order to get the GPU to idle down, or am I doing something wrong? It idles down at 60hz but I would rather be at the highest hz possible but at lowest GPU temp while not gaming. My power management is set to adaptive in NVIDIA control panel and I do not have Geforce Experience installed.

Thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 01:41 PM
Post: #339
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
Make sure the vertical total is high enough. You should be able to get 100 Hz to clock down with a vertical total of 1470.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 02:06 PM (Last edited: 10-03-2013, 07:27 PM by stonzWhat)
Post: #340
RE: Custom Resolution Utility (CRU)
(10-03-2013 01:41 PM)ToastyX Wrote:  Make sure the vertical total is high enough. You should be able to get 100 Hz to clock down with a vertical total of 1470.

Thanks for your quick response. No luck with those numbers. I also tried 96hz with total pixels @ 2720*1481 386.72mhz pixel clock but the GPU still stays at max mhz. If i flick back to 60hz the GPU drops down to almost nothing. If i remember correctly, NVIDIA driver 326.80 were the last drivers that were able to idle down. I will have to give the older drivers a test in a little while. I used to have it set at 404mhz pixel clock and it worked. Maybe something changed in the drivers?

EDIT: Same thing with the 326.80 drivers. hmmm.. It's set at 100hz with 396mhz pixel clock. If I select 60hz the GPU idles down immediately.

Also, just tried the other DVI port for shits and gigs and same thing. I cannot think of anything else. Im stumped. And the only reason why I know it worked with the 326.80 drivers was because I reformatted right before getting my X-star right after those drivers were released. Im positive it worked because I remember dialing in at 404mhz and testing it out. Huh Blush
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
 Post Reply


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 56 Guest(s)